April 20, 2013

  • Another Letter From Bratfink And More….

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Got more snail mail from Bratfink.  She wants everyone to know that she’s surviving.  She’s been playing mahjong and a couple different games of solitaire to keep from going totally nuts.  She hates not knowing the news or the weather forecast or temperatures.  She hates being surprised by hail and green skies (signs of a tornado but the sirens never went off!).  She misses tweeting or twittering, whatever it’s called and she misses all her friends she’s made online.  But the bills are being paid and they are eating just fine, including the animals.  No, Sheldon and Bratfink aren’t eating the animals in case that’s how that sounded to you.  It means the animals are eating, too.

    She should be back online sometime next month (I sure as hell hope so!) and I am going to be SOOOOOOO HAPPY when that happens.  We help keep each others partners alive (trust me….the Beast has no idea how close he’s come at times).  I missed her today when the Beast and I got into an argument.  He swears that Blu-tooth only works when it’s tied in with OnStar (which costs money every month!).  I told him that I read the several various pages plus knew people who used it all the time and they did NOT have OnStar.  He told me I was stupid and I told him he had a closed mind.  I said there are many options for the way it’s hooked up but he swears you cannot tell a non-OnStar application to call a certain number.  I told him that the commercials they run then are deceptive because they say nothing about needing OnStar for that.  But what do I know?  *I’m* stupid, doncha know?

    Chewlee, bless her heart, heard him call me stupid and she said, *Papa is being mean and he said a bad word.*  I told her that I knew it but that was just how Papa was.  You see, in MY family, calling anyone stupid got your mouth washed out with soap.  I made that a rule because psychologists have said for years that if you tell a child they are stupid long enough, they start to believe it’s true and they BECOME stupid! 

    My daughters used to call Mustachio stupid a lot, not usually when any adult was around.  That was around the time we found out that the tubes in his ears were clogged solid and he was air wave deaf.  Surgery and buttons in his ear drums cleared that up although it surprised me that one button stayed in place for over a year.  His doctor said, *It will drop out when it’s ready and not needed any more.*  But he admitted that it was the longest he had ever seen one remain in place.  He was very relieved when it finally had fallen out.  But only Buttmunch ever got caught using the word and had her mouth washed out with a bar of soap.  I ground that sucker across her teeth so it took her about 15 minutes to get her mouth clean using lots of toothpaste and mouthwash.  I won’t deceive you and tell you that she learned a lesson and never used that word again.  Untrue.  The only lesson she learned was NOT to ever get caught again.  I guess that’s the trouble with some of the ways we punish our kids.  Do they really learn a lesson?  Not usually.  They just learn to do what it takes so a particular punishment isn’t used again.  They think we (parents/grandparents) are dumb and haven’t caught on to them.  All I can say is that they will learn their lessons WELL when they have kids of their own. 

    We have frost warnings here locally between the hours of 4am and 8am.  It scared me until I realized that the forecast for our zip code showed a low of about 38 so the frost warnings are really for the low lying areas (the valleys around us).  The sensitive crops that may be in will be protected by the farmers if needed.  I’ll still go out and check on our garden when I get up….maybe even before my coffee.  We shall see.  I’ll be wearing warm pajamas and can wear my robe and slippers outside if I need to.  Unfortunately, if we did get more than an hour of frost during that time, it will take  a day or two before we can tell what plants were affected.  I’m crossing my fingers.

    Love you all.  I need to carry Chewlee into her bed.  She’s sound asleep in my recliner here in my computer room.  After her bath, she got into her pajamas and curled up there.  When I saw she was asleep shortly afterward, I figured I would leave her there until I was ready.

    Oh, if you read this, Princess, please let Johnnycakes know that either the Beast or I will be stopping by the house before he goes to work (around 2o-ish?) for Chewlee’s sneakers.    I don’t have his cell phone number so I can’t call him.  She will need something to keep her feet warm since it’s going to be cool here.  Her flip-flops just won’t do, especially for the kids party the church is having.  Oh, you have to hear this.  When I told Chewlee I wasn’t going with the Beast to the party, she said to me, *When we are gone, could you please clean up my drawing table?  It’s really getting messy and you said you were going to vacuum anyway.*  It just flowed out of her mouth like silk.  What she wants me to clean up is some of the light marks that her marker pens make when it goes through the paper she’s drawing on.  And her *table* is actually a big, covered storage bin that hasn’t been put out in the cottage yet.  I kind of left it here since it IS a good place for her to draw and ensures that the marker pens don’t leave marks on the craft table, which is wood.

    Time to get this posted.  Love you all and have a super duper weekend. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *