March 24, 2010

  • More Plantings Going On Here....And It's ME Doing It!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Score another one for both Weatherbug and the weatherman today.  It was gorgeous out...and warm.  There wasn't even a lot of wind, either.  The Beast took Baron out for a good run at the park then stopped and bought him some more of the very pricey dog food we get for him.  Damn things run over $2. each.  The dog always impresses everyone that sees him because his coat always shines like it's been polished and he really IS impressive looking.  He's also very well mannered when he's in the store with the Beast.

    After that, the Beast grabbed a couple of his rifles and headed out to the state run firing range supposedly around Gadsden.  More about that later.  I decided to plant a couple of the strawberry plants I had here because the weather was so fantastic.  I put one in a hanging planter and another one in a big pot that I have on one of my plant stands.  The strawberries are in peat pots that I had been keeping moist.  I cut off the plastic that was kind of keeping it from falling apart and got busy. 

    First I mixed together some of the great coconut planting material that I had moistened with the potting soil and got the plants in place.  After that was done, I wet them down good with the hose (and with the Miracle Gro bottle attached to automatically add needed nutrients) and put them in place.

    After that, I pulled out all the old plant material in the window boxes that I didn't want/need.  I mixed the soil well to both loosen it and make it a bit easier for me to scatter and cover my Impatiens seeds.  Those then got watered well and set out into the sun.  One of them has my miniature roses in it that I had cut back and I can see some of the new growth on them.  The Impatiens will provide a backdrop in that box.  I'm going to look for some of the trumpet shaped flowers (there are many) that will attract the hummingbirds.  I like to have some natural food things around for them when I can.  I'll add those along with the Impatiens in the one window box and it should be pretty within just a couple weeks.

    The dog drives me nuts when I am doing things like planting.  He's got to get his big old nose right in there to see (and smell) what you are doing.  He's really as bad as a little kid.  I dumped some of the wet dirt/coconut mixture on his nose but he didn't seem to mind.  Nutty dog.  Must be a *guy* thing. 

    Talked to my sister, Cee today.  She called so she could put the wedding on her calendar and I got the reply out to say we would be attending.  I told her some of the Polish cousins would be coming to the wedding according to my cousin's wife.  I'm hoping her brother, Kenny, and his wife will be there.  I haven't seen his wife in ages.  I still haven't made my reservation to fly down there yet mainly because I haven't decided when I want to leave.  I don't want to leave TOO early because that would stress out Cee's hubby too much (although he seems to like visiting with me when I DO come to stay).  His health hasn't been good and I worry about that a lot.  I know Cee loves him and she is all he has left of family (along with us, of course). 

    His brothers are all dead now and the few kids of his one brother proved themselves to be not very nice people.  Enough so that their father cut them out of his will entirely.  I don't understand people sometimes.  How can kids not love their parents?  How can they be like sharks when they smell money or the possibility of it?  Even the Beast's sister proved her mettle when her mother died.  None of the boys will speak to her now.  It's just so sad sometimes.  That saying about money being the root of all evil?  It actually goes, *The LOVE of money is the root of all evil.*   I've seen what is meant by that on more than one occasion.

    I hate when Bratfink isn't online all day long.  I know the reason for it today (she's battling with the Boy and it's another way she will get under his skin) but I enjoy our bouts of conversation off-and-on during the day.  At least today I had other things to keep me occupied.  Tomorrow I have some shopping to do.  I won't do it using the truck if I don't have to.  Today the Beast had the car all day but I'll go early enough tomorrow to keep him from doing anything he might want to do. 

    I'm pretty sure he has plans to hit Lowe's for something or another since we will be having some great weather the next few days.  He will be thinking about his fruit trees and getting the lime put out.  That way, if we DO get rain this weekend, he'll be ready for it.

    Love you all.  Have a great day.  If you have good weather, try to get out and enjoy it for a little while.  It always makes ME feel great.  Hope it does the same for you.