April 1, 2013

  • Are We Ready For Another Weather Change?

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    It was a wonderful day for me even though it didn't get bright and sunny until almost noon.  The Princess came and picked up Chewlee around 10am.  It would have been earlier but she had to hide the eggs around the house for Chewlee to find.  Chewlee had gotten up after the Beast left for his day in Huntsville.  It had to be around 7:30am and she headed right for the cookies. (I was still asleep)  It was Oreos and I found a pile of the cookie parts with all the creme eaten off them.  THAT made me angry because she's been told no regular Oreos (she will eat all of the new vanilla oreos) unless she eats them all.  She was so quiet that I never heard her open the package.  She can be really sneaky.  I woke up at 8am and made her clean up her mess, turned on cartoons for her and got my morning coffee.  Thankfully, the Beast had made some fresh before he left and he was nice enough to put a dish towel over the top so that it stayed very hot.  That's a little trick I came up with because there's a hole right in the middle of the carafe and, of course, the little opening at the spout.  I put the teaspoon over the hole in the middle and the towel is doubled over and put over the entire top.  Just in case you have a Bunn like ours.

    Chewlee had some toast and a little glass of milk.  Then I found her with the Doritos but she only ate a few and put them back in the pantry.  The Princess called me to tell me she really was up but she was trying to get everything ready to surprise Chewlee and would be there in a bit.  It was 9:30am when she called so I made Chewlee put her shoes and socks on and we played a couple of the newest hidden object game episodes until her mother got there.  I can't wait to hear her tell me what she got when she gets here after school tomorrow.  I need to make sure the Princess's night classes have started up again.  I mean both nights.  I saw on her Face Book page that she got her final grade in one of her classes but I didn't really see which class that was for.

    It was really nice to have the whole house to myself.  Baron was sulking, as usual, whenever the Beast has gone somewhere without him.  He made no demands on me.  I fed him at his regular meal time and he gobbled it up then went and plopped down next to the Beast's side of the bed.  I knew when the Beast was on his way home because, all of a sudden, Baron was up and bouncing on the floor at the junction of the kitchen where he could watch the garage door and the front door.  He does that because he's never sure which way the Beast will come in. 

    The Beast changed and took Baron out for a run.  It's a good thing he did that when he did because it started to rain shortly afterward.  Baron was just happy that his man was home and didn't detach himself until they both went to bed.  I was asleep when that happened because I had been awake all day without one and busy for most of it until the Beast got home.  I made dinner for us both and should have napped then but was busy reading my email and news...stuff like that.  When my son popped up on an IM (Mustachio), we talked for a half hour and then I HAD to take a nap.  I had hoped it would only be for an hour or two but it ended up being three hours.  Tsk, tsk...well, I'm an old person now and should get used to that. 

    Our highs will be cooler now for a while but nothing really intense.  It's supposed to be gradual but you know how those weather people are.  They really can't tell for sure for more than a day or two but I sincerely hope they are right.  I hope all the intensely cold weather is over for the New England states now and the NE part of the country, too.  Even though I understand they could use it in terms of water when the snow melts. 

    Love you all and I hope you had a wonderful day and an even better week ahead.