March 24, 2013

  • Boy, Did I Get It Wrong! What's New About That?

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    When the Princess kept saying *they* were going to the races, I made an assumption that was totally wrong.  I know that Johnnycakes loves NASCAR and that they have started their racing season so.....I assumed (made an *ass...out of  U..and ME) that the Princess was going to the races with Johnnycakes.  Wouldn't you?

    It turns out that she and about 20 other girls from her exercise class made the trip to watch an obstacle course race (at least I hope they were just watching but I could be wrong about that, too.  She was in a hurry to get home to soak her sore body....hmmm).  She mentioned that part of the obstacle course included something that was *flaming*.  Eek!  She did say she had fun but one of the girls hurt her back and thinks she slipped a disc.  Hmm!  It's starting to sound more and more like I should have asked more questions. 

    Chewlee was anxious to get started on our list of things to do.  When I finally poured enough coffee down my throat to wake me, we ate our breakfast (pancakes made by the Beast).  Chewlee only had a few bites of mine (soaked in syrup...I avoid that), then she grabbed an apple and declared it her breakfast along with a big glass of milk.  That's when she got herself dressed nice and warm (it WAS sunny but cool), put on her pseudo sheepskin vest jacket and told me she would meet me outside.  She declared we had watched TV (on the list) so next was riding bikes.  I told her I would watch her (too windy for me).  I got dressed nice and warm with my NBA sweatshirt (real one) instead of a jacket.  It's actually warmer than any of my jackets.  Add some blue jeans and warm socks and I was fine for sitting on the stairs with more coffee and watching Chewlee.

    We had to get the Beast outside with us so he could tighten up her training wheels.  One of them would kick UP at the slightest bit of weight on it.  How does that happen to a bike that has just been sitting for a while?  Sheesh.  She raced up and down the driveway while the Beast encouraged Baron to *go get her*.  It meant both of them got some good exercise and fresh air. 

    Chewlee searched for a rock that we could use to mark her fish's grave but couldn't find one that suited her.  I told her that I would try to find a piece of wood that would work and we could do that in a few days.  We should have her tomorrow since the Princess has an evening class at the other campus that she attends.  She had spring break from those classes last week.  That's the downside of attending two different campuses when their spring breaks are different.  But, when pressed by Chewlee, she told her that they could go to the aquarium AND the zoo on different days and that *daddy* might be able to go with them on one day (I assume that means on his day off). 

    She didn't balk at leaving but I know she doesn't really understand what spring break will mean to her normal daily schedule.  I think she will enjoy her extra time with her mother but she will also not like all the changes this week.  She does love to know what to expect every day and this week will throw her a curve.  It's funny that she knows she won't have any school but doesn't realize that she won't be spending Monday AND Tuesday nights here.  Also that there is no bus that will be coming into play with bringing her here every day after school (except for Wednesday when she has gymnastics and her mother picks her up afterward).  It's going to be a shock to her....LOL.

    She is so excited about the idea of going to Chicago and seeing Kay and her cousin, Ray.  She also is eager to see my girlfriend, Marilyn, again.  She even sent Marilyn an *I love you* message.  I still have high hopes of not having the Beast along with me but will have to get closer to the time before I know for sure.  I lost a toe, not my ability to drive.  He still has this idea that I am not able to manage even though I planned my trip carefully so that HE would not have a reason to worry. 

    Oh well.  Much cooler weather expected tomorrow but sunny and clear.  I can go along with that.  I decided to encourage the Beast by peeling potatoes for him tomorrow so he can make his potato pancakes.  He loves feeling that everyone loves them because he worked hard to perfect them.  Actually, everyone here DOES love his potato pancakes.  I know Tara and the Princess will scarf them up if he makes enough and they are here.  They just nuke them and add butter, salt and pepper.  Me?  I like sour cream on mine, too. 

    Love you all.  Have a great week.  I'll be here. 

Comments (5)

  • You should check Facebook more often if you want to know what Kristen is up to. ; )

  • It was a 5K obstacle run, like I have told you. Nobody watches NASCAR in this house lol. We ran through mud, jumped over gay hails- leaped through water and had a blast. There were 20 people from my gym, men AND women, not my "exercise class" lol. Love you. 

  • I'm sorry but I try not to keep you when you are tired and in a rush to get home at night.  I'm just used to the fact that, here in the South, a *race* means NASCAR....LOL  I'm just glad you had a good time and didn't get hurt.

  • I went home and passed out lol. We may live in the south, but Jonathan would NOT bring me to a NASCAR race lol. 

  • Oh yes he would if you would go!  LOL

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment