May 30, 2012

  • It's All Slow Motion When It's Hot, Hot, Hot !

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    If you haven't guessed it already, it was hot as hell here today.  On the temperature gauge under the deck, it registered 94 degrees.  Out front it registered 100 but the Beast said he knew it was wrong and needs recalibration.  That was at 3pm and the sun was at the back of the house.  Weatherbug said it was hotter than it is now saying was the high here today (90).  Lying little bugger!  I just know that everyone, from animals to humans, were moving S - L - O - W - L - Y.

    The cat curled up on the Beast's computer chair in the bedroom while Baron slept on the floor and the Beast was on the bed.  At first, he turned on the fan in there.  Then, after about a half hour, he gave up and turned on the window a/c unit.  He napped three or four times during the day and only got up to watch his basketball game.  I had made some country ribs, spicy Mexican rice and corn on the cob for dinner.  I know it sounds strange but it just appealed to me for some reason.  The Beast, who had agreed with the choices, seemed to have lost his appetite in the heat and didn't eat until an hour after I did.  He just picked at everything and said the ribs tasted *off* to him.  He asked me how mine had tasted and I told him *just fine* and added that I ate two of the bigger ones I had made.  He shook his head and said he thought his *taster* was off. 

    I knew he wasn't feeling good.  He hasn't been himself for about three days now.  Nothing you can put your finger on except that he's been nauseous but hasn't vomited.  No stomach pains or any pains at all.  I told him he's never done well when it's hot and humid out and that's what it's been the last few days.  Ever since his stroke, he's suffered when our weather is like that.  The thing is that we bought this house originally when we lived in Florida for him to stay in during Florida's hot, humid summers.  It's only been the last couple of years here that we've had the humidity and much hotter temperatures than are normal for this part of the country.  It makes me want to sit under one of the many waterfalls we have around here or, at least, our water hose. 

    I just realized the date and I have to make the Beast go get Chewlee's birthday present tomorrow.  We discussed it and I think she will LOVE it, especially with this hot weather.  How time flies!  It just snuck up on me because of her going to Disney World.  I can't compete with that but I can still find things that make her laugh and smile.  This will I'm sure.  I plan on getting her a slip and slide but one that has a belly board.  It'll take a little doing to get her to use it right I'm sure but it should still be fun.  I may just join her even.....LOL.

    I'm a bit worried about Bratfink.  She was only online today for a very short time.  She is another one that doesn't do hot weather well.  She suffers with the heat even more than the Beast does.  She didn't sleep well even with the air sucker on and she can't sleep with the air conditioning on because she wakes up chilled and aches all over.  She even tried sleeping in her own bed but was miserable and woke up feeling like she'd been run over by a truck.  The recliner has become her *bed* lately and probably will stay that way until/unless she gets to feeling better overall.  She said she picked a really bad time to quit smoking again. 

    Well, it's late and I need to get this posted.  Love you all.  I'm going to make my way S - L - O - W - L - Y to bed and try not to sweat too much even though I know the Beast will eventually shut the bedroom door and turn on the room a/c.  He's predictable that way and it's 11pm but the outside temp is still 83 degrees.  Hope you are keeping cool.  Be sure to drink lots of fluids in this weather.  It's very important.  You do NOT want heat stroke.