August 27, 2011

  • Kids Can Be Such Fun

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Tara came by today with her offerings of all kinds of amazing bakery stuffs.  My tummy rumbled while my head said, *What the hell are you thinking????*    Two different but very tasty type muffins and some pumpernickel bread.  I LOVE pumpernickel and it’s going to taste great with the pork loin roast, sliced up nice and thin.

    She had Chance with her and he and Chewlee had a ball! playing together.  They made imaginary cookies and shared with us and then made up some imaginary strawberry drink and shared.  Chewlee decided we were going to celebrate a birthday and it became Chance’s.  I had to tell him Happy Birthday.  He grinned and laughed and they then decided to color.  I had a few complaints about him hiding the crayons in his socks and his mouth but kids will be kids.  Then they decided to play roll the ball everywhere.  I just thought it was so cute how Chance, who is only two or so, went along with his cousin and they were having a ball.  When Tara yelled at him to stop running in the house, both the kids got on tip-toe and did that rapid tip-toe walk like only kids can do and it had me falling on the floor, laughing.  Tara ran to the store for my and by the time she got back (she was only gone maybe 10-15 minutes), Chance had put himself down in the guest bed and was ready for his nap.  Tara had to assure him he could take his nap in his own bed before he finally got up happy.  He’s such a cutie pie and the two kids are really cute playing together.

    Tara is bringing the boys over tomorrow to help pick more tomatoes off the vines for me and check the remaining garden before they water it.  She’s coming by in the afternoon with the boys and I told her she gets to keep some of the tomatoes.  I gave her some of my homemade salsa and she said the boys scarfed it down and said they loved it.  I figure I’ll give them some more tomorrow when they come. 

    Chewlee gave me a hard time about laying down and taking HER nap.  I told her I would take a nap with her and she finally gave in.  She at least stayed down and quiet. 

    The Beast finally called me to tell me he got in okay.  I told him I figured that since the cops never called.  He then tried to say he was held up by the hurricane and I laughed and said, *Did you drive there via North Carolina or Virginia?*  I have to say that I was amazed at how quickly the hurricane moved. I’m also flabbergasted at how the states affected have rallied to the challenges.  They’ve evacuated willingly and moved to shelters inland.  There are a few holdouts, of course.  There always are.  Sad but true.  I hope what they have done is enough.  I’ve been through enough hurricanes to know what’s ahead.

    Love you all and I need to go and figure out what to do with the tomatoes I already have.  I was trying to get Tara to take more than she did but that didn’t work.    If you are in the path of the hurricane, please be safe.  Take necessary precautions and check on any elderly friends and neighbors.  Take care of your pets so they are safe too.  Remember, they can’t go to shelters.  See what services might be available locally to take care of them.  Turn on your local news and find out what you need to bring with you to any shelter locally.  Please be safe. 

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *