March 30, 2013

  • HAPPY EASTER EVERYONE! And More Tales Of Chewlee

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    After checking out the Princess’s Face Book page, I discovered no mention of her and Chewlee going to either the aquarium or the zoo so it’s a pretty good bet they didn’t do either.  That means Chewlee didn’t get to go to the beach (not even our local lake), to the zoo or the aquarium.  Those are the three things she said she wanted to do but she would have been happy to do just one of them.  I know I will hear about it from her eventually when she comes home from school on Monday and we get back into our routine.  Kids are funny.  They may seem to accept your excuses but the disappointment is there.  I thought it would be a great mommy/daughter time but I guess not as good as it should have been. 

    The Princess should remember her own childhood when dealing with Chewlee.  You don’t forget when you have been promised certain things and then the promises aren’t kept. 

    Looks like I will have Chewlee tonight.  The Princess and Johnnycakes want to go out tonight.  But the Princess says she will be here early so that Chewlee can do her egg hunt and get her Easter Basket.  That should be fun.  I read on her Face Book page that she was ready to color Easter eggs (something Chewlee loves to help with) and Chewlee had fallen asleep….LOL.  I think I will wait until later to post this.  This evening with Chewlee should be interesting.

    LATER:

    Chewlee was dropped off a little after 8 freshly washed, in her jammies and complete with her blankey, Lady Bug night light and a brand new stuffed rabbit.  It seems that she was in an egg hunt, most likely sponsored by Tara’s church, that took place at the park near the lake.  I think they used the basketball court or some such area for it.  The object was to find the most eggs and Chewlee said she won that and that was how she got the stuffed pink rabbit.  It’s adorable.  She said she had fun so that’s what matters.  Thank you, Tara.  You’re a doll.

    I let Chewlee stay up longer than I normally would since this is her last night before there’s school the next day for her.  We watched the Mummy with Brendan Frasier (drool) and Chewlee kept covering her eyes whenever the mummy showed up before he was fully regenerated.  She really doesn’t *get* the whole issue of a mummy and how it could come alive.  I told her it was all pretend and no mummy could come alive again.  I finally decided it was time for her to get to bed and she kept trying to make a deal with me.  It all involved her being able to stay up until the movie was over (she’s seen the end before) and who could find the most hidden items in a Claire Hart game.  However, she likes to be the one holding the mouse so you know who she would think won (and, in fact, she might have.  She’s THAT good.  )

    Then she wanted to lay down on my recliner until *I* was ready to go to bed.  I told her she would already be in bed if she were at home.  She told me her mother leaves her door open so she won’t get scared and afraid that she’s alone.  I told her that I would try to get Baron to stay in her room if she just wanted company but she said she wanted ME.  I need to take my shower so I told her after I took my shower, I would go to bed with her even if she’s asleep. 

    She’s come up with a new way to discourage me from smoking around her.  She told me that it makes her throw up when I blow my smoke in her face.  Since I never do that, I told her that.  But, I said to her, if she WANTS to throw up, she should just tell me.  She gave me the weirdest look and then said, *Grandma, I don’t LIKE to throw up so just don’t do it!*  When I said, *What?  Blow smoke in your face?*  She looked at me and said, *Just don’t smoke when I am in your lap.*  I agreed to that.  I seldom do that anyway so it’s a small price to pay.

    I read this on the Princess’s Face Book page….it’s another example of how funny she can be without trying.  I have no idea what food they were eating but this was Chewlee’s comment to her mother:  “It’s a good thing we don’t eat dinner with our nose.” I (this is the Princess speaking) said “Why is that?” “Because mommy, this food stinks, but my tummy tells me it’s delicious!”    I really MUST ask what it was they were eating.

    Tomorrow it’s supposed to be in the 70′s.  A great day for Easter in our parts.  Hope you guys all get some good weather, too, before the new cold front moves in.  The Beast is keeping close watch on his tomato plants because he  doesn’t want to lose more of them.  He’s going to be in Huntsville all day so I may take a run over to Lowe’s and get some cucumbers and a package of radishes.  I may also try to get some bush bean seeds and get those in the ground to get started.  We didn’t expect the rain today that we got in the afternoon.  It was really just a drizzle but Baron waited until he just couldn’t wait any more before he would go out in it.  When he came in, he kept stamping his feet until the Beast rubbed him down and wiped off his feet.  Not only is he a wuss, but he’s spoiled rotten, too.  I told the Beast, *That’s all YOUR fault.  You have never treated him like a DOG!*

    Well, love you all.  I wish you a great Easter.  I hope you all have a great dinner with family and/or friends.  I may go out to lunch somewhere just for the hell of it.  BTW, I wrote to Bratfink and she knows we are all making a concerted effort to keep the internet going without her and that we miss her very much.  Be good.  Drive carefully. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *