August 25, 2011

  • The Beast Packs His Stuff For His Trip

     

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The Beast finally vacuumed out the car, brought in the dog's blanket to be washed and dried and cleaned the windows.  Lord knows they sure needed it.  Baron had both back windows smeared with his nose snot or whatever it is that makes that mess.  It was my first clue that he had decided he was leaving early on Friday morning.  I was glad to see he had finally made a decision.  I think he might have even gone to see AM but...she is going to Dover next week for some reason or other.  She has friends that live all over the country so it could be for any reason.  She also is still trying to complete her bucket list and see the places she hasn't seen that she has wanted to see.

    Chewlee is having a hard time imagining his going on a trip without me or her.  Ever since we took her with us to AM's birthday party last year (was it only last year?  wow!), she thinks she should go with US all the time.    I told her that he had gone away without either of us before, she just didn't remember it.  The fact that Baron won't be here made her be extra nice to him tonight, too.  Every time I looked, she had all four of our pillows off our bed and either tucked around Baron or he was laying all over them.  I got pissed off the second time and yelled at her for it.  She told me she was just making it *nice* for Baron because he didn't have any pillows.  He never will either.  If he gets a pillow he knows is his, he eats it.  Well, not eats it but he will eat into it and shred it apart.  In a heartbeat and always, always, when we aren't watching him.  He gets NO stuff animals.  You know those toys they advertise for dogs on TV?  The ones with no stuffing?   Makes no difference to him, he shredded his apart to get at the squeaker inside it.

    Now he gets only things like his pigs ears, those chewy bones and rawhide bones.  That's it!  As it is, when they get down to almost nothing, I have to throw them away or he starts hiding them.  He doesn't intend to finish them off but he hides them like they are some kind of treasure.  Nutty dog.  Just about as bad as his master.

    When the Beast went to our local Petsmart, he said there was some dog there (he had no idea what breed it was) that wanted a piece of Baron.  Baron wasn't being held since the Beast hadn't seen the other dog and had dropped the leash.  He always does because Baron is so well-behaved in there.  He's never so much as eaten one of the biscuits that are in easy reach.  It's like he KNOWS.  He will stand in front of something he's interested in having and turn his head towards the Beast until he notices.  The people that work there know Baron very well.  Anyway, Baron usually ignores an aggressive dog until they back off.  This one, however, Baron got into his Doberman stance, hairs on his back straight up and the most vicious growl out of his mouth that the Beast had heard but.....he stood his ground and didn't attack.  The other dog?  He was trying to get at Baron and only held back by his master.  The clerks made them leave.  After the dog was out of the door, Baron was his normal sweet-natured self again.  Amazing.

    Baron knows he is going away because he suddenly wants to spend a little time with me.  He doesn't do it quite like this except the day before they are leaving.  He will be extraordinarily calm as the Beast loads his water bowl and dried dog food into the trunk but....as soon as the Beast pours his coffee into his travel mug, he will be at the door and ready to load himself into the car.    The dog loves to travel.  I think it's partly because even the first time we had him in the car, bringing him home from the breeder's, it was a 2-1/2 hour drive.  We stopped, watered him, took him for a walk and had to stop to get something for us to eat.  He stayed in the car, resting quietly on the floor.  The Beast checked on him several times.  Whenever he could, the Beast would take him with him on rides to places like the bank, KFC, the gas station, etc.  Places where he wouldn't be out of the car or not for long, anyway.  He went everywhere with us even though there were a few times I wanted to leave him boarded with the vet.  We boarded him ONCE.  **Sigh**  I'm not sure who missed who more, the dog or the Beast.

    When the Beast was in the hospital for his surgery last time, the Beast came out of the anesthesia and was worried about me leaving Baron at home alone for too long.  I actually had to yell at him to *grow up*.  I told him the damn dog is secondary to HIS needs and he's big enough and old enough to manage a few ours without us there.  Sheesh! 

    Time to go take my bath, which is probably getting cold right now.  I ran it after Chewlee left.  She got hers earlier.  She had a bath last night but her mother never washed her hair and it was really gnarly.  She took her bath then called me in when she was all done playing so I could *help her* wash her hair.  It needed creme rinse tonight and she really loves the feel of that so she gave me a hard time about rinsing it out.  I let her play again for a bit afterward and she finally said she was ready to get out.  When she was dressed, we ate dinner (a late one).  I had made a nice pork roast which she thought was chicken and I let her think it.  All she seems to like is chicken.  I cut it up and she ate like a little pig.  She told me she doesn't like peas after she had a few (???).  Who doesn't like peas?  When she ate her first piece of the pork roast, she rubbed her tummy and said, *Yummy chicken!  My favorite!*  The Beast shot me a look and I explained when she ran out of the room to check on what program was on my TV.  He just laughed at that.

    Now I'm SURE I'll have to warm up my bath...LOL.  I did one other thing to help the Beast be ready for his trip.  I gave him a haircut, which turned out good, as usual.  The clippers came with great instructions and has paid for itself with the haircuts I've given him over the past few months.  As fast as his hair grows, it's a money saver (especially with the way HE can spend money). 

    Love you all and I hope you are having some decent weather.  It's been really hot here and the nights don't cool down all that great but we are nice and cool here in our air conditioning.  Hope you are keeping cool, too.