January 28, 2013

  • Chewlee Has An Amazing Day

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Chewlee's teacher was so happy about the way things went with her today that she texted the Princess to tell her.  She said it was the absolute best day she had ever had with Chewlee.  Chewlee, although happy she got a smiley face, was really kind of blase' about her day.  She smiled and we did a ^5 about her day but then she was just apologizing to me about her pink nail polish being dried up and she was sorry because she knew I liked pink.  I told her it was okay, I liked purple, too.

    Later, when she was chattering away, she told me she had helped someone (she told me the name but I forget...she talks about so many of her classmates in a rush) with their work and someone else that was being bullied.  She wanted to know why some kids are bullies and I asked her why SHE thought they might be.  She sure came up with some interesting (and possibly correct) ideas.  Like they are just looking for attention, they are just mean, they might be bullied by someone else and getting even 'cause they are mad....there were others.  Made my jaw drop with how her mind was working. 

    She came home with this little book that they had put together.  It has five pages with just a couple short sentences, one on each page.  She read them to me without the aid of anything visual (you had to turn the page over to get that).  She raced through it but got every word right.  It reminded me a bit of what she's going to be reading when they hit the *Dick and Jane* books or whatever they are using now as primers.

    She then asked if it was okay for her to use my Nook and she went to *her* library section and picked out a book to be read to her.  First, I had to explain to her what the different tabs were (Read and Record, Read to Me, Read by Myself).  They are each a different color so she knows which one is which now.  I told her that when she can read ALL the words to any of the stories, we will use the Read and Record one so that then the book can read in HER voice.  She thought I was kidding her but I told her it could do that and I meant it.  I figured it was just another little bit of motivation for her to read.

    Today begins her two nights staying with us.  I don't sleep much when she's here mainly because I am afraid of oversleeping the time I need to get her up and ready for the bus.  It's been many years since I had to worry about that kind of thing.  Worse for me tomorrow is the fact that I have to go to Huntsville for my appointment with my retinal doctor.  I know I am going to have to have more surgery on the left eye but I would like to wait on that for a while if I can.  I am lucky my bladder wakes me up every few hours and I check the time to find out if I need to stay up or not.  My bladder is like my own personal alarm clock. 

    But tomorrow morning, after the bus picks up Chewlee, I will wake up the Beast if he wants to come with me.  Otherwise, I'll just get dressed and leave out of here by 8am to make my appointment.  On the way home, I'll stop at Publix up there to pick up some good lunch meats and great bread.  I think I'll pick up a couple kaiser rolls for sandwiches and a box of my artificial sweetener, too.  Their generic is as good as what I normally buy and about half the price.  The Beast never thinks about that for me.  To him, it's not a big deal.  But look at all the sweets he makes.  I just never eat them but he doesn't  pay attention to that either.  He eats almost all of it and then complains because he's outgrowing the new pants he bought a couple months ago. 

    Chewlee spent the evening playing NickJr games on the Beast's computer.  She keeps doing dumb things because she doesn't stop to think before she clicks on different things.  I told her if she keeps doing the same thing over and over, I am going to bar her from playing on NickJr for a full week.  That way, maybe she will do better about remembering.

    Bath time for Chewlee so I am going to get this posted.  Strange weather around the country tomorrow.  Our area is going to have temps in the 70's.    I know!  But then very cold weather after that weather passes.  I just hope we don't get any tornadoes since there IS a chance.  Worse, it would be during the evening to late night hours that they might hit us.  Guess I will have to get out the weather radio and turn it on in case.  I hate the warning sound but it's there to wake you up if you are sleeping.

    Love you all.  Be cautious if you are in the snow areas.  Stay warm and drive carefully if you must drive in it.  If you are in an area threatened by the possibility of a tornado, please, please stay alert and careful.  Be safe everyone.