April 13, 2013

  • As The Stomach Turns….

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    It’s not that I don’t appreciate the Beast’s intentions but I just wish he would ASK me JUST ONCE if I would like this or that from the fast food joints around here (and we have many!).  But, no….he buys what HE likes and he ASSUMES that *I* will love it, too.  I may like something he picks up….just not TODAY.  I would have picked another item at the same place even but I was never asked.  **Sigh**  The end result is that I keep the item until I am damn near starving and then eat some of it.  It upsets my stomach more than it should because I am not happy with the feeling I MUST eat it or it’s a total waste of good money.

    We had something unusual happen to us today and the Beast wasn’t home when it happened either.  A tractor-flat trailer stopped across the road from our house and unloaded a riding mower.  I figured it was a hired person that was going to mow the unsold lots that really needed it.  But I was shocked to see the guy tearing around our lawn and the lot next door.  And I mean *tearing* around, mowing faster than I had ever seen one of those things move.  I was shocked.  All I could think was the Beast had asked him to do it OR a friend of his (the Beast has been trying to help him out because his allergies are so severe that normal medication for them has been hindering his healing from surgery) might have had the guy do it to return the favors.  I kid you not.  I had never heard of such a thing but Jason isn’t one to shirk anything.  He’d been reluctant to even do the surgery but older injuries were becoming infected due to certain metal items being left in his body (buck shot).  He used to be a kind of *wild* guy once upon a time but that’s another story….LOL.  It wouldn’t have been unlike Jason to do something like that.  But as of this minute, we are bewildered.

    Chewlee is asleep in my chair right now.  She asked me NOT to take a shower before going to bed so that we can *go to bed together*.  I told her that I had a few things to do (folding up a load of her clothes was one of those things) and she knew taking my shower was one of those.  I think she only fell asleep in my chair to make SURE I went to bed with her.  She told me that she can sleep alone at her house but, here at my house, she gets lonely without me.  I know when she was younger and slept here, she would come into my bedroom late at night and crawl in with me and go right back to sleep.  She would curl up with me and she was so cute, cuddly and warm.  I know that’s why she now feels like I HAVE to go to bed with her or she doesn’t sleep well (her words).

    Today was her day to play with Baron.  It was funny.  She had his favorite toy (a squeaky little dog) and she would throw it for him to get it, then march over and pull it out of his mouth, run a bit away and throw it again.  Dumb dog has always loved games where he has to go chase something to get it but has never learned to bring it back.  He’ll sit down and then wonder why we don’t throw it again.  Only Chewlee has the energy to do both fetching it and throwing it.  But I had to force her to stop when the Beast decided to go to bed early (around 8:30pm) and Baron wanted to do both play and go to bed with the Beast.

    Baron stinks and I told the Beast that tomorrow he gets a bath.  It’ll be warm enough to bathe him outside in the afternoon and the Beast can then take him down to PetsMart and get him some of those chew bones for dental health and fresher breath.  You can’t stand to have the dog breath near you, his breath is that stinky.  I checked his teeth and those look okay but I may brush them tomorrow anyway.  PetsMart is having a nail grinding special so the Beast can take care of that at the same time. 

    Chewlee is so excited about her sleepover at Birdie’s house that she can hardly stand the wait.  She’s been packing for three days.  But we finally got it down to an acceptable amount of things once she figured out that she didn’t have to bring play clothes (she would be wearing them) so it is just pajamas, clean underwear, her Sunday Go To Meeting dress, socks and shoes and the things she is taking for playing with.  That’s just some blank sheets of paper (for drawing), her markers and crayons and a coloring book.  Oh, and one of her bedtime story books.  It’s a Dora one, I believe.

    Time to get this posted (past time, I think).  Love you all.  Hope you all get some good weather and can enjoy your weekend.  We will have a good weekend at least.  The Princess will be back from Raleigh on Sunday.  I think she only had a day and a half of training classes and Chewlee is so happy she will see her mother.  She told me, very seriously, that she loved her mother just a little bit more than she loves me.  I just smiled.  I knew she didn’t want to hurt my feelings. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *