March 25, 2010

  • Strange Day....But Warm! Warm! Warm!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I woke up early....8am, almost on the dot!   I got my butt out of bed and headed for coffee.  The Beast had been up since about 6am so he had finished a pot by himself and made a fresh one so my coffee didn't have to be nuked for a change.

    He was busy cleaning the guns he'd shot over the past three days.  I was kind of surprised he hadn't done it each day because he's like that.  He doesn't usually neglect that kind of thing, especially maintenance on his *newest* toys.

    What he intended to do, as he explained to me, was take one of them completely apart and put it back together again.  That made me pause because the Beast has never done anything like that.  He skipped the military because at the time he might have been drafted, married men were exempt.  So...no military experience doing things like taking apart a rifle.

    He actually did it and got it back together.    No one was more surprised than HE was. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I love being able to go out on our deck still in my pajamas.  I carried out my coffee and we finally decided where the rose bush can go without it creating a major mowing problem.  Although I had thought about putting it in a different spot altogether, I decided I would put it alongside the barn.  I can add more rosebushes there and it won't cause more problems because the Beast has to use the weed-whacker there anyway. 

    He's out there digging the hole for it now so that will finally be taken care of.  It's almost 70 degrees right now and the day is just perfect.  I still have to water the seeds that I put out because they are barely below the surface and need to be kept moist to properly germinate.  At least it just takes a light shower for those.  I don't have to worry about anything else at the moment, thankfully.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Beast UNordered the sandbags for the moment.  He only wanted them for the *other* gun range, which I said I would tell you about later.  Well, later is TODAY.    He put the address into the GPS for it that was posted on the internet site and he had the foresight to jot down the CPS coordinates for it, also.  That's due to some experience with sites that give those.  It means their *address* might not quite work out well.  As it was in this case. 

    The address took him into the town of Gadsden and then to the east of it.  He got to the area and.....nothing.  So he typed in the GPS coordinates and it said the location was another 26 miles away.    So he decided, from the looks of the area, that it was going to be one of those remote sites.  Since he hadn't left early enough in the day to make the trip, spend times talking and then shooting and make it back here in a timely manner, that he would put it off for another day. Especially when you consider they mention the fact that it abuts one of the areas that is used for hunting.  As he said, he has several months before he has to actually worry about that.

    We did get into a discussion of what to do with the deer if he actually shot one.  I mentioned that we need to find a person locally that does the actually butchering and packaging of the meat.  He stated the obvious....there should be someone or several someones in this area that do that since hunting is a big deal here.  I told him I intended to ask Johnnycakes about it.  As I mentioned before, if he doesn't know, his dad surely will.

    The Beast said he had asked about what people normally do with the meat and he was told they mostly just have it ground up.  I know some friends of ours in Minnesota love deer meat salami (and we had it...it's a bit greasy but delicious).  It's just what the Beast loves in salami...the greasier, the better.  No wondering why HIS cholesterol is so high, is there?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Poor Beast is going through another *pizza* craving and our favorite pizza place was closed.  What did he settle for?   French toast!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I've been waiting for the Beast to change two lightbulbs in the laundry area for over a week now.  When I first noticed they were out, he said he would take care of it.  I got tired of waiting so I got up on my little step ladder today and discovered I apparently don't have the *key* to getting the cover off it.  I asked the Beast what the trick was when he got home from whereverthehell he was and he said, *Oh.  I'll take care of it.*  My reply was that I had already gotten THAT promise from him and he just got annoyed and said, *I said I would do it and I will.*  I waited...walked past him once or twice then decided it was time for throwing a load of wash in.  When I got done sorting the clothes in our hamper, can you believe it?  He had actually changed the bulbs!  <<THUD>>  
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Princess made it over here this afternoon and took Baron for a couple laps around the circle.  Not just once but TWICE.  She brought him in once because his tongue was hanging out so she let him get some water and plop down.  She was taking a bit of a rest, too...  Then they headed out again.  She's lost two pounds since she started a couple days ago.  Let's hope she keeps it up.  Remember when it really mattered how good or how fit and trim we were at that age?  Now, give me a decent weight and lots of comfort. 
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Well, it's time to close this missive.  Love you all.  Hope you have great weather.  If not, keep a smile on your face and think of all the little things you enjoy about your life.  There are lots of simple pleasures we take for granted.  Make a list for yourself of the little things that make you happy...nothing is too small.  From the smell of freshly mowed grass to that perfect cup of coffee.  We all have them.  What are some of yours?