August 30, 2010

  • We Got Rain And Some Long Awaited Cooler Temperatures!


    ....but it isn't going to last for long, unfortunately.   But it was wonderful that the temperature dropped drastically down to 70 while there was still a lot of daylight left.  The Beast took the dog for a run around the circle a couple times and said it actually was chilly.    I think it's a matter of degree and what we've been subjected to during the past 3-3/4 months.

    The mornings are going to be continuing to be cooler, thankfully, but the highs are heading back up into the 90's once again.  I keep praying for a break and La Nina is really starting to piss me off.  That's what they are blaming this on.  It always follows El Nino years so we should have expected it but.....I believe this is the worst we've seen in a long time.

    The Beast and I were going to take a run up to Huntsville so he could show me Gander Mountain.  No, it's not a real mountain.  It's a store dedicated to hunters.  It amazed him and, when he told me this one sports store we used to go to couldn't even compare to this, I have to admit I was intrigued.  I also wanted to look over their hand guns since I still intend to get one for myself and then take the license to carry test so I can take it with me when I travel.  I've read the laws on all the states I drive through and they reciprocate with Alabama so it's worth the effort.

    But.....when he decided we weren't going to go, I had to ask why since the store is inside and not exposed to the elements.  It was raining at this point...and raining hard!  He then admitted that he also wanted to make a *little side trip* to one of the areas that he can hunt deer.  He wanted to start scoping them out to select the one or more that he will *get his deer* at when hunting season opens up.  Yeah, right. 

    Of course, he never mentioned this to me beforehand and I would have refused to go because I have been on some of his *excursions*.  Not for hunting, of course.  This is his new obsession.  His old one was photography and I became a mule for him.  I was only along for help carrying all the crap he dragged along with him to help him take his perfect pictures that very few people have ever seen except a few photography judges and professional photographers.  Oh, and some models because he did up portfolio quality pictures in exchange for their posing for him.  I know the way he thinks and I'll be damned if I am going to accompany him just because he doesn't want to be alone.  And I sure wouldn't have been dressed right for slogging through underbrush, either.

    If the area he had in mind is a reserve, there would also be a lot of *scat*.  That's animal droppings to the uninitiated.  They KNOW where the protected areas are, I swear.  They have an underground that passes that information along and, pretty soon, the area is just rife with wildlife.  Not that I object to that but I hardly think sandals are proper footwear for that kind of a trek, do you?  He just never THINKS.  At least, not about anyone but himself.  Me?  I'm just a mule.  *Sigh*

    I think he knew I was miffed because later on, he went to the store and picked up a couple steaks plus some fresh mushrooms and grilled a couple steaks for us.  T-bones.  They were delicious but it doesn't mean I will make the trek with him regardless.  I will refuse to go along with him in the future and I told him that.  I told him to take Johnnycakes along.  HE is the one that has been hunting and shot a deer or two.  HE is the one that should know a good hunting area.  I hope he takes it to heart.  I really don't think it's a good idea for him to go anywhere like that alone in his state of health.  But, he will do what he wants so all I can do is try not to worry too much and trust in his Karma.  It's taken him far, so far.   Especially when you consider that most people that have brain stem strokes either die or are vegetables.  There was a steady stream of doctors and nurses through his room to observe this phenomenon with their own eyes.  He was alive AND talking.  Amazing!  Incredible!  A miracle!  Those are all words I heard from them about the Beast.

    Of course, his memory sucks about short-term stuff.  Sometimes what you tell him on one day, he doesn't remember the next day.  He really has to study hard to learn new things and remember them.  What he knew before the stroke, he remembers...mostly.  He did forget a thing or two but they were unimportant ... to him. 

    I've learned most of his limitations at this point and I let him do his thing.  It keeps him busy and his mind busy, too.  Hopefully, it will keep him from more severe memory loss.  I can hope. 

    Love you all and I hope you are having some decent weather.  Say a prayer or two for those of us still suffering that we get some relief that lasts for more than a day or two.  Before winter, I mean.    Be good, have a little fun, laugh out loud and tell those you love that you do.  Often.