April 24, 2013

  • Another Busy Day

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I woke up early and felt great.  After having our morning coffee on the patio (with very little pollen around), I came into the house and got dressed so I could do a few things that were needed out in the garden.  I had to cut some more asparagus, plant a couple more bush beans since only four plants had germinated from the seeds I planted.  I also had to put the string up for the cucumber plants since they are showing tendrils.  I pulled a few weeds that were starting in the planters since it's easiest when they are small.  The Beast bought enough strawberries (and what looks like roots too) so that one whole planter is going to be strawberries.  He even got them all planted after he added some Miracle Grow soil to the end portion.  It needed it. 

    I also had some more flowers that needed planting but I wanted to wait for Chewlee to get home so we could plant them together.  Since it is HER flower garden (just ask her), I knew she would want to select where the flowers would go.  She did but I put one plant (a leafy, decorative one) where *I* wanted it but she thought it was perfect where I wanted to put it.  At least, that's what she told me when I showed her where I was putting it.  I had to feed my rose bush since it should be budding but isn't.  The Beast picked up rose food and I let Chewlee water it in.  It's a slow release plant food and I hope it works. 

    I also folded some clothes that needed folding and putting away.  I DID screw up in one way because I forgot to leave out my pajamas for tonight after taking my shower.  Guess I'm going to have to do that in the morning instead.  The Beast went to bed early since there was no basketball game tonight.  He was tired because he didn't get his nap today.  He was busy outside, too.  He mowed and weed whacked the back.  It needed weed whacking desperately.  I haven't checked if he did it along the back fence but he got everything I felt was important.  I DID have to pull a few weeds that were popping out from under the stairs and along the hose that was threaded from under the deck to the water outlet.  It leads to the hose that is wound around the hose holder so it can stay there and no one will be tripping over it and the Beast won't run over it with the mower.

    The Beast forgot to close the gate at the bottom of the stairs and weed whack behind it so I cut what I couldn't pull out with the scissors I had from the string.  It's probably the busiest I have been in months and months.  I had some very tired legs and a tough time climbing the stairs but I made it.  As long as I can sit down for a bit, I'm fine.  Just 5 minutes of rest and I can get busy.

    I got to make my baked chicken today along with our garden asparagus.  I was going to make mashed potatoes and gravy but saw the Stove top stuffing in the pantry and made that instead.  It just looked good to me.  I DID add some celery, cut thin, and a bit of chopped onion to it.  I put it in the water that you boil (and the margarine or butter....I used butter) and it was just fantastic.  At least, that's the way it tasted to us both.  Just add a bit of gravy I made from some bullion with a touch of chives and parsley added.  Like I said, it was wonderful.  The Beast looked at me and said, *This is a great meal!*  It was so I just said, *Thanks!*

    Another Happy Face for Chewlee so she got two gum balls as a reward.  That always makes her happy.  She didn't want any chicken (she hates chicken with bones in it but I knew that).  I tried to get her to have soup and a sandwich but she only wanted her sandwich.  That was baloney and cheese (with butter...can you imagine?).  She doesn't like mayonnaise at all unless you don't tell her but she watched me making her sandwich.  She ate it along with a big glass of milk and I gave her strawberries as her dessert.  She damn near licks her bowl and she does drink the liquid.  That filled her up and she didn't ask for any more food.  Which is a first in a long time.  She is usually an eating machine but I think she didn't ask for salsa and chips because she knows she ate all the salsa we had in the house.  She also finished up the pickles we had and the Beast hasn't replaced them yet.

    I told the Beast I want to go to the store and pick up a few things for real meals for a change.  Until the garden gets going, I also want to get some more lettuce and some cucumbers for our salads.  We have plenty of tomatoes as well as other things I will put in the salads I make, depending on my mood (and taste buds...LOL).  The Beast doesn't really care as long as we have Thousand Island dressing or Blue Cheese to put on it.  I want Ranch or Blue Cheese so we do always keep those in the house.  He's also gotten some good Italian for those times we want that (or a guest may prefer it).

    Love you all.  Have a great Hump Day and enjoy whatever weather you are plagued with.