May 26, 2012

  • Bad Day At Black Rock.....

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I have one medication I have to take every day that I just hate to take but must.  It's for the  neuropathy in my feet.  If I don't take it, my feet really become very tender and sensitive on the soles.  I can walk on them if I take it but it makes me want to nap....A LOT! 

    I didn't know that was a side effect of it although I did read about those back when I first started taking them.  I still don't recall anything being said like that but hey!  I'm an old person now.  But when I saw my GP two weeks ago, he mentioned that was a side effect because he said he didn't want to double up those pills just because of that.  However, even without doubling up, I have to take them three times a day and it's like they KEEP me tired. 

    Oh, I have some times when I feel wide awake and full of energy but that fades on me.  Today I wake up feeling nauseous and my stomach muscles hurt like I had slept on them badly.  The pain was external.  I was running a slight fever (two degrees) and I could barely keep my eyes open after being up just about an hour.  I spent most of my day sleeping off-and-on.  I just didn't feel good.  Then it hit me.  I hadn't taken my pills for my feet so I couldn't even blame them for that.  I also hadn't eaten so I had to fix that.  I didn't feel like breakfast any more but the Beast had the solution.  He came home from taking the dog to the park for a run with hamburgers from McDee's.  He got himself a big Mac but he knows I love just the regular hamburgers.  He also got me a vanilla shake which goes well with feeling nauseous.  Helped settle my stomach right down.  I ate one of the hamburgers and just a few french fries (he gets a large and we share) and I saved the other hamburger for my dinner.  Of that, I ate half and ended up giving the other half to Baron.  I just wasn't all that hungry.

    I've been drinking a LOT of water just because I don't feel well and it seems to help.  That means I am also going to the bathroom a lot and on my feet....which hurt like hell but it's getting better since I've taken two of the three pills I am supposed to take so far.  They really DO help and, when my feet are especially sensitive, I have my pain pills from the doctor I can take.

    That's been my day but I feel better now.  I'll put my butt to bed early (I hope) and I should be 100% tomorrow.  I get a week off from the Wound Center (the doctor is taking a few days off although he tried to BS me that it was because I was so much better :laughing) this week and will get my Chewlee back on Tuesday or Wednesday next week.  I feel like I've been on vacation!

    Love you all.  Have a fantastic weekend!  I'm going to try to talk the Beast into barbequing something.