March 23, 2010

  • WHO THE HELL ORDERED SNOW?


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The Beast woke up early today, around 5am or so.  He got up and made the first pot of coffee for the day and sat down at the table.  Imagine his surprise when he glanced over at the window and saw....snow on the table on the deck.    I know!  It was just a smattering of snow that quickly melted as soon as the sun came up.  It was, after all, 34 degrees when he got up and he was surprised ANY of it was on the table.  It continued to snow and was still snowing when I got up much later than he did (around 10:30am).  It snowed until around 2pm when the temperature climbed up to a whopping 48 degrees.    It stopped snowing but the day continued dismal and cool.

    The Beast fretted about his peach blossoms but finally settled down when I reminded him that it was too damn late if they were going to be affected.  He might as well just make up his mind that he has to wait and see what happens over the next couple of days.  Besides, all the buds had NOT opened up so he would still get fruit.  It was only the early peaches that had blossomed.  He admitted it was a bit late to worry but, since the temperature never dropped below 34 during the night (he had checked) he was probably going to be all right.  (HE was???)  Good lord but that man identifies too closely with those trees!

    Now get this!  Tomorrow will be sunny and temperatures in the mid-60's.  The low will be around 40.  The rest of the week is supposed to continue to be nice and temperatures up into the 70's.    The Beast has decided he's going to make that trip to the shooting range operated by the state down around Gadsden and get the information about the wildlife areas where he can hunt while he's checking it out.  He's hoping the range is a larger one where he can feel less claustrophobic.  The one he's been going to, although long enough, is rather cramped for the shooters. 

    Because they are so close together, you really CAN'T use just earplugs.  He was forced to buy regular ear protection *muffs* and he says you can feel the percussion from the shooter next to you, as well as still hear the noise of the recoil.  It's just quite a bit lower in volume.  When we used to shoot our black powder rifles and guns in Ft Lauderdale, it's was at a county run range that was darn near into the Everglades and we could get away with just regular ear plugs.

    I discussed it with the Beast today and he has decided he does not want to go to Florida with me to my cousin's son's wedding so I am going to make reservations and fly down there.  I'm hoping I can grab my sister Cee's couch to sleep on and stay with her and Baby Brat.  She IS going to have to pick my up from the airport so I have to check and make sure I can get a flight in at a good time for her.  I'll check it out online and call her to make sure of that before I book a flight.  I hope to be able to get a good fare since I am booking it almost two months beforehand.    We shall see.

    I made a totally disastrous (as far as cholesterol goes) dinner tonight.  I made pork chops, country gravy, mashed potatoes and asparagus.  It was delicious.  I also threw some brownies in to bake and even chopped up pecans for them.  I know walnuts are more traditional but I have pecans here, not walnuts.  I use what I have. 

    I have my list made up for picking up a few things we need at Walmart tomorrow.  I'm also going to pick up some lightweight canvas to allow the Beast to make himself a couple sandbags for shooting.  I'll have to sew them up, of course, but that way he will have them to prop his arms up on.  I have no idea if this is something he needs for the shooting range or if he's got some idea for when he goes hunting but he sure better think about it.  If he's going to have to lug a couple sandbags (albeit smaller) along with his rifle and whatever else, it's all going to help tire him out....fast!  It's not like he can hire someone to carry it all for him.  This is not going to be an African safari, after all.    At least, I sure hope not.

    The Beast brought home the new prescription from the doctor today.  They had to order it from their central warehouse I guess.  It's not something widely used and, even with insurance, it's a bit pricey.  It is actually a medication used primarily for arthritis but it was also found to have an unexpected use.  It helps clear up skin cancers without some of the bad effects that other creams have on the skin.  The Beast had found this out from his dentist, who used it for the same reason.  So he asked his doctor for a prescription for it.  After the doctor looked it up on his laptop, he wrote the prescription for it.  The Beast has to use it for 90 days and then see how things look from there.  He seems to be willing to do a lot of things to avoid going to the skin doctor we have here.  He knows that means burning those places with nitrogen and then there's the healing process afterward.  That's what he really hates.  It looks worse than the skin cancers do and he's always worried about Chewlee's reaction. 

    I told him she would want to bandage his *boo-boo's*.  She's got a soft heart that way.  She's always checking me out to make sure I don't have any.  If I do, she starts telling me I need a bandage as she looks me in the eye and is shaking her head *yes*.  She will always kiss it and pat me and ask if it feels better.   

    My son, Markus Aurelius and his wife, Cleo, close on their house this Friday.  To say they are both excited and terrified is kind of what's going on with them.  It's their first home after almost 18 years of marriage.  It's been a long time coming.  I'm excited for them.  I love the house from the pictures I've seen.  Of course, I like open floor plans and she's going to have lots of cabinets, a very modern kitchen and an island, too.  That's one thing I really miss in this house.  Just not possible here.  I know she will enjoy that kitchen.

    So here is where I will leave you for today.  I hope you had a better day than we did here.  If not, I feel for you.  Love you and let's all hope for a wonderful day tomorrow now that Spring is officially here.  Isn't that a laugh????  Oh well.  Be good, drive carefully and smile.  It doesn't wrinkle the face like a frown does.