April 22, 2010

  • The Beast And An ATV *Adventure*!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I woke up today because Baron yipped and jumped down off the bed and went scrambling into the living room.  I thought the Beast must have gotten up and Baron was following him around, as usual.  I was awake so I got up and was surprised to see it was 9am and no Beast anywhere.  I really think he got out of here without Baron knowing he was going anywhere.  That's why Baron *yipped* the way he did....it was a surprised sound. 

    I checked outside and, sure enough, the truck, trailer and ATV was gone!  I just laughed and took it easy since I knew he would be gone for quite a while.  He had two places to check out and an actual ATV park.  That's where he got in trouble.

    In some ways, the Beast is so predictable.  He's always in a hurry and doesn't do what he should.  By that I mean he should look a place over thoroughly before he jumps into one of his *adventures*.  In this case, he found an entrance, found what he thought was a parking area so he parked and took off the ATV and went exploring.  He DID find a trail and what a trail it was. 

    He had found this place online and it had showed some nice, paved trails with bridges over the streams and it looked beautiful.  It also noted that there was *something for every ATV-er*.  That meant primitive trails also.  I think he stumbled onto a VERY primitive trail just from his description of what he found.  At one point, it was almost straight down and into about 4 feet of leaves and other forest debris.  It took a lot of torque for him to turn around and get UP to go back when he realized it really was a trail for someone a lot younger who doesn't mind being bounced all over the place.

    When he finally got himself turned around, he realized he had lost all sense of direction but he kept going the way he thought he should and towards some sounds he heard.  He came to a crossroad and there was a sign there.  That's when he knew he had made a mistake.....a BIG one.  He had actually gotten on a challenge trail.    When he found the truck and trailered the ATV, he drove about another 200 feet and found the REAL parking area.  It was very large and marked for vehicles with trailers on them.  He thought about taking the ATV off and actually taking some of the nice trails he had seen on his computer but he was so tired from being shaken around and his hands actually hurt.  So, he shook his head and headed for home.

    When he started telling me all this, I couldn't help but laugh.  He told me he was thinking of letting the Princess buy it from him and getting himself one a little less powerful and easier for him to handle.    That's the closest he's come to an admission that he can't handle anything he wants to that he's ever made.  He said he doesn't think he wants to even try hunting alone so, if Johnnycakes has THIS one (which will handle a deer being loaded on it) and goes hunting with him, that will be fine.

    He wanted me to run out to pick up a couple steaks so he could barbeque them for us but I got him to throw on a couple hamburgers.  I made a Caesar salad for us and it worked out just fine.  He can grill a perfect hamburger.    After he had finished his burger and about half his salad, he got up to do something and when he came back, he came to my room and asked me if I had finished his salad.  When I told him *NO*, we both KNEW who had finished it.  Baron!  When I saw his salad bowl, I told him, *I don't know why you asked me.  When was the last time you saw me LICK A SALAD BOWL CLEAN?????*  Baron was hiding in our bedroom because he knew he shouldn't have touched it.  He wouldn't even LOOK at the Beast when  he walked in there to yell at him.  He just hung his head down and then laid down on his bed with his face averted from the Beast.  I just laughed.  It was so funny to me because the Beast was the one that had the taste for the salad.  (We did have more, thankfully, so the Beast DID get his fill)

    Time for me to go.  The Beast went to bed early and Bratfink and I are watching *Godzilla* together (at our separate abodes) and making comments on it in our IM.  It's something we haven't done in a while.  Love you all and have a wonderful day.  Smile and remember to tell those you love that you do as often as you can.  Life is short.