August 31, 2010

  • Tales From The Brat Farm


    Today the Beast did some major cleanup.  I guess in preparation for our trip to NC to help AM celebrate her 90th birthday.  I will have the baby here until the Princess gets off work and I know she will leave then.  The question is whether or not *I* leave with him (which would require taking Chewlee with us) or if I wait for the Princess to get off work and go with her.  I know she talked about Johnnycakes making the trip with her and stopping at a motel for the night once they arrive in town.  There are a lot of people making the trip and I know they can't be staying with AM.  It's not possible, nor do I think it's even desirable.  I will have to talk to the Princess, see if she knows if Johnnycakes is making the trip with her and perhaps I can go with the Beast if he picks up the baby early.  That way she won't have to worry about sharing the back seat with Baron.  She travels well if she has her portable dvd player with her and all her dvd's.  I can just see THAT happening with Baron around.

    So, we shall have to see what kind of arrangements can be made.  There are several motels in the area that allow dogs (we've stayed before) so there are no problems with that part of our trip.  There's also lots of room for Baron to run and play at AM's new house.  I haven't been there but I have seen pictures.  The Beast built shelves in the garage for her a while back (at the new house) and Baron had a ball.

    Me?  I shall probably have withdrawal symptoms about not being online there.  The cousin isn't online smart so she disdains having it.  AM could care less since she has her friends that keep her busy and they do bingo and play cards often.  She does love company, that much I will say.  I'm looking forward to seeing my nephews, their wives and kids and some of her old friends that we have known for years.  It will be fun to visit for a bit.  I will just have to prepare something for my blog ahead of time and let you know on Tuesday how everything went.  I should be home Sunday night since I will have Chewlee on Monday (Labor Day) because preschool will be closed.

    I'm looking forward to Chewlee's reaction to so many relatives.  She loves the *cousin*, *aunt*, *uncle*-thing even though she has no real clue what that means.  She just knows they all seem happy to be around her and vice versa.  She just loves to bring up Sheepie and tell me how much she loves her and that Sheepie loves her, too.  I nod and tell her that I know and she is happy telling me that Sheepie is her cousin. 

    The Beast started cleaning up, as I started to say, which meant he finally finished the areas under all his trees that needed trimming and along the fence, the base of the house and the stairs.  He then actually PUT EVERYTHING AWAY!    I swear, even the dog has a surprised look on his face. 

    I looked at the finished product and everything looks so nice and neat outside now.  I had to smile.  It may not be a mini-mansion but it's comfortable and it's ours.  I really DO wish it were a bit bigger but, hey, it works MOST of the time.  The Beast also inspected the trees while he was doing his cleanup and was happy since they DO look healthy.

    The spruce he planted a couple years ago is starting to really look nice and has gained some symmetry so I will probably decorate it for the Christmas holidays.  That was what the Beast originally planted it for (for me, he said).  Since the Beast broke down and bought a ladder that extends enough to reach the gutters, I will be able to put the outside lights up this year.  That tickles me.  I just hope all the bulbs still work.  I think that when they put them out in a couple months, I will have to get some extra bulbs, just in case.

    Well, time to get this posted for you for later.  We actually had a nice day today.  They predicted much hotter weather for us but it only got up to 77.  I can handle that easily.  It will be hotter for the next few days but the temperature should be nice over the Labor Day weekend.  I will just have to pack a sweatshirt for the Beast and I for nights up in the mountains where AM lives.  It gets a bit cooler at HER elevation than at ours.

    Love you all.  Have a wonderful day and a great week.  You will have a 3-day weekend this weekend so smile a lot.