April 27, 2010

  • THE PRINCESS GETS HER ELECTRIC BACK AND THE BEAST MAKES AN ADMISSION


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The day today was overcast but very peaceful.  Well, except for the Beast's moaning and groaning.  He was walking more like an *old person* than I have seen him in many moons.  He felt so beat-up and sore that he looked at me and said, *I guess I have to face the fact that I AM an old person.*   I know!  I don't believe it will actually change him and his constant need to prove he can do what he wants, when he wants to do it but, who knows?  He could prove me wrong.  I wish!!!

    The Princess called to tell me that they had their electricity back finally around 2:30pm or so.  She wanted to go pick up groceries and asked me to watch Chewlee for a bit.  Of course!    Chewlee is not really good with her mother at the store because the Princess doesn't want to keep answering her questions about *what's that?* or *what's that?*.  And I am sure that she won't let her hold some of the stuff that I let her mainly because, if it were up to Chewlee, she would try to hold everything she likes. 

    Chewlee was eating some spaghetti-o's when her mother came to pick her up (and watching cartoons on the big TV).  When her mother said, *Are you ready?*, Chewlee didn't even hesitate a minute but told her mother *No* and kept watching TV and eating.  I just had to laugh.  She finally was ready except for her juice, which she almost took all the way to the door to finally let me take what little was left from her.  I almost asked the Princess if she had juice at her house because you would have thought she didn't.

    The Princess kept calling the pre-school and didn't get an answer and no pre-recorded message either so I guess I will be getting the baby this week.  I have no idea what time I'll get her but Johnnycakes will be dropping her off.  I'm sure he has his own schedule of things to do, like hit the gym since he likes to keep fit and I have no idea what other chores he does.  It's not a problem for me, at any rate, although I AM out of practice, I've noticed.

    Well, nothing else exciting happened around here but they are predicting the possibility of rain tonight and a definite for tomorrow.  I hope we get at least a little bit of sun.  It will help cheer up some people hereabouts but it's going to be a long haul for a lot of families.  We DID end up with two deaths locally and 30 injured.  No total on the number of homes destroyed or damaged too badly to inhabit, nor the amount of businesses destroyed.  I just know our downtown area looks tragic and so does a wide swathe of area that extends much further than I knew.  Say a few prayers for the people of Mississippi and here in Albertville, AL.  They would be appreciated.

    Love you all and wishing you a wonderful, sunny and uneventful day. 

Comments (2)

  • Dear Brat Sis? LOL I am not sure what to call you!   I was so concerned when I read on Brat Finks web site about the tornado's that had come near your house!   I am so glad that you and your loved one's are okay.     I know how bad tornado's can be.   Living in Texas, we have had quite a few, we had one hit our house, when we lived in Pasadena Texas ( a suburb of Houston Texas )   we had quite a bit of damage to our house and was without electricity for two weeks, but thankfully no one was injured.    I just wanted to let you know we were thinking of you and praying for you, and so glad no one was hurt.       your friend from Texas   Janey 

  • Dear Janey...ty for your concern.  You can call me Brat if you like.  I'm very used to that.    The Beast and I went through a tornado years ago when we were married only a year.  The roof got ripped off from right over our heads.  Not exactly a great way to wake up but definitely kept me from sleeping during a thunderstorm for several years afterward.    We were glad we all were spared any injury or really major damage.  Johnnycakes works second shift at his job so he's been volunteering to help do some cleanup every day since it hit us.  We still have several more days just to clean the trees that were downed or ripped out of the ground and are blocking roadways. 

    Again, thanks for your concern and I just found out that we are in a kind of *tornado alley* of the South here.  If you guys get them in Texas, we have to be on the alert here.  Hugs.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment