April 26, 2010

  • T O R N A D O !! Part Deux


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    At first we figured that the great ATV adventure was off but, since there was nothing to be done at the Princess's house without electricity, she decided to go.  Hercules, the Princess and the Beast ended up going while I took care of Chewlee.  Without the internet, I couldn't check on the extent of the damage hereabouts nor could I watch TV news reports.  If I had a portable radio, I might have gotten news that way but that was one of those things you are going to get *aroundtuit*. 

    The baby and I spent most of the time outdoors since we couldn't play any of her DVD's she likes to watch and there was really nothing inside the house for her to do.  She loves being outdoors anyway.  I undressed her down to her little Dora pull-ups and let her run around the yard.  She picked weeds and collected whole maple leafs she found interesting.  She DID keep her shoes on her feet so she could *run* as she explained to me.  She was disappointed that Baron wouldn't run with her but he just trotted along behind her like a babysitter.  We all came inside to eat lunch and then I rocked her until we both fell asleep for a couple hours.  I had the switch *On* in my computer room and knew if the electricity came on, the lights would wake me up.

    We slept for about 2-1/2 hours (I had only slept for 3-1/2 hours and Chewlee had been woken up to bring her over here.  Since she had been up very late due to the excitement at the house, she hadn't had enough sleep.  Hence, the reason I rocked her.  I planned on taking her nap with her. 

    The three ATV adventurers lit out of her around 9:30am and had to traverse State Road 431 south to the ATV Park.  It was slow going due to all the debris, tree branches and electrical lines on the road so traffic had just one lane for long distances.  I had packed them some egg salad, tuna salad, mandarin orange slices (I pre-peeled them so it was just grab and eat), Gatorade and some chips.  Since the bag returned here unopened (or didn't make it into the truck, not sure which), it was obvious they never ate any chips.  They didn't return home until 4pm. 

    I had gotten a call from them before they got home to find out if we had our electric back on.  Since we did, they came home to eat.  I made up some hamburger patties (the Beast cooked them out on the BBQ), baked beans, some mixed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower and carrots) and their beverage of choice.  The Princess took a shower as soon as they got here since they all were muddy.

    When the electricity finally came on, I jumped on the internet for news and turned on our local TV news station to find out just how extensive the damage was here.  When the Princess said our downtown area reminded her of Port Charlotte after Hurricane Charlie, she wasn't kidding.  I was stunned to see it.  Both the city high school and middle school are so badly damaged they will be unusable for the rest of the school year.  All the kids have the next week off while the school board finds out where these kids will finish their school year and how to get them all there.

    The Princess was told that the baby's preschool was damaged and won't be open next week but she isn't sure.  The street was impassible to even check on that so she is going to take tomorrow off as one of her paid days to check on that.  If it's true, looks like I will have Chewlee here for this week until it reopens.  Of course, with all the incredible damage hereabouts, if the street isn't cleared yet, there won't be any getting her there anyway.

    The Princess and Johnnycakes won't be able to get their electric back until tomorrow evening they were told.  I invited them to stay here where we have electricity but Johnnycakes wanted to stay home and just chill.  I had given the baby her bath earlier and she was in her nightgown so the Princess went home.  She will probably be hitting the sack early anyway since SHE is exhausted and I have a feeling Johnnycakes is, too.  I'm sure even Chewlee will be ready for bed like normal with the house (and neighborhood) being so quiet AND dark.

    I'm all for that idea, too, as soon as I look up a couple friends that I was playing on Pogo with when I suddenly and inexplicably *disappeared*.  I will let them know what happened and then go to bed early also.  The Princess said since she can't cook, she will be over tomorrow, probably early, knowing her.  I DO have food in the house and I am making Italian beef again tomorrow.  I know, I know, it hasn't been all that long since I made it last but I have a really great rib eye roast to use for it (per the Beast's request) and I also found some great rolls.  Since I can cook it in my slow cooker, it works for me.  *Grin*

    At least here, unlike in Mississippi, we haven't had any deaths.  Injuries, yes, a couple were even serious as far as the news has informed us thus far.  But homes and businesses have been destroyed or damaged and it will be a while before everything is back to normal.  Say a little prayer for those affected.  My heart goes out to them.  I count us lucky that we are all safe and sound here.

    Love you all.  Stay safe.  Be happy and I hope you have a wonderful day.