March 30, 2010

  • Some Men Are Morons


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Buttmunch called me today to check and see how things were with us, which tells me she's not reading my blog daily or, as I suspect is more likely, it's because the sperm donor was up to his drunken tricks again.

    And he was.  At first, she answered the phone (which she knew was SD's phone but Sheepie occasionally uses it) but she hung up when she heard his voice.  Sheepie had told her earlier that he had been drinking all week long and so it was no surprise that the moron was calling her around 2am.  When he called again right away, she turned off her phone.  This morning, when she turned on her phone, she found several text messages from him.  All were filthy, vile and shows the extent of his education.  Many words were repetitive and even misspelled.  It still rankles him that SHE left HIM and, control freak that he is, he cannot accept it even after 10 years.  No woman leaves HIM, by God!  You know the type, I'm sure.  He's a dyed-in-the-wool redneck that gives rednecks a bad name.

    Buttmunch has saved all the text messages he's sent her and saved all his voicemails also.  You just never know when those things might just come in handy. 

    We DID know the type of person he was and we did try to warn her but, as most kids do, she thought she knew him better than us old folks did.  She was in lust and there's that *bad boy* thing he had going, too.  Whenever we didn't hear from her for long lengths of time, I was so afraid of what might be happening to her.  She hid a lot of things from us for years.  Like her broken arm that HE did to her.  The trips to emergency, the black eyes, the time he threw her down a long flight of stairs when she was pregnant hoping she would miscarry.....  All because she was ashamed.  I know the feeling.  It's why he scared me.  I knew the type just because I had married someone with similar traits.  Oh, not as blatant but the signs were there.  We are too soon old, too late smart.  *Sigh*

    He thinks he has Sheepie in his grips and that she doesn't want to live with her mother.  Her life, after all, is there, amongst all her friends and with him.  Little does he know how much she hates living with him but she wants to graduate with her friends as long as things don't get worse for her.  He hasn't laid a hand on her that she has admitted to me but I have no idea if that's true or not.  I hope not.  I think she would have told her mother, however.  They have become very close since being reunited and I am so very happy and grateful for that.  They are more like best friends, although Buttmunch tries not to be judgmental.  She gives her good advice like an older friend would and Sheepie can see the wisdom in much of what they talk about.

    I often wonder how much wisdom we might have picked up along the path of our lives if we had the sense to listen to those that really WERE older and wiser than we were.  I wish I had spent more time with some of the people I loved along the way that are now dead.  I know more about them from stories other people have told than I actually heard from them.  How sad that a couple generations of people have passed away and no real record of their views on things to pass along the way.  At least, not that we know of or may be aware of.  Who knows how much our attitudes about certain things were not in some way influenced by them via people THEY influenced?  It's food for thought. 

    I learned and heard things from aunts and uncles that were influenced by them, I am sure.  So, perhaps, not all their influence has vanished and will still be passed along in the years ahead.  Do we really know where all of our likes and dislikes come from?  Our feelings about family?  Country?  Politics?  Religion?  If they came from our parents, who influenced them?  See where I am going with this?

    Anyway, time to end this here.  Love you all.  Have a wonderful day.  Be happy and think about loved ones long gone today.  Not in sorrow but in gratitude for the time you were allowed to spend with them.