Month: August 2011

  • Some Scary News Today

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I got a call from the Cousin's wife this morning.  It seems the Cousin had surgery yesterday for bladder cancer.    The first thought I had was *OMG!  Just like the Beast!*  His doctor did the chemo on him this morning, however.  He wasn't going to wait after removing three tumors from the bladder.  What is so strange is the doctor didn't think there was more than one small one in there from his original exam but they were coated with something or other.  The Cousin was catheterized after surgery because he wasn't able to relieve his bladder after surgery.  Plus, the doctor wanted to do the same kind of chemo that the Beast got.

    The Cousin's wife wasn't aware that the Beast had to go through that for six weeks.  I got the phone number for the Cousin at the hospital and gave it to the Beast so he could call him.  His first words to his cousin were, *You copycat!  I can think of a lot of other things you could have copied if you had only asked!*

    The thing that struck us all was that the Brother should probably go in to a urologist and be checked.  This seems to be a family thing.  The Beast and the Cousin have always been close....like brothers, actually....and his mother and the Beast's father were siblings.  The father didn't suffer from this that we know about but so much was not told to us.  We do know he had some major kidney problems and who knows?  It might have been related.

    So prayers for the Cousin, please.  He has, however, decided that if the bladder needs to be removed and he has to have a permanent bag, he will do it.  That's partly because of his wife's condition.  She has had an amputation (years ago) due to a wound on her leg that got some kind of rare infection.  She has had a cancerous tumor in her neck removed.  She had pharmaceutical leukemia at one point.    Her hair turned completely white!  When they finally got that under control and she recovered, her hair actually came back in her natural brown.  I was a bit surprised.

    She developed an allergy to ALL anesthesia medications.  They even tried some that were in development but it causes her heart to stop and they had a hard time reviving her.  She developed osteoporosis over the years and when she fell a couple months ago, she injured her hip.  If she could be operated on, they would give her a new hip but they can't.  She's now unable to walk without falling with her prosthesis so they have put her permanently in an electric wheelchair.  **Sigh**  That's what the Cousin deals with and he says they both can't be *out of it* so he will do what he must.  Very different attitude from the Beast.

    Love you all.  The Princess was sick today so she didn't work and I didn't get Chewlee.  I took advantage of that and just rested once again.  The Beast pretty much did the same but he will be busy around here tomorrow again.  Take care of yourselves.  Don't neglect your health.  Even though the Cousin knew all the details of the Beast's problems, he still chose to ignore the blood in his urine until it was copious.  Don't be foolish.  Get your butts into the doctor at the first sign that anything is out of the ordinary.  Life is short enough. 

  • The Big And Little Beasts Are Back

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    True to his word, the Beast and Baron came home today.  The trip to the lawyer's was because the brother is suing the nasty neighbor.  I'm not going into all the details here right now but one part of it is because of him shooting at the Brother's dogs from his roof and the Brother GOT PICTURES! 

    I had talked to the Beast earlier and asked him to pick me up a couple things when he stopped at Publix for his usual breads and lunchmeats.  No problem except........I really, really needed the gauze and he didn't get it.  What he got was some ouchless tape that happens to look like gauze.  I kid you not.  Why don't men READ the labels.  It was just because it was next to a big box of gauze that the Beast thought was way too big for what I wanted and this was right next to it so he thought *perfect!* and grabbed it.  I could have done without the regular tape or even the peroxide but I really needed the gauze.  And, of course, I STILL don't have any so I will be cutting pieces of the clean cloth I was using for a while and using that after my shower later.  **Sigh**

    Baron was exhausted and has spent most of the time since they got home asleep.  The Beast said that he really was almost constantly playing rough with his two female cousins.  The older dog is an Alpha female type and Baron is an Alpha male so you can imagine how competitive they are.  They were either chasing the frisbee when thrown or both fighting over it.  The Brother also has a lot of rope toys that they would be yanking each other all over while they had it in their teeth.  I told the Beast he might be very, very glad to be home and living with two old people now. 

    The Beast brought home some of the good bologna and some great Virginia ham for sandwiches.  He got the Chicago Italian bread, of course, and some 5-grain Italian bread.  They are both good for different reasons but I sure hate picking all those seeds out of my teeth and from UNDER them, too.  Chewlee will be happy when she comes tomorrow to find out her world is back the way she expects it to be with the Beast and Baron at home.

    I had a very bad foot day today and I know why, of course.  I did too much around here the past few days.  I keep doing that whenever I start to feel better.  The trouble is there is so much that has gone undone while I have been laid up.  At one point, my foot was so swollen and hurting so bad, I told Bratfink I had to get it up and I truly disappeared for about 3-1/2 hours as I recall it.  I got the foot comfortable finally and I think I passed out just from relief!  The Beast opened my door to check on me (and say good night I think) and woke me up or I might not have gotten up for a while longer.

    Love you all.  At least I had one good day that I actually enjoyed and I DID get a lot done no matter that I am paying for it now.  Hope you are having a good week so far.  Tomorrow (today) is Hump Day!  Enjoy...the week is half over.  **Grin**  Drive carefully.  Smile a lot.  Love fiercely and be sure to tell those you love that you do.  Life is short and getting shorter every day. 

  • Busy Day....Alone!!!

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I decided to wait until around 7:30-8 am and then call the Beast to see where he was and what he was doing.  I didn't want to be surprised with him suddenly showing up.  I was tired and cranky because my feet and legs kept me up all night and I hadn't slept at all.  I got no answer when I called but about 5 minutes later, my phone rang and it was the Beast.  I had woken him up and he sounded tired.  I told him I just wondered when he was planning on heading back down here and he said on Tuesday (tomorrow).  HURRAH!!!!  I DO get a day to myself.  **Grin**  I told him to go back to bed and he said he was going to.  Everyone was asleep at his brother's house still so he was going to join them.  Then he said something weird.  He said *The Brother and I are going to see the lawyer today and that's why I can't leave until tomorrow anyway.*  He said it like I knew all about it but I guess I have to wait until he gets home to find out what that is all about.  I have a suspicion it's about the next door neighbor who is old, nuts and should be in some sort of home or hospital situation where he can't be around people without strict supervision.  He's really and truly nuts.  His wife left him because he won't take his medicine and he becomes nasty and abusive to everyone.

    When he was ordered by the court to take down an illegal radio tower he had on his property, he finally (after many citations) tried to take it down with his pickup and some chains.  It came down on the Brother's house and damaged his roof and his deck.  The old man's reaction?  The Brother deserved it because it was HIS fault the tower had to come down (not true, it was the electric company's suit).  The man hates dogs and the Brother has two.  One of the reasons the Brother finally fenced his yard (beside encroachment by the neighbor which forced him to obtain a survey) was so the old man couldn't shoot his dogs.  One of the dogs WAS shot about a year ago and they couldn't prove it was the old man but EVERYONE in the neighborhood knew.  Luckily, it was more a graze although the bullet (.22 caliber) was removed from just under the skin.  Neither of the dogs are bad dogs and the youngest one, although frisky, is a real sweetheart.  She's the one that was shot.  Jerk!

    I suspect/hope that the Brother is going to sue the old man and I hope he's successful.  He's sorry he can't just get the old man put into psychiatric care....confined psychiatric care.  That would solve the whole neighborhood's problems with him.  He spreads his charms around.  An equal opportunity curmudgeon.

    I finally got my medicare supplemental insurance card, which made me relax since I was worried about that.  My appointment with the orthopedic doctor is almost 10 days away even though I told the nurse all about my injuries and boo-boos.  She said he was overbooked but she would call me if there was a cancellation so I'm kind of stuck there.  I am seriously thinking about changing my regular doctor.  He's young and isn't really up to taking care of older patients.  I'm very torn over that since it's not easy changing a doctor once you are kind of used to them.  I just feel that this is the second time he just hasn't done what he should have.

    So today I worked on the carpeting here in my computer room.  I made up the bed in the guest room.  No clean sheets since it's only Chewlee that will be using it right now and that's only on occasion.  If I get real company, I have clean sheets in one of the dresser drawers and I can take care of that in just a few minutes.  I also finally got some sleep when I was exhausted from vacuuming both rugs.  I fell down on my bed, pulled the blanket over me and went out like a light.  I only slept for four hours but they were a wonderful four hours.  I'll go to sleep early tonight, I'm sure.

    I have to figure out something for the Beast to eat once he gets home because he always refuses to stop and figures I'll take care of him when he gets here.  Maybe I'll be a stinker and just make some split pea soup using the Denmark ham he bought.  Split pea is not his favorite (it's mine) but he will eat it once it's made.   

    Love you all.  Hope you are all doing okay and are safe.  I understand there are a couple more storms out there on the Atlantic.  **Shudder**  Who knows what is ahead for us with those.  Say a little prayer. 

  • Have You Ever......?

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Have you ever been kept awake during the night by thoughts that keep streaming through your mind and you can't stop them?  I read that exercise will help stop that.  The saying is:  to tire the mind, exercise the body.  To tire the body, exercise the mind (read, for example).  I've tried the exercise thing but it doesn't work for me.  Guess I just don't use the right exercises.  You would think lifting a filled glass or mug countless times would work.  Especially if it's got some heavy alcohol in it.  **Grin**  Just kidding.

    Have you ever been awoken by the feeling that you were not alone.  And I don't mean the snoring body next to you.  It's the kind of hair on the back of your neck standing up feeling that someone (or something) is in your room with you, uninvited.  I was awakened one night by someone touching my toes (the injured ones).  At first I thought I was nuts and it was just nerves in the toes themselves but then it felt like someone (or something) PINCHED my toes.  Scared the hell out of me and I told IT to *cut it out because they were sore*.  It stopped but sleep for me was out until the sun started coming up.

    I know this area was once part of a farm and it makes me wonder if we might have some spirits tied to the land that aren't ready to leave it.  It would explain a few odd things that have happened around here.  I haven't mentioned it to the Beast because he is too practical minded to consider such things regardless if it happened to hm.  He would ignore it or find some other reason for whatever happened that was more acceptable.  Oh well.

    Have you ever been up very late at night and started thinking deep thoughts?  I mean about such things as aliens, God, angels, the Devil, religion, politics, finance, lord knows there are enough things that we sometimes DON'T take the time to think about.  I've often sat and thought about things like death, afterlife, rebirth, past lives....true or not true?  How could we possibly know?  Aliens....did they help build the pyramids and some of the massive structures found in South America?  Many of them we couldn't duplicate today with all our technology.  It's definitely food for deep thoughts.

    Other times I have thought about my kids and their lives.  My missing and lost daughter that we only know is alive because Buttmunch has friends that see her on occasion or else she is listed on the sheriff's page as being in jail.  That's depressing and makes me so sad because of all the things she is missing and will never know.  She chose drugs over family and friends.  Even after becoming clean of drugs when she is in jail, she can't wait to get them again as soon as she is released.  It's a tragedy and we had to practice tough love with her because she was robbing us blind.  I did so much more for her than my other kids because I thought she could be saved.  It was hard for me to admit defeat.  More difficult than anyone can imagine because she was my oldest, the golden child that could have done so many wonderful things if she had chosen differently.  When I get into that state, it's very difficult for me to shake it off.  But I am learning. 

    I think I am going to stop here.  There are lots of things I am sure we all do at times that also are dumb or stupid.  Wow!  Have *I* done those.  That will be fodder for another post.  Love you all. 

  • Two Days Off....LOL

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    When Chewlee finally went home tonight, I thought *ahh, now I have two days free!*  But I am wrong.  I am pretty sure the Beast is going to show up tomorrow so it means I haven't had one single free day since he left.  Unless I am wrong and he doesn't come home until Tuesday. 

    When Tara showed up with the two older boys, the boys headed right out back to check out the garden.  She, bless her heart, gave me a hand in changing the bed linens.  While we were doing it, I was struck by the fact that it was so different from when the Beast helps me out.  A woman knows how to make a bed the right way and with little fuss.  A man, no matter how often he might do it, always seems a little bit unsure of himself.  We made the bed in probably just three or four minutes.  Zip! Zip! Zip!  It was a real pleasure and tonight....clean sheets for me.  Alone.  No dog hairs included. 

    When Chewlee got here, both Tara and I tried to get her to go outside while the boys were out there checking the garden.  She refused and told me she didn't like boys.  Big boys.  I told her that would change but these boys were her cousins.  She told me she only liked her little cousins.  That made both me and Tara laugh.  She even hid behind my chair when the boys came in to say goodbye and ask about a few of the items they had in the bags.  I let them take them all, including the one eggplant and green pepper because Tara is going to try making salsa like mine.  I gave her the recipe for it and told her if she had a problem, just give me a call.  The boys were eager for her to try it.  I told her since she wasn't going to be canning it, it would stay okay to eat for three weeks in the fridge.  Hell, it won't last three days with those boys. 

    After Tara and the boys left, Chewlee became herself once again.  I put her programs on in the living room.  She loves watching *papa's* TV whenever she can.  The Princess ended up working late due to a large party that came in late so Chewlee really enjoyed that.  She tried to get me to let her take a bath but I told her she wasn't dirty enough for a bath.  She took one late yesterday, slept here all night, then went shopping with her mother before she ate lunch and then came back here.  She didn't go outside anywhere so....no bath.  First she tried to tell me she didn't take a bath here but I reminded her that she was sitting in the bathtub and watching papa's TV at the same time.  Every time I got in her way, she yelled that she couldn't see and wanted me to get out of the way.  She remembered then.....or stopped pretending she didn't remember the bath.

    I made up some of the frozen veggies for my dinner and she kept saying I was eating dog food because we give Baron the same veggies.  I told her that Baron was eating *people* food, not me eating dog food but she said she was going to tell papa that I ate some of Baron's dog food.  Once she gets an idea in her head,  you can't get it out without dynamite.  It also meant she would NOT eat any of the veggies with her dinner.  That was two hot dogs and some blueberries.  Today she told me she didn't like vegetables anymore.  This is the kid that used to eat a whole can of green beans or corn if you would let her.  Now she doesn't like them.  I had a pork loin sandwich on pumpernickel bread.  Delish!  I also had blueberries (as Chewlee put it...we SHARED).  She does love fruit.  I'm going to have to have the Beast pick up some chicken nuggets for her to change her diet a bit.  We also need some french fries in the house.  I like them too because I can fry them up in the good grease.  **Grin**  Bad for cholesterol but the taste!.....Oh, the taste!  Heaven.  I prefer the dinner fries.  Chewlee likes them, too. 

    Chewlee decided that she was tired of watching her TV without me there and came into my room saying, *Come here, Grandma.  I want to show you something special!*  She stood in the doorway and her hand waved me towards her.  I got up, followed her into the living room where she sat on Papa's recliner on one side and patted the chair for me to sit down next to her saying, *You need to sit here with me and watch TV with me, Grandma.  If you don't like the program, just close your eyes.  I'll share my blanket with you.*  When I sat down, I discovered that the Beast's chair is a bit wider than mine.  I kid you not.  I was very surprised because Chewlee and I fit easily on it without having to sit on the arm.

    When I noticed the porch light was off, I started to get up but she pushed me back down and said she would turn it on for her mother.  She ran over, switched the light on and ran back to make sure I stayed where I was.  She leaned into my chest and said, *I love you, Grandma.*  She actually did it a couple times while we sat there.  When I reminded her that I was talking to Auntie Bratfink and hadn't told her I was sitting with Chewlee, she finally let me get up so I could talk to Auntie Bratfink.  She told me *You have to come back here if she goes to lay down, though, promise?*  I told her of course I would but I knew Bratfink wasn't ready to go lay down yet.

    Shortly thereafter, the Princess showed up.  She looked really, really tired.  She was really annoyed that she had to stay (the owner wanted her to stay) and this other girl, who always seems to get to go home early, got to leave.  I told her there are benefits to having the owner like you and she just threw me this look that said she really didn't care at this point.

    I'm going to throw a few things in to wash.  Most of it is Chewlee's stuff and a few of my things.  I'll do the rest of the wash tomorrow before it becomes humongous.  I'm trying hard to ignore the pain in my feet but I think I am due to go to the doctor's and see what the hell is really going on with my feet.  I'm actually going to FINALLY call the orthopedic doctor that I have used before and let him take a look at what's what.  I'm just hoping I get my supplemental insurance card before I go.  They said 5-7 days but who knows? 

    Love you all and I hope no one was affected badly by the storms.  I've prayed for everyone and I see by the news that none of the storm surges were all that bad.  However, damage is damage.  May any you've suffered be small and insured. 

  • We Have A Good Night

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Chewlee spent the night.  After taking her bath and then I dressed her in just a top and panties since I didn't have pajamas for her.  She was so upset by the fact that her top didn't cover her panties that she went and got a pair of shorts out of the drawer so no one could see them.  I laughed and told her it was just her and me there so who would see them except us?  She just gave me a look that said it was HER underwear and HER decision.  I brushed her hair and it was dry by the time I put her to bed.  She didn't want to go (it was 10pm) and cried, calling for her mommy.  I didn't relent and, as soon as I covered her, the crying stopped.  She called me back a couple minutes later because I forgot to kiss her goodnight.  I kissed her, recovered her up and she turned on her side for sleeping.  When I checked her five minutes later, she was sound asleep.  I knew she was tired because, although she had stayed quiet, she had NOT taken her nap.

    I went to bed early for me although lately my bedtimes are getting earlier and earlier.  **Sigh**  I had a bit of a back of the knee cramping problem at first that got me back up for about an hour.  But when I went back to bed, I fell asleep until Chewlee woke me up around 7:30am.  She wanted me to turn on cartoons for her.    I got up and went and laid down on my recliner.  I knew the Princess was coming to get Chewlee in the morning but I will have her back later.  When she got here and asked Chewlee if she had fun with Grandma, Chewlee told her yes and then went on the hunt for her shoes.

    Tara was supposed to be here around 1pm to give me a hand with a couple things but, of course, she's late as usual.  You have to figure that she's going to be at the very least an hour late no matter what time you either tell her or she tells you.    The last few times, however, she hasn't shown up until late afternoon.  I hope that's not the case today because Chewlee will be back in about an hour and she will make doing a couple things more difficult. 

    Love you all.  Just a short one for now.  More later. 

  • Kids Can Be Such Fun

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Tara came by today with her offerings of all kinds of amazing bakery stuffs.  My tummy rumbled while my head said, *What the hell are you thinking????*    Two different but very tasty type muffins and some pumpernickel bread.  I LOVE pumpernickel and it's going to taste great with the pork loin roast, sliced up nice and thin.

    She had Chance with her and he and Chewlee had a ball! playing together.  They made imaginary cookies and shared with us and then made up some imaginary strawberry drink and shared.  Chewlee decided we were going to celebrate a birthday and it became Chance's.  I had to tell him Happy Birthday.  He grinned and laughed and they then decided to color.  I had a few complaints about him hiding the crayons in his socks and his mouth but kids will be kids.  Then they decided to play roll the ball everywhere.  I just thought it was so cute how Chance, who is only two or so, went along with his cousin and they were having a ball.  When Tara yelled at him to stop running in the house, both the kids got on tip-toe and did that rapid tip-toe walk like only kids can do and it had me falling on the floor, laughing.  Tara ran to the store for my and by the time she got back (she was only gone maybe 10-15 minutes), Chance had put himself down in the guest bed and was ready for his nap.  Tara had to assure him he could take his nap in his own bed before he finally got up happy.  He's such a cutie pie and the two kids are really cute playing together.

    Tara is bringing the boys over tomorrow to help pick more tomatoes off the vines for me and check the remaining garden before they water it.  She's coming by in the afternoon with the boys and I told her she gets to keep some of the tomatoes.  I gave her some of my homemade salsa and she said the boys scarfed it down and said they loved it.  I figure I'll give them some more tomorrow when they come. 

    Chewlee gave me a hard time about laying down and taking HER nap.  I told her I would take a nap with her and she finally gave in.  She at least stayed down and quiet. 

    The Beast finally called me to tell me he got in okay.  I told him I figured that since the cops never called.  He then tried to say he was held up by the hurricane and I laughed and said, *Did you drive there via North Carolina or Virginia?*  I have to say that I was amazed at how quickly the hurricane moved. I'm also flabbergasted at how the states affected have rallied to the challenges.  They've evacuated willingly and moved to shelters inland.  There are a few holdouts, of course.  There always are.  Sad but true.  I hope what they have done is enough.  I've been through enough hurricanes to know what's ahead.

    Love you all and I need to go and figure out what to do with the tomatoes I already have.  I was trying to get Tara to take more than she did but that didn't work.    If you are in the path of the hurricane, please be safe.  Take necessary precautions and check on any elderly friends and neighbors.  Take care of your pets so they are safe too.  Remember, they can't go to shelters.  See what services might be available locally to take care of them.  Turn on your local news and find out what you need to bring with you to any shelter locally.  Please be safe. 

     

  • P.S.........

    A small note....the Beast should have been at his brother's about three hours ago.  No phone call.  I refuse to call to see if he made it there all right.  I'm going to assume he did and wait for his embarrassed call to me, probably tomorrow morning.  HE will be calling to see if I am up.  I won't be if I can help it.  I'll have the phone next to me.  LOL

  • He's On The Road Again!

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The Beast got up just as I was making a pot of coffee for the morning.  He really looked enthused....NOT!  I laughed at him and told him to make himself a bowl of cereal or something.  It helps wake you up.  I know he would have slept longer if not for knowing he was heading for his brother's.  Baron surprised me and slept all night on his bed.  I fully expected him to be on the bed this morning but he never moved all night.

    The Beast finally made up some cigarettes for himself and then put the cigarette maker, his tobacco and tubes in the trunk along with the dog's water bowl.  He almost forgot to throw a bottle of water in until I reminded him.  I had him put the rings for Sheepie and my other granddaughter in the mailbox for the mailman to pick up.  I think I overpaid on the postage but that's better than not having enough.  At least they will both have their rings shortly.  Aimee will know it's for her birthday, although late but I expect a call from Sheepie as to why I sent her one.  I felt bad that she tried to hide the fact from me that her stepsister snarfed up the ring I had given her the first Christmas she spent with us after we found her.  If she hadn't told the Princess, I would never have known.  I would have thought she didn't like the ring.

    It was just about 9am when the Beast finally left.  He still had to stop at the ATM to get some cash for the trip but that's a quickie stop.  He told me he was going to take it easy on his way up.  I told him to be careful.  I just hope the weather is good all the way there.  He's bad in bad weather.  He scares the shit out of me in that.  We damn near drove right into a tornado because he's one of those drivers that keeps driving no matter how bad it is outside.  He will keep driving even when he can't see.  I end up cringing down in my seat, about ready to pee my pants.  When I am driving and run into that kind of weather, I pull off the road and wait for it to pass.  Not macho man!  It's really why I hate to travel with him.  I drive to Chicago myself and stop overnight at Buttmunch's because she usually comes with me from Louisville to Chicago. 

    Sometimes I stop off and pick up Bratfink, too, on our way and we take some interesting back roads to get to my sister-in-laws house.  But now Bratfink's health isn't good enough.  When I go up next year, and I am determined to go, I will at least stop by to see the new house and visit for a bit.  Who knows?  Perhaps by then Bratfink's health may improve.  You just never know.

    I told the Beast to call me when he gets to his brother's house.  We'll see if he does.  He doesn't have a good track record there.    If anything interesting happens to me the rest of the day, I'll be sure to let you know later.  Be good.  Love you all and I hope you are having a greet day. 

  • The Beast Packs His Stuff For His Trip

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The Beast finally vacuumed out the car, brought in the dog's blanket to be washed and dried and cleaned the windows.  Lord knows they sure needed it.  Baron had both back windows smeared with his nose snot or whatever it is that makes that mess.  It was my first clue that he had decided he was leaving early on Friday morning.  I was glad to see he had finally made a decision.  I think he might have even gone to see AM but...she is going to Dover next week for some reason or other.  She has friends that live all over the country so it could be for any reason.  She also is still trying to complete her bucket list and see the places she hasn't seen that she has wanted to see.

    Chewlee is having a hard time imagining his going on a trip without me or her.  Ever since we took her with us to AM's birthday party last year (was it only last year?  wow!), she thinks she should go with US all the time.    I told her that he had gone away without either of us before, she just didn't remember it.  The fact that Baron won't be here made her be extra nice to him tonight, too.  Every time I looked, she had all four of our pillows off our bed and either tucked around Baron or he was laying all over them.  I got pissed off the second time and yelled at her for it.  She told me she was just making it *nice* for Baron because he didn't have any pillows.  He never will either.  If he gets a pillow he knows is his, he eats it.  Well, not eats it but he will eat into it and shred it apart.  In a heartbeat and always, always, when we aren't watching him.  He gets NO stuff animals.  You know those toys they advertise for dogs on TV?  The ones with no stuffing?   Makes no difference to him, he shredded his apart to get at the squeaker inside it.

    Now he gets only things like his pigs ears, those chewy bones and rawhide bones.  That's it!  As it is, when they get down to almost nothing, I have to throw them away or he starts hiding them.  He doesn't intend to finish them off but he hides them like they are some kind of treasure.  Nutty dog.  Just about as bad as his master.

    When the Beast went to our local Petsmart, he said there was some dog there (he had no idea what breed it was) that wanted a piece of Baron.  Baron wasn't being held since the Beast hadn't seen the other dog and had dropped the leash.  He always does because Baron is so well-behaved in there.  He's never so much as eaten one of the biscuits that are in easy reach.  It's like he KNOWS.  He will stand in front of something he's interested in having and turn his head towards the Beast until he notices.  The people that work there know Baron very well.  Anyway, Baron usually ignores an aggressive dog until they back off.  This one, however, Baron got into his Doberman stance, hairs on his back straight up and the most vicious growl out of his mouth that the Beast had heard but.....he stood his ground and didn't attack.  The other dog?  He was trying to get at Baron and only held back by his master.  The clerks made them leave.  After the dog was out of the door, Baron was his normal sweet-natured self again.  Amazing.

    Baron knows he is going away because he suddenly wants to spend a little time with me.  He doesn't do it quite like this except the day before they are leaving.  He will be extraordinarily calm as the Beast loads his water bowl and dried dog food into the trunk but....as soon as the Beast pours his coffee into his travel mug, he will be at the door and ready to load himself into the car.    The dog loves to travel.  I think it's partly because even the first time we had him in the car, bringing him home from the breeder's, it was a 2-1/2 hour drive.  We stopped, watered him, took him for a walk and had to stop to get something for us to eat.  He stayed in the car, resting quietly on the floor.  The Beast checked on him several times.  Whenever he could, the Beast would take him with him on rides to places like the bank, KFC, the gas station, etc.  Places where he wouldn't be out of the car or not for long, anyway.  He went everywhere with us even though there were a few times I wanted to leave him boarded with the vet.  We boarded him ONCE.  **Sigh**  I'm not sure who missed who more, the dog or the Beast.

    When the Beast was in the hospital for his surgery last time, the Beast came out of the anesthesia and was worried about me leaving Baron at home alone for too long.  I actually had to yell at him to *grow up*.  I told him the damn dog is secondary to HIS needs and he's big enough and old enough to manage a few ours without us there.  Sheesh! 

    Time to go take my bath, which is probably getting cold right now.  I ran it after Chewlee left.  She got hers earlier.  She had a bath last night but her mother never washed her hair and it was really gnarly.  She took her bath then called me in when she was all done playing so I could *help her* wash her hair.  It needed creme rinse tonight and she really loves the feel of that so she gave me a hard time about rinsing it out.  I let her play again for a bit afterward and she finally said she was ready to get out.  When she was dressed, we ate dinner (a late one).  I had made a nice pork roast which she thought was chicken and I let her think it.  All she seems to like is chicken.  I cut it up and she ate like a little pig.  She told me she doesn't like peas after she had a few (???).  Who doesn't like peas?  When she ate her first piece of the pork roast, she rubbed her tummy and said, *Yummy chicken!  My favorite!*  The Beast shot me a look and I explained when she ran out of the room to check on what program was on my TV.  He just laughed at that.

    Now I'm SURE I'll have to warm up my bath...LOL.  I did one other thing to help the Beast be ready for his trip.  I gave him a haircut, which turned out good, as usual.  The clippers came with great instructions and has paid for itself with the haircuts I've given him over the past few months.  As fast as his hair grows, it's a money saver (especially with the way HE can spend money). 

    Love you all and I hope you are having some decent weather.  It's been really hot here and the nights don't cool down all that great but we are nice and cool here in our air conditioning.  Hope you are keeping cool, too.