August 27, 2010

  • I Guess It's Just A Matter Of Fact....


    Today our high was around 86 and would you believe that it actually didn't feel bad to me?  The humidity was low (38%) so I'm sure that helped but, come on now!  86 feeling balmy?  It was darn near comfortable to me.    I guess you really can get used to darn near anything given time.  We've had weather in the 90's (and mostly HIGH 90's) since May.  Think a bit over 3 months is long enough?  I figure it must be.

    Today my one and only grandson turned 18.  I'm still in shock thinking about it.  I remember when Hurricane Andrew hit our area and my daughter-in-law was due at any time.  She was supposed to be at the local hospital since so many women that are due give birth during hurricanes due to the barometric pressure.  She and Markus Aurelius came to our house to wait out the storm.  We had a cement reinforced concrete block house with cement tile roof.  They lived in an apartment building that we weren't sure what it was made out of.  I kept telling her she could NOT give birth because it was not in my job description to help bring my own grandchild into the world.  She gave birth two days later, phew!  So, I say, *Happy Birthday, Doc.  I love you!*  Doc is my nickname for him because his initials are MD (first and middle names).  I also knew it irritated my daughter-in-law a bit so there's a bit of the bitch thrown in there, too.   

    Chewlee was cute when we got here after preschool.  The Beast was sitting in his recliner, watching TV so she just looked at him, grabbed her high chair and started pushing it towards my computer room.  As she's doing that, she was putting in her order for what she wanted to eat (noodles...of course...and juice).  After getting her settled, I filled her order and she settled in to watch Dora while she ate her noodles.  The Princess told me she doesn't eat chicken noodle at home but she gets a different kind.  In a way, I was kind of glad to hear that because I could imagine her eating it at both places.  Yuk!

    I told the Princess it seems like every kid has some food they get obsessive over for various phases of their life.  Mustachio did it with hot dogs; the girls did it with fried bologna.  Those were the longest lasting phases so I remember those the best but there were others. 

    When the Princess got here, she was a bit stressed.  She surprised me by getting here early and Chewlee hadn't been eating long.  I expected the Princess to hit the gym before picking her up but she said she had a bad day and only wanted to get home and decompress for a while.  Chewlee told her in no uncertain terms that she was EATING.  While the Princess and I were talking, she had her eyes glued to the TV while continuing to eat.  She did, at one point, tell me that she couldn't eat with the spoon I gave her.  She needed HER spoon...the one with the red handle....and told me I had to get it for her.  That cracked up the Princess that Chewlee had to have her *special* spoon. 

    Every time the Princess asked her if she was done yet, she would say, *I am almost done* or *Pretty soon* or *Almost*.  She finally looked down and told her mother, *I'm done now*.  The two of them left and I turned off Dora (I had seen that episode...LOL).  The sudden quiet was really wonderful.  Chewlee comes in here super-charged most days and you are scarcely aware of it until she leaves and the quiet descends on the house.  It's amazing.  I do know that it really can wear me out at times.  When I have her all day on Saturdays, I am totally worn out when she's picked up.

    The Princess signed up Chewlee for the *Head Start* program here.  The list is long and places are limited but she is hoping that Chewlee may get in by the first of the year.  The Princess would like to be able to work part-time and go back to regular college classes instead of online ones.  She misses that and could get a babysitter for the couple hours every day after the Head Start classes are over.  I guess that means she is taking some pity on me since she knows the Beast and I do like to travel together at times and I can't do that as things are right now.  We shall see.

    Well, time to get this posted and hopefully, this won't disappear into cyberspace.  I've copied and pasted it in an email...just in case...  Love you all and I hope you have a great day.  More *mild* weather for us tomorrow and I hope it's the same for you all.