September 7, 2007

  • BARON IS AN ALPHA DOG AND THAT BRINGS IT’S OWN PROBLEMS

    I love Cesar Millan, the *Dog Whisperer* but even he admits he is NOT a dog trainer so…I have been reading a lot of web sites about training dogs. Its been 27 years since we had to train one after all, and you forget certain things that are important. I also subscribe to an E-zine called Dogs & Cats, which is very informative and, as I have found, very useful.

    The breeder and her children called Baron *Big Daddy* because, as she told us, he was the bold one, first to do almost all the mischief and intimidating the others in the litter. He is very intelligent and he *got* it when it came to housebreaking him in just two days. I am STILL amazed over that. He had two accidents but that was because we didn’t know his signal for needing to go out. He has, however, been difficult about heeling and walking on a leash. He has also started balking at running with the scooter if he doesn’t *feel* like it, so-to-speak.

    Well, I was reading about Alpha dogs and the problems with getting them to submit to your leadership in *Dogs & Cats*. You don’t want to break their spirit so it takes more patience and personal discipline (you have to be vigilant and consistent) to curb their constant wanting to be the leader. They DO eventually *give it up* and accept your leadership when you are present. AND….most importantly, they also accept the rules. I am glad we have few distractions because Baron has certainly tried our patience at every opportunity.

    We had to remove several toys because we found out they actually triggered aggressive behavior and he would become hyperactive. This included a lamb bone! Who would have thunk it….LOL

    But, taking a mixture of advice from Cesar and some of the different trainers, he has now stopped his jumping on us, both frontally and from the back. He will walk calmly, most of the time, and he doesn’t get in front of us like he’s leading. He’s forgotten himself a time or two (mostly with ole’ 97 lb. me) but a firm correction calms him down. I expect this is going to be something that will need to be done several times a day depending on how long we are alive (LOL).

    Our back yard is completely fenced in now so we bought a dog shelter for the pup that is big enough for him to grow into and more. He loved it when he realized it was his. It’s kind of cave-like so I guess he feels like it’s his den. We had to get it so we can leave him in the yard when we have to go somewhere that we can’t take him.

    He got into an Alpha mood and was feeling brave so he went to the fence on our neighbor’s side and started barking at the dog next door. I was in the house so I didn’t see it but I sure heard the result. I heard this awful *yip, yip, yip-ping* and thought the dog had hurt himself. Know the sound I mean? I ran outside and found the dog on the deck, his head between the Beast’s feet and both front paws wrapped around his ankles, The Beast was laughing his ass off. I said, *What the hell happened?* When the Beast finally stopped laughing, he told me that Baron had gone to the fence and challenged Bozo (as we call him) with his puppy barks. Well Bozo charged the fece, hit it and gave several deep, resounding barks back. There was no doubt who won THAT challengr

    So now all is quiet and both my boys are asleep. I am still typing one-handed but getting a bit used to it. Tara is here four days a week now, using our trailer for an office since she is still working online for the nursing home in Ohio. Shr can concentrate better without the distraction of things that need doing at home, which I totally understand. (Oh, I should get these dishes done….or I’ll just throw a load of clothes in the washer, etc., etc,) I was grateful for her being here because the beast was napping and I had some undetshirts that needed folding. She did those for me before she left to go home. *sigh* I really am glad to have family nearby.

    It’s bedtime for Bonzo now while the pain pill is still working. I cleaned up the kitchen and put my split pea soup in the fridge (a little surprise for Tara, who loves it). Goodnight all and have a wonderful day. Be sure you say *love you* to those you love every time you part. You just never know if those might be the last words you ever get to say to them.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *