August 25, 2010

  • My Chewlee Spends The Night


    The Beast decided that today was the day he was going to treat the barrel on the new muzzle loader.  He was browning it instead of the usual bluing (which is actually black).  Go figure.  We think the bottle he got was bad because it made the barrel look rusted.  He ended up sanding it down and got the new bottle out, heated up the barrel and redid it with the new stuff.  The whole look and feel of the second bottle was totally different than the one he originally used so it may HAVE been bad after all that.  It certainly looks better although not perfect due to the previous stuff he'd used.

    He hadn't wanted to do that since there was a 50/50 chance that the barrel was stainless steel.  However, when he went to do something that required removing the sights, he found it was beginning to rust underneath it so he bit the bullet and treated the barrel after all.  That should take care of any rusting now.

    The Princess went to work today (Tuesday) and came over for lunch.  I made us all grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches and some tomato soup.  It hit the spot.  She still doesn't sound good but she says she is lots better than she was.  Good thing since she has a training class in Birmingham tomorrow and has to be there by 8:30am.  That means she has to leave the house around 6:30am.  As a result, I kept Chewlee for the night. 

    After I picked her up from preschool, we went to Wally World to pick up a couple things.  She had to remind me several times not to forget milk (it was on my list but...).  When I told her that, yes, we had to get milk for Papa, she put her hands on her hips and very seriously told me that SHE liked milk, too.  So, I told her not to worry, Papa would share with her.  They had some bags of mini donuts on special (powdered and chocolate) so she insisted I had to get the white ones for her and the black ones (that's what she said!) for Papa.  Then, when we got home, she absolutely insisted that SHE had to be the one to give them to Papa.  He was out in the garage at the time, so she laid in wait for him to walk in and then ran up to him yelling, *Look, Papa!  We got you these!* 

    He thanked her nicely and took them from her and turned towards me and gave me this shit-eating grin.  It was just so damn funny.  She said to me, *See?  Papa is happy now.*  Yeah, really made his day.

    I bought her another Garanimals outfit after she begged me to buy her some clothes.  Like the little stinker doesn't have a ton of them.    But, she had spotted this double ruffle skort in red and black that she liked.  She leaned over and grabbed it (without regard to size, of course) and I almost had to pry it out of her hands to get the correct size.  There wasn't really a matching top that wasn't long sleeved but she spotted a cute white top which I got for her.  I'll let her wear it to school in the morning which made her happy.  She's already a typical woman with her love of new clothes.

    For the first time EVER, I had a hard time getting her into the bathtub.  She just was NOT in the mood for a bath.  I offered to let her shower but she folded her arms across her chest and got this mean look on her face and said, *NO!*  So, we compromised.  She let me was her face, hands, neck, legs and feet as long as I didn't get in the way of the television.  But, by 9pm, she was ready for bed.  I love how she will put her hand on my arm and say, *I am ready for bed now*.  She got upset that Baron was asleep in *her* room and told me I had to tell him to get out.  He did, but took his time about it.  When she said to me, *No kisses, no kisses!* I kissed her on her forehead anyway and told her, *I am grandma and I get kisses even if you don't like it.*  I covered her up, tucked her *ti-ti* in by her head and she turned over with a smile on her face.

    When we get up in the morning, it will be a scramble to get myself ready then her and get her fed before I take her to school.  I really hate hectic mornings so I am going to go to bed early enough tonight to ensure I am up early in the morning.  I might get a cup of coffee down before she gets up or I have to wake her. 

    That's pretty much how my day has gone today.  I did the usual; made up the bed, unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher, did a load of towels and things, dust mopped the floors, you know...all the crap that we women have to do even if we ARE retired.  Ain't that a joke. 

    Love you all.  Have a wonderful day and keep cool.  Find time to laugh and smile today, too.