Month: April 2010

  • HOLY CHIT! The Cost Of The Repairs Are ...WHAT????


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Today was the day the insurance adjuster came to check the damage to the Mitsubishi, if you remember.  He was a bit late because he had a difficult time finding us.  You STILL can't find OUR street on any internet maps or even with a GPS.  We have to give everyone our neighbors address to do that and then instructions from there...which is very easy after you get there.

    The way our insurance company works is they check out the damage and then cut a check for you right away, less any deductible.  We only have a $500 deductible.  I was stunned to find out what HE estimated the cost of a new paint job and replacing all the scratched up windows.  The check was for over $4800. 

    When the Princess went to Mitsubishi to get THEIR estimate when the car was hit a few months back, it was incredible how damn close it was.   Of course, it IS only an estimate but our insurance company will also cut us an additional check if the estimate is wrong.  So the Princess will take it to Mitsubishi on her day off and, when she drops it off, she will be driving our pickup for however long it takes the car to be done.  With the glass needing to be changed out, however, they will probably have to order it and she will wait to drop it off until that comes in.

    What shocked me was the expectation by both the Princess AND the Beast that they might just *total* the car because a lot of insurance companies do that when the estimate is more than half the value of the vehicle.    That is about what we are talking about and the car is in wonderful shape except for cosmetically.   I doubt we could replace it if they HAD done that.  It was quite a deal when we found it.

    Chewlee tired me out today.  We were constantly walking, hand in hand, all over the house on our way *to the beach*.  She had her mother's flip flops on and was carrying her little toy laptop in it's case and said it was *something to eat* for us. 

    She actually ate some sweet and sour pork today once I convinced her to taste it.  She liked it and, when I started to take it away, she grabbed the plate and told me *NO!   I am eating!*.    She did, however, also eat two hot dogs (with no bread or bun).  She told me I needed to get the ones on a stick 'cause she likes them.  She had to mean corn dogs because they give those to the kids at the preschool she goes to for their lunch sometimes.

    One more day of having her all day and she goes back to preschool.  I hope that they have given the new location information to Johnnycakes before he arrives with her tomorrow.  Inquiring minds need to know.  I'll be glad to get back to my regular routine and not have to watch Dora, Diego and Sponge Bob all the time.  Or Chum Chum, which is really a dumb one as far as I'm concerned.  But it makes her laugh because it IS so stupid so I let her watch just ONE a day. 

    I have been trying to get her back into a kind of routine for her to get back into the possible routine of school again.  Oh, she gets her snacks twice a day and a regular lunch.  I've taken away a lot of her snacking (and had to put her in *time out* a couple times because of tantrums).  It hasn't been easy with her because she really has gotten used to my spoiling her.  Isn't that our job???? 

    Time to get this posted for you.  Good weather here tomorrow and temps in the 80's, which makes me happy.  I will just be grateful when our mornings are warmer and the Beast and I can have coffee on the deck again.  The strawberries are doing well and are almost ripe now.  All have new little blooms on them so they are doing a good job.  Love you all and have a wonderful day. 

  • Thoughts In The Dark.......


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Note:  These are random thoughts I jotted down while we were suffering through the night of the tornado and a prolonged blackout.  I wrote them down on a yellow pad under a battery-operated LED light.

    I have always kept candles in case of a blackout because we had them in Florida quite often.  Then, however, I could keep them out and scattered about since most are decorative or in nice containers.  Most are scented because I enjoy them but the Beast doesn't.

    Here, however, we have to contend with Chewlee and her endless curiosity.  So I packed them up in a nice, plastic container with locking lid and put them in my closet here in the computer room.  During this (our first prolonged blackout) event, when I went to look for them where I remembered putting them, they were gone!    I wasn't going to accuse the beast outright but I mentioned it and then said, *Well, if they are gone, I guess I will have to replace them.  Oh, and they have some really cool new scents!* 

    Dumbo me.  After the lights were back on and there was no need for them, of course I would find them.  Duh!  I had moved them onto the lowest shelf of the bookcase here so they would be *convenient*.  Color me embarrassed for my thinking but they aren't convenient unless you REMEMBER WHERE YOU PUT THEM, are they???? 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I'm so worried about the food  I have in the freezer.  Figures I would have gone out on Saturday afternoon and bought a lot of freezer items, like shrimp, pizzas, ice cream bars and a half gallon of vanilla for the Beast's milk shakes.  Duh!  **We were lucky that very little defrosting took place.  Partly due to the big container of ice in the ice maker section, I think.  Even that showed very little thawing because I refused to open it even to
    check.
     
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I decided after many years of keeping my hair short to let it grow out.  The big problem is the *I can't do anything with it*-stage you go through.  I don't dare go to a hairdresser because I KNOW what they will do.  They will want to even it out or *give it some shape* and that would send me into a totally different frame of mind very quickly.  I just have to suffer through it and snip here or there when pieces of it won't *fit*.  Most of the time, I wouldn't care but I have to fly down to Florida for a wedding next month.  Oh well.  They will have to take me as I am, won't they?

    No woman is every happy with their hair.  If it's curly, they yearn for straight (hence the development of straighteners).  If it's straight, they want curly hair (hence permanents came into being).  Mine, unfortunately, looks like finger waves which hasn't been *in style* since Flappers were around.  That was like in the 20's during Prohibition days. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    When I was young and had very long hair, I used to use 3" in diameter curlers to help *straighten* my hair.  If I didn't use a hair dryer (and that was only at a salon), it took a full weekend for my hair to dry.  I had to wear them and put a scarf over them if I had to go outside.  That was an accepted practice pretty much everywhere at the time.  I slept in those things with the bristles sticking into my head and all.

    I bought some of what passes for hair rollers these days and they are NOTHING in comparison.  I actually had 2-inch ones in my hair and slept easily on them.  Couldn't feel a single bristle because there are none on them.  The girls that use them these days have no idea what suffering for beauty really was like for us *old folks*. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I have to admit that there have been huge improvements in makeup compared to what was available back then.  I fell in love with those mineral makeups that are out.  They are FANTASTIC!  Once you get used to using them correctly, they are amazing.   Love them, love them, love them.  It looks like you have nothing on and yet your skin looks even textured and shaded. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    It ended up cooler today than they told us it would be but wasn't all that bad.  But the morning was so chilly that the Beast actually turned on the heat for a while.  I spent it bundled up until my feet got warm.    Those are usually the last part of me to warm up.  Tomorrow is supposed to be better and I sure hope so.  I will have Chewlee longer than usual and I hope to be able to let her play outside.    No word yet on where the new site is going to be although I am hoping that to find that out soon if I am expected to pick her up every day.  I need to figure out how long a drive it's going to be for me so I know when I need to leave the house.

    The baby surprised me today by eating two White Castle hamburgers (the frozen ones from the grocery store, unfortunately) when I was nuking some for me and the Beast.  I made two for her and she ate them both and then actually ate half of one of mine.  I made two more in case she wanted another whole one but she was full by then.  She only wanted some ice cream after that so I gave her half of an ice cream sandwich.  She was so involved watching her cartoon show that some of it dripped on her top and she got upset.  I cleaned it off but she ran into the bedroom and got herself a new, clean top out of the drawer where I keep some extra clothes for her.  She wouldn't have it any other way than I should change it for her.  All-in-all, it was a good day with her.

    Love you all and I wish you a great day.  Tomorrow is the viewing for The Boy's Mother so he and Bratfink will be at the funeral home all afternoon.  Well, Bratfink will but she will probably go back home while The Boy stays there for a few additional hours.  Pray for them both.  Tomorrow (today) and Friday will be hard for them.

  • The Beast Pisses Me Off...Again...And Some Update On The Aftermath Of The Tornado


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The day didn't start out badly.  It was sunny and Baron lay on his rug in front of the storm door at the front in *his* sunbeam.  When it started clouding over, the dog actually came and whined at me like I could change that and bring his sunbeam back.  He finally accepted that I couldn't and plopped down with this soulful look on his beast face.  The Beast and I both laughed.

    Later on, Johnnycakes dropped off Chewlee and gave me an update on what he had been doing and in what areas.  Since the tornado went through our area, he's been a volunteer, helping with the cleanup.  He's just that kind of person if you want to know.  He said that HE was told it would be another 3-4 days minimum just to clean up the trees and other debris that have some roads blocked off.  The sightseers are not helping, either.  They have been keeping the cops busy trying to direct traffic away from the areas that are heavily damaged instead of being able to assist the families that need it.

    There are still thousands of people locally that don't have electricity and several shelters open for those whose homes have been destroyed or damaged too badly to stay in.  There are also food *kitchens* that are feeding the people with no place to stay in but the shelters and all the volunteers.  The Beast made a joke about going out for a free meal and I just shot him *that* look.  You know the one, ladies.    I was so glad to know that someone in the family was able to volunteer to help with the cleanup.  The Princess works all day and is lucky she gets to enjoy a little bit of sunlight at home. 

    The Beast is not exactly the *volunteer* type and I would be swallowing all kinds of pain pills due to the back problem I have.  I used to love volunteering and it's one of the things I miss these days.  I did a lot of cooking of food for Homestead after Hurricane Andrew for the people (and gathering of other donated goods) until the Army got it's shit together and got their tents and trucks down there to help out FEMA.

    When Charlie hit the Punta Gorda/Port Charlotte area, the Princess and her friends spent days helping cleanup the messes.  They started with their friends homes and then branched out.  I made them all lunches and let them take showers at our house because we had electricity and air conditioning.   She also went with me to help out for MDA on Labor Day weekend.  We did the Telethon for years until being up all night got to us both.  She had a social life that finally called to her and I just got old and started getting sick.  That was before I knew I was developing a bad gall bladder (and IBS, as it turned out).  I also developed diabetes.  Probably more from bad eating habits and being overweight but that's another story. 

    With a total of 20 dead from the storms that hit Mississippi and here, there are a lot of sad families and friends.  Here, the tornado hit late at night (10:30pm) and most everyone was at home.  The death toll could have been worse, I suppose, but any death is too much and too sad.  Life is too short as it is.

    When you think that thousands are homeless...think of that...thousands in a rather small geographical area that need to rebuild or find other homes.  Insurance companies are balls to the wall trying to get adjusters out to look over and take pictures of the damage to individual homesites.  Some people won't even have insurance and they will need assistance of one sort or another.  Our insurance adjuster for the Mitsubishi can't even make it to check out the car until Thursday at 10am.  I was kind of surprised that's all it took but I don't look a gift horse in the mouth.  We actually found a piece of the shingles that did the *sanding* of the car finish and even the glass on it in the well under the windshield wipers.  The Beast is saving it for the adjuster. 

    As to why I was pissed off at the Beast.....he was making potato pancakes for us for dinner and I had peeled a couple potatoes for him plus taken out the onion, got the flour and left the rest for him.  I should have thought about pulling the sour cream out of the fridge but I can't think of everything.

    The problem lies in the fact that we have a LOT of food in a rather small refrigerator space.  I didn't want a side-by-side and I TRIED to select the biggest one I could but you have to take what a place has, right?  Besides, this house was supposed to be just a summer house for the Beast so he got his way.  Now that we are in it, we need a larger fridge.  I don't like the idea of shopping every day but the Beast, apparently, would do it.  So, I have stacks of things to utilize the space available.  Instead of either asking ME to get something, he starts to look and then goes nuts if he can't just put his hands on it.  Even worse, it could be staring him in the face and he wouldn't see it.

    Well, I ended up with koolaid all over the fridge and the floor of the kitchen plus it was soaking into the rug there.  Why?  Because asshole just pulled it out of his way and dropped it on the floor, that's why.  He had stuff thrown all over the kitchen.  When I came out and saw the mess, I told him this:  *It would be nice if JUST ONCE, you could try looking nicely through the shelves or asking me to find it for you.  Just ONCE!  Because as long as we are stuck with this small fridge and with all the stuff we have in there, you are never going to be able to just open it up and easily put your hands on a lot of things.*

    He growled at me and said, *That's it...because of the amount of stuff...!!! *  I admit I whipped around at him and said, *Maybe YOU want to shop every damn day for what you want for a meal or a snack but *I* sure as hell don't!*  I finished cleaning up his mess from the koolaid and other stuff (and I admit to throwing some things noisily into the sink), then I stormed into my room and slammed the door.

    Later on, he brought me in a plate with a couple potato pancakes, cooked exactly as I like them mind you, and slathered in sour cream.  I was surprised at his act because he usually just yells at me to tell me they are ready, especially after an argument.  He had salted the sour cream (which I never do and so it tasted too salty to me).  I didn't say anything but went out to the kitchen, scraped off the sour cream and got more for myself.  It was just fine then.  I don't expect an apology from him.  After almost 46 years of marriage, I know better.  He WILL, however, be very nice to me for several days.  I will ignore that, of course.  **Grin**  But I truly am so very tired of his tantrums.  Lord help me.  He's a grown man in body but a spoiled brat in everything that matters.

    Well, I'm going to close this for now.  I'm going to watch Wolverine (hubba, hubba!) and just try to relax for a while.  Love you all and I wish you a wonderful, happy day.  The baby's school finally called and said their school is just too damaged so a local church has offered them space for the kids.  It won't be set up until Monday.  Johnnycakes got the call and either didn't ask where the new classes were to be held or they just didn't give him time to ask.  They have a lot of families to contact or try to, anyway.  I'll have Chewlee for the next few days and I hope I survive it.  She's used to having more things to do and I just am not set up for that.  Oh well.  We will both survive it, I'm sure. 

  • THE PRINCESS GETS HER ELECTRIC BACK AND THE BEAST MAKES AN ADMISSION


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The day today was overcast but very peaceful.  Well, except for the Beast's moaning and groaning.  He was walking more like an *old person* than I have seen him in many moons.  He felt so beat-up and sore that he looked at me and said, *I guess I have to face the fact that I AM an old person.*   I know!  I don't believe it will actually change him and his constant need to prove he can do what he wants, when he wants to do it but, who knows?  He could prove me wrong.  I wish!!!

    The Princess called to tell me that they had their electricity back finally around 2:30pm or so.  She wanted to go pick up groceries and asked me to watch Chewlee for a bit.  Of course!    Chewlee is not really good with her mother at the store because the Princess doesn't want to keep answering her questions about *what's that?* or *what's that?*.  And I am sure that she won't let her hold some of the stuff that I let her mainly because, if it were up to Chewlee, she would try to hold everything she likes. 

    Chewlee was eating some spaghetti-o's when her mother came to pick her up (and watching cartoons on the big TV).  When her mother said, *Are you ready?*, Chewlee didn't even hesitate a minute but told her mother *No* and kept watching TV and eating.  I just had to laugh.  She finally was ready except for her juice, which she almost took all the way to the door to finally let me take what little was left from her.  I almost asked the Princess if she had juice at her house because you would have thought she didn't.

    The Princess kept calling the pre-school and didn't get an answer and no pre-recorded message either so I guess I will be getting the baby this week.  I have no idea what time I'll get her but Johnnycakes will be dropping her off.  I'm sure he has his own schedule of things to do, like hit the gym since he likes to keep fit and I have no idea what other chores he does.  It's not a problem for me, at any rate, although I AM out of practice, I've noticed.

    Well, nothing else exciting happened around here but they are predicting the possibility of rain tonight and a definite for tomorrow.  I hope we get at least a little bit of sun.  It will help cheer up some people hereabouts but it's going to be a long haul for a lot of families.  We DID end up with two deaths locally and 30 injured.  No total on the number of homes destroyed or damaged too badly to inhabit, nor the amount of businesses destroyed.  I just know our downtown area looks tragic and so does a wide swathe of area that extends much further than I knew.  Say a few prayers for the people of Mississippi and here in Albertville, AL.  They would be appreciated.

    Love you all and wishing you a wonderful, sunny and uneventful day. 

  • T O R N A D O !! Part Deux


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    At first we figured that the great ATV adventure was off but, since there was nothing to be done at the Princess's house without electricity, she decided to go.  Hercules, the Princess and the Beast ended up going while I took care of Chewlee.  Without the internet, I couldn't check on the extent of the damage hereabouts nor could I watch TV news reports.  If I had a portable radio, I might have gotten news that way but that was one of those things you are going to get *aroundtuit*. 

    The baby and I spent most of the time outdoors since we couldn't play any of her DVD's she likes to watch and there was really nothing inside the house for her to do.  She loves being outdoors anyway.  I undressed her down to her little Dora pull-ups and let her run around the yard.  She picked weeds and collected whole maple leafs she found interesting.  She DID keep her shoes on her feet so she could *run* as she explained to me.  She was disappointed that Baron wouldn't run with her but he just trotted along behind her like a babysitter.  We all came inside to eat lunch and then I rocked her until we both fell asleep for a couple hours.  I had the switch *On* in my computer room and knew if the electricity came on, the lights would wake me up.

    We slept for about 2-1/2 hours (I had only slept for 3-1/2 hours and Chewlee had been woken up to bring her over here.  Since she had been up very late due to the excitement at the house, she hadn't had enough sleep.  Hence, the reason I rocked her.  I planned on taking her nap with her. 

    The three ATV adventurers lit out of her around 9:30am and had to traverse State Road 431 south to the ATV Park.  It was slow going due to all the debris, tree branches and electrical lines on the road so traffic had just one lane for long distances.  I had packed them some egg salad, tuna salad, mandarin orange slices (I pre-peeled them so it was just grab and eat), Gatorade and some chips.  Since the bag returned here unopened (or didn't make it into the truck, not sure which), it was obvious they never ate any chips.  They didn't return home until 4pm. 

    I had gotten a call from them before they got home to find out if we had our electric back on.  Since we did, they came home to eat.  I made up some hamburger patties (the Beast cooked them out on the BBQ), baked beans, some mixed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower and carrots) and their beverage of choice.  The Princess took a shower as soon as they got here since they all were muddy.

    When the electricity finally came on, I jumped on the internet for news and turned on our local TV news station to find out just how extensive the damage was here.  When the Princess said our downtown area reminded her of Port Charlotte after Hurricane Charlie, she wasn't kidding.  I was stunned to see it.  Both the city high school and middle school are so badly damaged they will be unusable for the rest of the school year.  All the kids have the next week off while the school board finds out where these kids will finish their school year and how to get them all there.

    The Princess was told that the baby's preschool was damaged and won't be open next week but she isn't sure.  The street was impassible to even check on that so she is going to take tomorrow off as one of her paid days to check on that.  If it's true, looks like I will have Chewlee here for this week until it reopens.  Of course, with all the incredible damage hereabouts, if the street isn't cleared yet, there won't be any getting her there anyway.

    The Princess and Johnnycakes won't be able to get their electric back until tomorrow evening they were told.  I invited them to stay here where we have electricity but Johnnycakes wanted to stay home and just chill.  I had given the baby her bath earlier and she was in her nightgown so the Princess went home.  She will probably be hitting the sack early anyway since SHE is exhausted and I have a feeling Johnnycakes is, too.  I'm sure even Chewlee will be ready for bed like normal with the house (and neighborhood) being so quiet AND dark.

    I'm all for that idea, too, as soon as I look up a couple friends that I was playing on Pogo with when I suddenly and inexplicably *disappeared*.  I will let them know what happened and then go to bed early also.  The Princess said since she can't cook, she will be over tomorrow, probably early, knowing her.  I DO have food in the house and I am making Italian beef again tomorrow.  I know, I know, it hasn't been all that long since I made it last but I have a really great rib eye roast to use for it (per the Beast's request) and I also found some great rolls.  Since I can cook it in my slow cooker, it works for me.  *Grin*

    At least here, unlike in Mississippi, we haven't had any deaths.  Injuries, yes, a couple were even serious as far as the news has informed us thus far.  But homes and businesses have been destroyed or damaged and it will be a while before everything is back to normal.  Say a little prayer for those affected.  My heart goes out to them.  I count us lucky that we are all safe and sound here.

    Love you all.  Stay safe.  Be happy and I hope you have a wonderful day. 

  • T O R N A D O !!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    For those of you that read Bratfink's blog (Bratland now), you know the reason I didn't post.  A tornado hit Albertville and one of the areas was just two miles from our house.  Unfortunately, it was so close to the Princess that, when the electric pole was yanked or knocked down, it pulled the electric wiring to their house down with it.

    I found out later that the Princess was not at home when it all happened.  She was at a friend's house (and got trapped there almost all night because of the severe damages to a truck behind her.  Also, there were trees all around clogging the street that was a direct shot home for her.  She was just 3 miles away.  It ended up taking her 15 miles of travel in order to get around the debris, fallen poles and wires to her own house.  She had called me when Johnnycakes called her to tell her about the damage.  He, also, had not been home but they were fortunate because a neighbor got a tree limb through their vehicle. 

    As it was, the Princess was in an apartment building that had windows that were imploding here and there and she got hit on the leg by a flying roofing shingle. It left her with a rather nasty bruise. Needless-to-say, that scared the chit out of her being close enough to see all that happened around her. Her poor car took a scouring and there are scratches everywhere.  Some quite deep and even the windows are scratched up.  She's definitely going to need a paint job.  She felt lucky, however, because she saw the truck behind her lost his windows entirely.  While trying to get home, she had to travel through downtown Albertville and said the destruction reminded her of Port Charlotte after Hurricane Charlie, only the area was smaller.

    Here's a link to some of the first news about it (and it only noted the destruction in a small area locally): http://blog.al.com/breaking/2010/04/tornado_that_hit_downtown_albe.ht

    Tonto actually saw the high school and said there was damage to the cafeteria and some of the classrooms, also.  Even though we are only two miles from one area the tornado touched down, we were lucky enough to only get some high wind bursts.  And they were *bursts*.  Nothing sustained for longer than a minute or so.  Some even less.  It was like the wind was whirling around, back and forth but with long pauses in between.

    The wind had the Beast worried sick about the fruit that was on the trees, especially the Alberta peach tree.  But, when he inspected them early this morning, he said the fruit seems to have held on well but the littlest pear tree has a bad list to one side and is going to need staking for a while.

    Our biggest problem was losing electricity.  After hearing from the woman I spoke with about the extent of the problem, I wasn't surprised to hear that we wouldn't have electricity back until some time Sunday afternoon.  We lost it at 10:30pm Saturday and didn't get it back on until 3:30pm Sunday afternoon. 

    I have a few more things to tell you but I have hit the high points.  No deaths but a few injuries, one serious.  But, I'm sure there are probably a lot of injuries going unreported like the Princess's since it's trivial and not worth troubling busy doctors OR sitting for hours in an emergency room because it IS trivial.

    Going to send this down the internet so you know what happened.  Love you all and will let you know more as *I* learn more.

  • A New, Fun Way To Irritate The Princess


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I love to find ways to irritate the Princess.  She doesn't really get irritated but I DO like to *tweak* her once in a while.  The other day, when Chewlee and I were at Walmart, we went past a bunch of t-shirts that were out in preparation for Mother's Day.  Yes, that's coming up sooner than you think.  Anyway, I spotted one right at the front of the rack that I KNEW had to be a sign!  It said:  Grandma....like a mom but with no rules. 

    More than once, the Princess has said something almost like that because Chewlee loves to be here with me.  I guess I make HER the *bad guy* because I am so *liberal* in her words.  Laid back is another word she's used when she's not upset.  In truth, I am more patient and have a different way of getting Chewlee to do things or to NOT do things.  They do NOT all involve bribery but.....it IS a kind of training tool we use with animals like dogs, if you think about it.  That thought occurred to me today while driving to pick her up from pre-school.

    Speaking of pre-school, I am a total advocate of that for all children from the age of two, especially.  It's incredible how much that helps a child who has a curious mind that wants to know things.  Chewlee will start kindergarten (when she's 5) and will know her numbers from 1-20 and her alphabet.  They will start her on printing and some other crucial small muscle coordination skills.  For those of us that don't have the skills to teach our children those things at home (or the time in most cases), getting your child into that kind of a structured pre-school environment is the best thing you can do for them to help them out once they get into a regular school.  With all the social problems that can develop, at least they should have that boost on the academic.

    Chewlee was in one of her rare moods today.  She wanted to do this and that but, first, she would lean on my lap and, with a serious face, explain to me WHY we should.  If I started to protest, she would shush me and say, *Come on!  Let's go!* and then would grab my hand to guide me.  When she finally settled down and was ready to watch *Dinosaurs* (Jurassic Park to the unwashed), she REALLY settled down.  She wanted to sit in my lap but didn't want me to hold her.....until the bad (carnivore) dinosaurs showed up. 

    During one trip to get her some juice, she didn't shut the door into here behind her so Baron came in.  She tried making him leave by pointing towards the door (like I do) and telling him, *Go!* *Out!*.  He just looked at her.  I finally gave him the *out* command and he left.  That annoyed her no end so she turned to me and said, *Doggie was not being good.  He didn't listen to me so he needs a time out.*  She then headed out the door and, just before shutting it, she popped her head in and said, *I'll be right back.*

    She came back a few minutes later and sat down in her Dora chair to watch the movie and nothing more was said.  About five minutes later, the Beast came in and said to me, *Did you lock Baron in the guest room?*  When I said no, Chewlee turned, casually, and said two words.  *Time out*  I laughed until I cried and told the Beast the story.  He said Baron was in there and he heard him crying so he got up to check on him and found him in there with the light on.  We keep it off usually but Chewlee always turns it on when she puts one of her baby dolls in *time out*.  For a minute, the Beast thought Baron might have accidentally closed the door on himself.  Kids are wonderful and can make you laugh when you least expect it.  The idea that she put the dog into a time out because he didn't listen to her just tickled me to no end.

    We had a special treat tonight for our dinner....steaks.  Nice big T-bones and they were wonderful.  I shared mine with Chewlee since I don't usually eat a whole one.  We also had a baked potato, nice crispy yeast dinner rolls and some asparagus.  Chewlee ate about 90% of the steak, all her asparagus and a roll.  She isn't a fan of baked or mashed potatoes, apparently but I gave her a mixed fruit cup to round out her meal.  She didn't eat as much as I would have liked but her mom brought a children's meal from Chik-fil-a.  She LOVES their waffle fries and she also loves to dip her chicken bites into ranch dressing I found out.

    I kind of suspected she liked ranch dressing because she would suck the dressing off lettuce she ate from my salads.  I finally gave her one of her own that day and put a little extra on it.  That worked and she ate it all up.  Since I will have her on Sunday, I already know what I will make us for our brunch.  Chicken fingers with ranch dressing on the side and a nice salad.  If she eats good, she will take a nice, long nap.

    I'm going to have to make a trip to Walmart (again) and pick up a few things for the lunch I will pack for the ATV adventurers on Sunday.  They will need to have something along with them since there's nothing closer than 20 minutes.  They plan on exploring all the *bunny trails* as the Beast has nicknamed them.  I'll add some peeled tangarines to the mix since those always seemed great to me on some of our previous adventures.

    Time to get this posted for your perusal later on.  Love you all.  Have a wonderful day and relax.....enjoy it.  It's SATURDAY!!!! 

    PS: JUST A LITTLE INFO BECAUSE I JUST GOT THE NEWS....HERCULES IS GOING TO STATE NOW FOR TRACK AND FIELD.  HE MADE 9 FEET ON THE BROAD JUMP (ALMOST MADE 9'6") BUT WE ARE SO PROUD!

  • A New ATV, Of Course! He Can Never Wait.....


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I ended up going to bed around 2:30am but I got up at 8:30am.  The reason?  The Beast was making noises that were a deliberate attempt to wake me up.  He wanted to find out if I wanted to make the trip with him up to Chattanooga to look at (smaller) ATV's.    He and the Princess had done some research on them before he bought this first one; you know, the one that's capable of hauling a deer on it, etc., etc.  He also had stopped in Gadsden on his way home from his big adventure to look at some at the dealer there.  I didn't even bother asking him why he was in such a rush; I already knew the answer to that.  HE CAN'T WAIT FOR ANYTHING HE WANTS.  HE WANTS IT NOW!!!!!

    He took the dog with him so I had the house to myself for a few hours.  I took my time drinking some coffee, making myself some eggs and then stripped my bed and changed the linens on it.  That meant at least two wash loads (which I did) but I decided not to hang anything out since the day had that *iffy* look to it.  Just too much sun out and then not.  Plus, they claim we are going to have rain.  I hope so. 

    I got busy dust mopping the floors and was stunned at how damn much dog hair there was on it.  I took it out to shake it after I was done and actually had a little hummingbird whiz by to check out what I was doing.  They are so cute and so curious at times.  I got busy doing some other stuff like unloading and loading up the dishwasher, wiping down my appliances and clearing off the kitchen table.  The Beast is a great one for making a mess on it but he seldom clears anything off it.  He damn near NEVER puts anything away that he takes out for any reason.  I mean stuff like peanut butter, cookies, jelly, pickles, flour, Crisco....if he takes it out of wherever it is supposed to be put, it doesn't get put back until *I* do it.  I stopped nagging at him by pointing out the stuff he hasn't put back where they belong because he just looks at me and ignores it.  He figures if it bothers ME, then *I* should put it away.

    When the Beast finally got home around 3:30pm, I KNEW he had bought another ATV.  He came in, quickly fed the dog and gave him fresh water then asked me if I wanted to go for a ride.  I didn't but I knew I had to go outside and look at what he bought.  I was really shocked at how big it LOOKED but I knew that it was actually a lot smaller in more ways than one.  He ended up buying a 2009 Honda Ranch ET.  It's brand new.  Had zero miles on it.  He bought a dark green one and I laughing asked why he hadn't bought one with a camo paint job.  He said they actually had those; they just didn't have a NEW 2009 one with it.  *Insert eye roll here since it really was meant as a joke*

    Now the Princess wants to go out on Sunday on their ATV's and go to the ATV park the Beast found.  This time, however, they will use the OTHER trails.    or at least the Beast will.  I think the kids will go off THAT trail and try some of the more *exciting* ones.  They're young and more flexible.  They also heal faster!    I'll more than  likely be here with Chewlee and we will watch 'Zilla movies or Harry Potter.  I might make her watch something different like Madagascar or Shrek or even Dr. Doolittle.  I think she might like watching what seems to be real animals talking. 

    I finally decided to heck with it and am going to go ahead and order the new bedspread, curtains and linens for the guest room.  I actually haven't ordered them (even though I had told the Beast a while back that I was going to do it since that room needs some color in it).  Why should I constantly do without things we actually NEED because Mr. Gotrocks has no self-control?  Nothing I do will stop that so it's just silly of me.  I also found the perfect curtains for here in my computer room.  I said I would know them when I saw them and I finally did.  So that will be ordered tomorrow, too.  I'm not spending a fortune on all this folks.  I'm too thrifty for that stuff.  I look for good quality and a good price, too.  I never have been able to just go out and spend money on impulse or without looking at the price.  But that's just me.

    Time to get this settled for the night so you can read it later or tomorrow morning...whenever.  Love you all and I hope you have a great day.  Laugh a little today.  It does wonders for the spirit. 

  • The Beast And An ATV *Adventure*!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I woke up today because Baron yipped and jumped down off the bed and went scrambling into the living room.  I thought the Beast must have gotten up and Baron was following him around, as usual.  I was awake so I got up and was surprised to see it was 9am and no Beast anywhere.  I really think he got out of here without Baron knowing he was going anywhere.  That's why Baron *yipped* the way he did....it was a surprised sound. 

    I checked outside and, sure enough, the truck, trailer and ATV was gone!  I just laughed and took it easy since I knew he would be gone for quite a while.  He had two places to check out and an actual ATV park.  That's where he got in trouble.

    In some ways, the Beast is so predictable.  He's always in a hurry and doesn't do what he should.  By that I mean he should look a place over thoroughly before he jumps into one of his *adventures*.  In this case, he found an entrance, found what he thought was a parking area so he parked and took off the ATV and went exploring.  He DID find a trail and what a trail it was. 

    He had found this place online and it had showed some nice, paved trails with bridges over the streams and it looked beautiful.  It also noted that there was *something for every ATV-er*.  That meant primitive trails also.  I think he stumbled onto a VERY primitive trail just from his description of what he found.  At one point, it was almost straight down and into about 4 feet of leaves and other forest debris.  It took a lot of torque for him to turn around and get UP to go back when he realized it really was a trail for someone a lot younger who doesn't mind being bounced all over the place.

    When he finally got himself turned around, he realized he had lost all sense of direction but he kept going the way he thought he should and towards some sounds he heard.  He came to a crossroad and there was a sign there.  That's when he knew he had made a mistake.....a BIG one.  He had actually gotten on a challenge trail.    When he found the truck and trailered the ATV, he drove about another 200 feet and found the REAL parking area.  It was very large and marked for vehicles with trailers on them.  He thought about taking the ATV off and actually taking some of the nice trails he had seen on his computer but he was so tired from being shaken around and his hands actually hurt.  So, he shook his head and headed for home.

    When he started telling me all this, I couldn't help but laugh.  He told me he was thinking of letting the Princess buy it from him and getting himself one a little less powerful and easier for him to handle.    That's the closest he's come to an admission that he can't handle anything he wants to that he's ever made.  He said he doesn't think he wants to even try hunting alone so, if Johnnycakes has THIS one (which will handle a deer being loaded on it) and goes hunting with him, that will be fine.

    He wanted me to run out to pick up a couple steaks so he could barbeque them for us but I got him to throw on a couple hamburgers.  I made a Caesar salad for us and it worked out just fine.  He can grill a perfect hamburger.    After he had finished his burger and about half his salad, he got up to do something and when he came back, he came to my room and asked me if I had finished his salad.  When I told him *NO*, we both KNEW who had finished it.  Baron!  When I saw his salad bowl, I told him, *I don't know why you asked me.  When was the last time you saw me LICK A SALAD BOWL CLEAN?????*  Baron was hiding in our bedroom because he knew he shouldn't have touched it.  He wouldn't even LOOK at the Beast when  he walked in there to yell at him.  He just hung his head down and then laid down on his bed with his face averted from the Beast.  I just laughed.  It was so funny to me because the Beast was the one that had the taste for the salad.  (We did have more, thankfully, so the Beast DID get his fill)

    Time for me to go.  The Beast went to bed early and Bratfink and I are watching *Godzilla* together (at our separate abodes) and making comments on it in our IM.  It's something we haven't done in a while.  Love you all and have a wonderful day.  Smile and remember to tell those you love that you do as often as you can.  Life is short.

  • A Nephew In The News And A Haircut On The Deck


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    My niece, Tara, came over today for two reasons.  #1:  her son, Hercules, needed a haircut.  #2: to show us that he got his picture in the paper since his high school track team made regional and so did he for the long jump.  Not that she was a proud mother or anything, but she just had to show us.

    Since we don't get a paper unless we pick one up at the store (the delivery people apparently can't find our house), we hadn't seen it.  I do normally look for news about the high school teams since both Achilles and Hercules are into sports.  That's when we get one.  At least she had a copy to show us.    She probably bought a bunch!

    Anyway, Hercules needed a trim.  He was taking his mother's word for it that I did a good job but he managed not to react nervously when I was cutting it.  I was just trimming it so that's easy enough to do.  You just follow the lines of the cut.  Duh!  Luckily, I hide those scissors so the Beast can't touch them or they would be ruined or lost. 

    The dog was eager to play with Hercules and kept interfering until the Beast put him in the house so I could finish without a problem.  Chewlee found my hair clip so interesting that she insisted she should hold it for me.  That kept her busy for a while just trying to use it and keeping it in HER hands, not mine.  No matter since I didn't really need it.  Now, when I cut Achilles hair this weekend, I WILL need it.  He wears his hair longer.  That kind of surprises me since he IS into sports also.  I just can't remember WHAT sports except baseball.  I think.  I'm sure I'll find out this weekend.

    The hair I trimmed made a nice little pile that I thought about leaving it out for the birds but it was actually too short to attract them to it.  Besides, we are supposed to have rain and wind tonight and that would have just made a mess.  The Beast laughed when he saw the pile (Hercules has very thick hair) and told Tara he thought there was enough there to build another kid. 

    They all ate some Italian beef sandwiches since everyone was hungry when I got done and I sent the rest of it home with Tara for Achilles and Tonto to enjoy.  I knew if I kept it, it would probably go bad or to the dog.  I know the Beast and myself.  Without crusty rolls or Italian bread, I won't eat it.  The Beast just won't eat anything two days in a row.

    The Beast was teasing Tara that he was going to make some potato pancakes and she begged him to wait until Saturday.  She just loves his potato pancakes and will eat them cold with just salt on them.  When they were living here with us and the Beast made them, he cooked up all the batter because he knew whatever was left wouldn't go to waste.  She would eat them for breakfast, lunch or dinner until they were all gone.  Not that there was ever a whole lot of them left when there were 8 people living here (well, one was just visiting for a while ).  Anyway, now you know what's on our menu for Saturday. 

    Chewlee was upset that I was out on the deck with no shoes on.  She sounded so shocked when she saw my feet and said, *Gramma...where are your shoes?*  She started to look around to see where they might have fallen off my feet or some such tragedy.  I know she would have gotten them and put them on my feet even but I told her I was allowed so that I wouldn't get hair in them.  She actually said, *Oh!* and then got busy trying to put the clip in her hair.  I just love that kid with how she can make me laugh over little things.

    The Princess has a dentist appointment tomorrow down in Gadsden (about 25 miles away) so I may not have a day off from picking up Chewlee.  She's not sure just when she will get back but she will call me if I have to go get her from school.  I don't mind and I know Chewlee gets upset when I haven't picked her up at my *usual* time.  She has a sense of when that is one of her teachers told me.  I think she can tell by other kids that are picked up by their parents or grandparents.  I was a little later than usual one day and I heard her crying, *I want my grandma!*.  So, when she saw me, I thought she was going to climb me to get into my arms.  Like I would forget her. 

    Hercules wants to go hunting.  Tara told the Beast that he's wanted to do that for several years.    The Beast likes Hercules anyway so he's all for it.  He's going to take him out to the range and let him try shooting some of the guns.  It'll give him a chance to assess how good a shot Hercules might be and he can show off a bit.    That'll put him in a good mood for a while.  Men love to show off their toys.

    He took both Tara and then Hercules out for a ride on the ATV.  I heard Tara screaming (just kidding) but she WAS shocked at how fast it is.  It will actually turn 60 in a very short time.  Good thing it's not street legal or the Beast would be riding that to Lowe's and wherever it struck him.  I know him and that's no joke.  He will also probably let Hercules try driving the ATV since he did so well on the John Deere almost two years ago when he was much younger.  It will only be another year and he will be able to drive anyway.  How time flies!

    Well, time to get this posted before the clouds come in and make that a problem.  Love you all and hope you have a wonderful day.