April 18, 2013

  • The Day Flew By For Some Reason....

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Chewlee got a squiggly face today and I really wondered why so I asked her.  She told me that she was just talking (which means she was also out of her chair and disturbing the other kids....likely during a test).  Sure  enough, she finished her test early and she told me she even got some candy from her teacher because she did excellent on her letters.  I know what happens.  She gets bored.  Her teacher needs to give her something else to do when that happens to keep her occupied and busy.  As I questioned her further, she said to me, *I didn't want my mommy to leave me again.  I didn't want her to go to another country.*  Her mother didn't go to another country, she went to S. Carolina again for more training classes.  Chewlee will be with us (again) from today through Sunday when her mother picks her up.  We have two more weekends like this to go through.

    Today Chewlee got to play for a while in the little boy next door's electric car.  I made her put it back so she didn't wear down the battery for him.  He IS able to drive it even if he is not yet 3.  Chewlee spent some time playing with Baron and the Beast was yelling, *Run! Baron...run!* when Chewlee was trying to get a stick out of his mouth so she could throw it again.  It was funny how Baron made her chase him but he stayed out front and didn't run far.  It was really cute.

    Chewlee and I went to Chick-Fil-A around 6 for a school promotion.  I got to see her teacher who gave Chewlee a big hug when we got there.  Chewlee was so happy that some of her friends from class where there....and the store had a play area!  The class that has the most money spent by their parents/grandparents/family gets an ice cream party.  I don't think that's the extent of it since it's supposed to make money for the school, too.  I'm sure we will be informed somewhere down the line about how much was earned for the school.

    Afterward, Chewlee and I went to Walmart to see if they had this one lotion I am looking for (it's new) but they didn't have it yet.  While I was there, I bought a brush for Chewlee and she spotted a couple things she wanted for her hair for church.  Some are sparkly clips, there are two head bands (one with a pretty red bow on the side) and some ouchless bands for when I want to braid her hair or put it up.  She thought she wanted a toy but really couldn't find one that peaked her interest.  She couldn't even find a book that interested her.  So.....I bought a bag of bubble gum balls but told her that she only got TWO a day at the most when she got a smiley face.  (Am I evil or what?  )  I did let her have one tonight when we got home.

    She and I made up *her* bed with clean sheets and pillowcases tonight.  She really loves to help and she's starting to get good at it.   She fixed up her little blanket and decided that was going to be her pillow tonight.  I finally got her to bed around 9 and she only got up on me once when the Beast got home.  She said she had to tell him good night, which she did and then she got back in bed and tried to tell me she wasn't tired.  I told her that I would shut the bedroom door so she wouldn't be disturbed and she had a fit.  I checked on her 15 minutes later and she was sound asleep.  I KNEW she had to be tired just by how active she was outside and then at the chicken place.

    I decided that we must use up all our energy when we are young.  The Beast and I were talking about all the things we used to do and it was amazing to think about.  If I had half.....or a quarter of that energy now.....I WOULD BE SO DAMNED GRATEFUL!   

    Amazing weather and more hummingbirds showing up but just looking over the feeders.  We've only seen two feeding so far but it's early yet.  We aren't focused on  watching the feeders all the time so who knows?  WE may be the reason they aren't feeding because we are on the deck.  Chewlee and I didn't get to cut the asparagus so I'll do that in the morning, after coffee.  Oh damn...just checked the forecast and it's saying much cooler AND rain (possibly thunderstorms) in the morning.  More wind.  Our neighbor in back of us lost a tree this morning (and it hit a transformer that supplies our electricity).  I can't believe they told her that SHE would have to pay for the service to restore power to our area because it was HER tree.  The transformer is on private property (hers) so where do they get off on that?

    Oh hell.  It is what it is.  Love you all.  Have a great Friday.