June 20, 2013

  • Fun With Tara

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Today we had a surprise visitor right around lunch time.  Tara came in her new (used) car.  She said she felt a little bad about the car just because of how she came to be able to buy it.   I told her to stop thinking like that.  She needed a new car so that she can get around to her clients and expand her business.  She also has kids that she has to take care of.  She has Keith, who will be graduating in another year and Chance, who will be starting school next year.  Talk about a wide spectrum! 

    She brought lunch with her today from Taco Bell but the Beast had bought us a variety of stuff from Captain D's so we had our dinner already taken care of courtesy of Tara.  She also had brought me a bunch of clothes to take a look at and see if I wanted any of them.  They were really great clothes from one of her clients.  Some were just too big for me but there were things that fit me nicely, mostly tops.  I even have some nice shirts that I can use as overshirts that I had been looking for.  A lot of the clothes looked like they had never been worn!  I was really grateful.  I even have this cape top that I can use next winter.  I packed it away with my other winter things that I had just washed to get rid of the tobacco smell.  Now I can take them out to the cottage until I need them next winter.  The Beast just picked up a lot of Damp Rid to put out there to make sure we don't have too much humidity out there.  We shouldn't since we DO have air conditioning we can run from time to time to help out that way.  He'll know by how the Damp Rid is absorbing the moisture whether he needs to run it or not.

    Chewlee was funny  today.  We have a rule that she cannot go out front to play unless the Beast or I are out there with her.  I was elected today and she went out for a half hour of riding her bike around until this one program came on that she loves to watch.  After it was over, she wanted to go outside again.  As she told me, *I need the exercise, Grandma.  Riding my bike will help tire me out!*  She said it with a big grin on her face and then sang while she was riding her bike around.  She yelled out to me once, *Do you like my singing?*  Actually, I was surprised at how nice her voice sounded and I told her that I liked her happy song.  She smiled and kept singing while she rode up and down our driveway and the one next door.  We finally came in to watch another of her programs and then Johnnycakes finally came to pick her up.  She hid on him and he came to find her and it was a game with her laughing (he did, too) while he was trying to grab and tickle her.  She finally came out and slid into her flip flops to go home.  Johnnycakes said they were having a cookout and he was in a hurry to get home.  Off they went and I took my nap, finally.

    It was warm and sunny out and the Beast waited until around 5:30 or so before he started  mowing the lawn.  He's become quite good at guiding it now.  He's not as unsure as he was when he first got it.  Chewlee and I watched him zipping around.  I kept telling her that he was gonna *get her* but she said she was faster on her bike.  But she liked kind of playing hide and seek with him on her bike but staying near me.

    Tomorrow, more of the same.  I'm looking forward to that.  I have to run up to the store to pick up a couple things for my trip, including some of those small size shampoos, creme rinses, etcso there's no problem going through security.

    Love you all.  Hope you are having a great week so far.