April 21, 2010

  • A Nephew In The News And A Haircut On The Deck


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    My niece, Tara, came over today for two reasons.  #1:  her son, Hercules, needed a haircut.  #2: to show us that he got his picture in the paper since his high school track team made regional and so did he for the long jump.  Not that she was a proud mother or anything, but she just had to show us.

    Since we don’t get a paper unless we pick one up at the store (the delivery people apparently can’t find our house), we hadn’t seen it.  I do normally look for news about the high school teams since both Achilles and Hercules are into sports.  That’s when we get one.  At least she had a copy to show us.    She probably bought a bunch!

    Anyway, Hercules needed a trim.  He was taking his mother’s word for it that I did a good job but he managed not to react nervously when I was cutting it.  I was just trimming it so that’s easy enough to do.  You just follow the lines of the cut.  Duh!  Luckily, I hide those scissors so the Beast can’t touch them or they would be ruined or lost. 

    The dog was eager to play with Hercules and kept interfering until the Beast put him in the house so I could finish without a problem.  Chewlee found my hair clip so interesting that she insisted she should hold it for me.  That kept her busy for a while just trying to use it and keeping it in HER hands, not mine.  No matter since I didn’t really need it.  Now, when I cut Achilles hair this weekend, I WILL need it.  He wears his hair longer.  That kind of surprises me since he IS into sports also.  I just can’t remember WHAT sports except baseball.  I think.  I’m sure I’ll find out this weekend.

    The hair I trimmed made a nice little pile that I thought about leaving it out for the birds but it was actually too short to attract them to it.  Besides, we are supposed to have rain and wind tonight and that would have just made a mess.  The Beast laughed when he saw the pile (Hercules has very thick hair) and told Tara he thought there was enough there to build another kid. 

    They all ate some Italian beef sandwiches since everyone was hungry when I got done and I sent the rest of it home with Tara for Achilles and Tonto to enjoy.  I knew if I kept it, it would probably go bad or to the dog.  I know the Beast and myself.  Without crusty rolls or Italian bread, I won’t eat it.  The Beast just won’t eat anything two days in a row.

    The Beast was teasing Tara that he was going to make some potato pancakes and she begged him to wait until Saturday.  She just loves his potato pancakes and will eat them cold with just salt on them.  When they were living here with us and the Beast made them, he cooked up all the batter because he knew whatever was left wouldn’t go to waste.  She would eat them for breakfast, lunch or dinner until they were all gone.  Not that there was ever a whole lot of them left when there were 8 people living here (well, one was just visiting for a while ).  Anyway, now you know what’s on our menu for Saturday. 

    Chewlee was upset that I was out on the deck with no shoes on.  She sounded so shocked when she saw my feet and said, *Gramma…where are your shoes?*  She started to look around to see where they might have fallen off my feet or some such tragedy.  I know she would have gotten them and put them on my feet even but I told her I was allowed so that I wouldn’t get hair in them.  She actually said, *Oh!* and then got busy trying to put the clip in her hair.  I just love that kid with how she can make me laugh over little things.

    The Princess has a dentist appointment tomorrow down in Gadsden (about 25 miles away) so I may not have a day off from picking up Chewlee.  She’s not sure just when she will get back but she will call me if I have to go get her from school.  I don’t mind and I know Chewlee gets upset when I haven’t picked her up at my *usual* time.  She has a sense of when that is one of her teachers told me.  I think she can tell by other kids that are picked up by their parents or grandparents.  I was a little later than usual one day and I heard her crying, *I want my grandma!*.  So, when she saw me, I thought she was going to climb me to get into my arms.  Like I would forget her. 

    Hercules wants to go hunting.  Tara told the Beast that he’s wanted to do that for several years.    The Beast likes Hercules anyway so he’s all for it.  He’s going to take him out to the range and let him try shooting some of the guns.  It’ll give him a chance to assess how good a shot Hercules might be and he can show off a bit.    That’ll put him in a good mood for a while.  Men love to show off their toys.

    He took both Tara and then Hercules out for a ride on the ATV.  I heard Tara screaming (just kidding) but she WAS shocked at how fast it is.  It will actually turn 60 in a very short time.  Good thing it’s not street legal or the Beast would be riding that to Lowe’s and wherever it struck him.  I know him and that’s no joke.  He will also probably let Hercules try driving the ATV since he did so well on the John Deere almost two years ago when he was much younger.  It will only be another year and he will be able to drive anyway.  How time flies!

    Well, time to get this posted before the clouds come in and make that a problem.  Love you all and hope you have a wonderful day. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *