August 19, 2013

  • The Beast Decides To Help Me.....

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I really HATE when the Beast is bored.  He can come up with the stupidest ideas and they usually cost money in more than one way.  He decided he was going to help me out with my dietary needs.  What did he buy?  A juicer.  Now there are many forms of juicers.  The one he chose makes juice with all the pulp included.  Yuk!  I don't mind a bit of pulp in my juice, like orange juice, but let me tell you, pear pulp and apple pulp can be awful when there's more pulp than juice involved.

    He bought bunches of different fruits.  Bananas, oranges, apples, pears (plus some of our pears from our trees because they are different), peaches, strawberries and both red and green grapes.  Take my word on this...some of those items do NOT go together well.  He just loves to experiment.  He got irritated when he found me scraping off some of the pulp that had risen to the top of one of his experiments that came off like scum, not pulp.

    He then decided he needed to buy a separate orange juicer because he didn't like the superspin effect of the other juicer on the orange pulp (scummy).  So now we have more basically unnecessary appliances that we will have to find storage space when his interest in *helping* me wanes.

    He told me in stern terms that I must have a glass of his juice (of the day) every morning.  I'll do it by using it to wash down my morning pills.  I'll just spoon off the scum if it has it, regardless of his reaction.  I just can't choke down that stuff no matter how nutritious it's supposed to be.

    Actually, I know what I need is more veggies in my diet.  It's too easy when you hit our age to make filling meals that don't include much in the way of good veggies.  You make hamburgers and that's filling to you so your veggies might just be a slice of tomato and one of onion.

    I bought some V-8 and some Glucerna to help balance out my diet.  Plus I have lots of tomatoes I need to do something with as well as lots of peppers, green and red peppers and cucumbers.  I love cucumbers so there's no problem there.  I can eat a lot of those with just some salt and pepper.  Or I might dip them into blue cheese dressing or ranch, depending on my mood.  I add celery and onion to my egg salad and tuna salad, too.  The doctor told me to use more breads (other than plain white bread) that are dark.  When I told him I use 5 grain breads a lot, he thought that was great.  I'm not a fan of whole wheat (too sweet) although it's not too bad as toast.  I picked up a big bag of frozen veggie mix (California blend it's called).  It contains carrots, squash, broccoli and cauliflower.  It's yummy and I can actually eat a big bowl of that for a meal at times.  I think that, overall, my diet isn't too bad as long as it's not something the Beast fries up.  He actually adds oil to things I would never do.  But I have gotten him to use more olive oil sparsely and he DOES try.  But that's something new for him.  He loves shortening and lard.  It's his father's influence from when he was a kid.  It just doesn't taste good to him unless it's dripping grease. 

    I spent a lot of time just napping today since I don't seem to be sleeping well at night.  The days being cooler has helped and I put the fan in my window yesterday and it's been much cooler in my room for sleeping.  Makes it easier for me to drop off while watching TV. 

    Chewlee starts school tomorrow and I will be anxious to find out how her first day went when she's dropped off here.  It's been too long since we saw her last.

    Love you all.  Have a great week, ya hear? 

Comments (2)

  • Actually, fruits can make your blood spike very high in a short period of time so you should be careful how much fruit you eat. This is why they recommend orange juice when you have low blood sugar. Veggies, on the other hand are a much better choice. I always eat lots of veggies anyway, so that's not an issue for me. It's the carbs in pasta, potatoes and bread that I have to watch and I'm not a big fan of whole grain breads. I can eat them for a short time, and then I just HAVE to have some white bread. The V-8 and Glucerna are good choices. Good luck.

  • I know that but convincing the Beast is something else.  I drink only a kid's size glass, smaller than a normal juice glass so that keeps it under control.  What I refuse to have him do is add the grapes to any juice he makes.  Eight of those are really high in sugar and I watch how many I add to my diet very closely when they are in the house.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *