March 24, 2011

  • Is It Fruit Yet?


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Almost all the trees that blossomed last week have now lost those same blossoms (except for the crab apple tree which still looks amazing with it's red blooms).  So, of course, today the Beast was outside inspecting alll the trees to see what he could see.  I was looking at the Alberta peach and discovered.....little baby peaches!    And we found little pears on two of the pear trees out front.  I didn't go inspect the cherry trees with him because some of them still have blossoms on them and I'm more interested in the end product.  I'll let the Beast worry over their daily development.  It will keep him busy. 

    Surprised Chewlee today by picking her up from preschool.  All the teachers that work with her know all about me.  Chewlee tells them that she has to be good and go potty or she can't go stay at Gramma's house.  They all think it's funny how excited she gets when I show up. 

    Today she couldn't wait to show me her new shoes.  They look like a variation on Roman sandals and they are adorable.  She even ran over to show Papa when we got here at the house.  She looked so cute today with part of her hair pulled back so it wouldn't get in her eyes and her mother just gave her wet hair a twist and it was just full of ringlets hanging down with one very long one right in the middle.  She had a cute blouse on in a red print and a beige skort that looked like a mini-skirt.  At first, I looked at it and thought the Princess was crazy to buy her a skirt of any kind until I realized what it was.  And she was proud of the fact that she is still wearing her *big girl panties*.  She's gotten really good about getting to the pot on time so she doesn't have any *accidents*.  If she so much as gets a drop of liquid on her panties, she will NOT wear them.  I understand that but, since I don't have spare underwear for her here, it can pose a problem. 

    The Beast told the Princess the other day that he was glad they didn't live here with us any more since he couldn't afford the toilet paper that Chewlee uses on a daily basis.  I had to tell her she wasn't allowed to take her own any more because I was finding that she either halfway clogged the toilet or I found unused toilet paper in the waste basket.  A LOT of unused toilet paper.    She, of course, thinks she can do that herself since she is now going potty all the time...by herself!  I told her she had to learn about how much toilet paper to use to wipe herself and, until then, I would help her when she was here.  And I do show her.  She told me tonight...*I can do that!* like it finally dawned on her that she didn't have to have a huge handful of it to wipe her butt.  I also showed her how to stop the toilet paper on the roll when she had unrolled enough.  It never occurred to her to use BOTH hands. 

    She is in such a hurry to grow up.  I remember feeling like that as a kid.  I told her that she would grow up fast enough.  Just enjoy being a kid and playing and learning while she can.  But she wants to go to *big kids school* and *ride on the bus* and a lot of other things.  She gets excited and starts talking faster and faster until you can barely understand her.  I have to keep telling her to slow down because she is talking way too fast for Gramma's old ears.  She insists I am not old.  Know why?  I asked her and she told me because I don't have a bald head and I still play.    Out of the mouths of babes.

    In between inspecting some of the trees this morning and picking up Chewlee this afternoon, I managed to do a little wash.  A LITTLE?  OMG, you should have seen the huge load of whites that were almost all the Beast's underwear and socks.  He wears an undershirt most of the time or one that pretends to be something else because it has a pocket on it.  He likes those because he can wear them without a shirt over it when the weather is so-so.  He likes them in hot weather, too, because they soak up a lot more sweat and he can really sweat!

    Bratfink told me the Boy was towed home the other day.  The van has apparently died a hard death.  Since he had sold his truck, it meant they had no vehicle.  He, however, went out and bought another van like the one that died, only newer.  And it's grey or silver.  Bratfink says silver, the boy says grey.  Take your pick. It even has what she thinks (she hasn't seen it but the Boy said he found a TV in it) is one of those built-in DVD players for the passengers in the back.  He spent the day clearing out the old van since the dealer is coming to tow it away tomorrow.

    He has also decided to remodel the house he inherited from his mother rather than look around for another.  It will cost a lot less money, all-in-all, and allow him to keep more of the cash he has.  It makes sense to me since the house is paid for so there's no mortgage to worry about.  Better to make yourself more comfortable where you are if you can than try to find someplace you like better.  You could waste a lot of time that way.  Look who's talking.  I sent the Beast off by himself (well, he took along a buddy) when we decided to look for a summer place for him.  He ended up buying a brand new house instead of a possible fixer cottage that we imagined having to buy.

    Love you all and I really hope you had a good Hump Day.  Only today and Friday until the end of the work week.  I hope you have some decent weather, although Bratfink says their temperature is going down radically.  I guess it's going to be another weird year for weather.  **Sigh**