April 29, 2010

  • Thoughts In The Dark.......


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Note:  These are random thoughts I jotted down while we were suffering through the night of the tornado and a prolonged blackout.  I wrote them down on a yellow pad under a battery-operated LED light.

    I have always kept candles in case of a blackout because we had them in Florida quite often.  Then, however, I could keep them out and scattered about since most are decorative or in nice containers.  Most are scented because I enjoy them but the Beast doesn't.

    Here, however, we have to contend with Chewlee and her endless curiosity.  So I packed them up in a nice, plastic container with locking lid and put them in my closet here in the computer room.  During this (our first prolonged blackout) event, when I went to look for them where I remembered putting them, they were gone!    I wasn't going to accuse the beast outright but I mentioned it and then said, *Well, if they are gone, I guess I will have to replace them.  Oh, and they have some really cool new scents!* 

    Dumbo me.  After the lights were back on and there was no need for them, of course I would find them.  Duh!  I had moved them onto the lowest shelf of the bookcase here so they would be *convenient*.  Color me embarrassed for my thinking but they aren't convenient unless you REMEMBER WHERE YOU PUT THEM, are they???? 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I'm so worried about the food  I have in the freezer.  Figures I would have gone out on Saturday afternoon and bought a lot of freezer items, like shrimp, pizzas, ice cream bars and a half gallon of vanilla for the Beast's milk shakes.  Duh!  **We were lucky that very little defrosting took place.  Partly due to the big container of ice in the ice maker section, I think.  Even that showed very little thawing because I refused to open it even to
    check.
     
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I decided after many years of keeping my hair short to let it grow out.  The big problem is the *I can't do anything with it*-stage you go through.  I don't dare go to a hairdresser because I KNOW what they will do.  They will want to even it out or *give it some shape* and that would send me into a totally different frame of mind very quickly.  I just have to suffer through it and snip here or there when pieces of it won't *fit*.  Most of the time, I wouldn't care but I have to fly down to Florida for a wedding next month.  Oh well.  They will have to take me as I am, won't they?

    No woman is every happy with their hair.  If it's curly, they yearn for straight (hence the development of straighteners).  If it's straight, they want curly hair (hence permanents came into being).  Mine, unfortunately, looks like finger waves which hasn't been *in style* since Flappers were around.  That was like in the 20's during Prohibition days. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    When I was young and had very long hair, I used to use 3" in diameter curlers to help *straighten* my hair.  If I didn't use a hair dryer (and that was only at a salon), it took a full weekend for my hair to dry.  I had to wear them and put a scarf over them if I had to go outside.  That was an accepted practice pretty much everywhere at the time.  I slept in those things with the bristles sticking into my head and all.

    I bought some of what passes for hair rollers these days and they are NOTHING in comparison.  I actually had 2-inch ones in my hair and slept easily on them.  Couldn't feel a single bristle because there are none on them.  The girls that use them these days have no idea what suffering for beauty really was like for us *old folks*. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I have to admit that there have been huge improvements in makeup compared to what was available back then.  I fell in love with those mineral makeups that are out.  They are FANTASTIC!  Once you get used to using them correctly, they are amazing.   Love them, love them, love them.  It looks like you have nothing on and yet your skin looks even textured and shaded. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    It ended up cooler today than they told us it would be but wasn't all that bad.  But the morning was so chilly that the Beast actually turned on the heat for a while.  I spent it bundled up until my feet got warm.    Those are usually the last part of me to warm up.  Tomorrow is supposed to be better and I sure hope so.  I will have Chewlee longer than usual and I hope to be able to let her play outside.    No word yet on where the new site is going to be although I am hoping that to find that out soon if I am expected to pick her up every day.  I need to figure out how long a drive it's going to be for me so I know when I need to leave the house.

    The baby surprised me today by eating two White Castle hamburgers (the frozen ones from the grocery store, unfortunately) when I was nuking some for me and the Beast.  I made two for her and she ate them both and then actually ate half of one of mine.  I made two more in case she wanted another whole one but she was full by then.  She only wanted some ice cream after that so I gave her half of an ice cream sandwich.  She was so involved watching her cartoon show that some of it dripped on her top and she got upset.  I cleaned it off but she ran into the bedroom and got herself a new, clean top out of the drawer where I keep some extra clothes for her.  She wouldn't have it any other way than I should change it for her.  All-in-all, it was a good day with her.

    Love you all and I wish you a great day.  Tomorrow is the viewing for The Boy's Mother so he and Bratfink will be at the funeral home all afternoon.  Well, Bratfink will but she will probably go back home while The Boy stays there for a few additional hours.  Pray for them both.  Tomorrow (today) and Friday will be hard for them.