August 24, 2010

  • Updates On A Few Things


    Despite what she might have wanted to do, the Princess didn't make it in to work today.  She feels a bit better but wasn't well enough to move around.  Besides, no one wants someone with strep throat to come in and infect their co-workers.   She won't be infectious tomorrow (Tuesday) so she can go in then if she is actually up to it.  Knowing the Princess, she will be.  She's like that and she sure doesn't want to take any chances of losing her job.  The money she makes is just too good to lose. 

    Today was the day the Beast took the new rifle....the one he built.....to the gun range to sight in.  He did, however, forget to take along the special screwdriver (or whatever the hell it is) that makes the actual adjustments to the sights.  He was impressed by how little it was off, even so, but has given in to the idea that he DOES have to put a scope on it.  His eyesight is just too bad.  Once the target is more than 50 yards away, he is only guessing where it's at.  He does pretty well at his guesses but it's a strain on him.  He doesn't think it's going to be any good when he goes hunting, however.  He has a point there since he's only going to get one chance at hitting his *target*.

    I woke up almost screaming around 4:30 this morning.  I had the muscles on both sides of my right shin contracting.  When I managed to get out to the kitchen and a light, I was to look down and see two big bulges on either side.  That's how bad those muscles were contracting.  How I managed NOT to scream, I'm not sure.  Even massaging the muscle was incredibly painful. 

    I'm not sure why it's doing that to me or why I am getting any kind of charley horse at all.  I take vitamins every day and I am eating a banana about every other day.  It shouldn't be happening but it is.  I was trying to figure it out when I did something this evening (Monday night) that gave me a clue.  I like to sit with one leg kind of tucked under me.  In my computer chair, the arms of it make me tuck my foot in a peculiar way.  It's not uncomfortable initially for me but, when I go to pull it out from under me, I find it is sometimes numb.  Since I tend to tuck my right leg under me most of the time, I think I may have to stop doing that.....if I can remember that.    It's such second nature to me, that might be difficult.  I'll have to wait and see.

    Anyway, it took me an hour of standing and massaging before the muscle fully relaxed.  I was so damn tired that I just laid back in my recliner and fell asleep.  I was so soundly asleep that I never heard the Beast come in, turn off my TV and my computer and leave.  Normally, if I am not exhausted, the minute he shuts off the TV, I wake up.   I've caught myself two or three times tonight starting to tuck that leg underneath me but it give me a *twinge* and I stop immediately.  This is not going to be easy.

    I did manage to make up my bed and get a couple loads of washing done.  I was tempted to hang on the clothes but there was no wind so I gave up that thought.  They just don't do as well if there isn't a breeze. 

    The Beast took a ride into Huntsville today to get some finer black powder for the new rifle.  He said it's weird how each one of the muzzle loaders seems to require it's own special amount of powder and type of powder to fire without a lot of fouling.  This barrel has an awful lot of rifling in the barrel so the finer powder should do less fouling, I'm sure.  He took Baron with him this time but borrowed my key to the car so he could leave the car running and the AC on for the dog and still lock the door.  He's never sure just how long it will take him at the store and he doesn't want to take the chance of a lot of heat building up with the dog inside.

    We got up to 91 today but the humidity went from 94% down to 50%.  It still felt like you were smothering when you stepped outside but we have some good news.  The overnight temperatures are dropping A LOT.  They expect it to get down to 62 tonight.    I know!  I was surprised.  It's supposed to be like that for at least the next week.  I told the Beast we could probably think about opening up the windows at night.....maybe.  Depends on how much it drops after the sun goes down.  Like right now, it's 8:30pm when I am typing this up but the outside temperature is still 81 degrees.  I doubt it will drop a heck of a lot more by the time the Beast hits the sack in an hour or two.  He's watching preseason football so he'll go to bed around 11pm, I think.  Whenever the game is over.  He'll be able to tell more when he lets the dog out before they go to bed so we'll see what is what then.

    Since the Princess didn't go to work, I didn't have to pick up Chewlee today which was kind of nice after the leg incident.  It's amazing how pain can just knock the hell out of you, isn't it?  I'm sure Chewlee wasn't entirely happy unless it was Johnnycakes that came to pick her up.  She still likes it when HE comes to get her.  She gives him less trouble with leaving even when he comes to get her from here at Brat Farm. 

    The Beast checked his beetle traps and found a couple dead beetles in there but not as many as he would have liked to have found.  I told him they might just be a few strays since he sure sprayed the hell out of the trees when they were thickest.  We shall see how they do next year since he plans on getting more then.  I'm just hoping we get rid of the fungus that has plagued us.  Especially after all the work the Beast has been doing to combat it.  Maybe next year I will actually have plenty of fruit to can and freeze. 

    Love you all and hope you have a great day and week.  Remember to smile and watch it spread.