July 30, 2010

  • Will This Weather Never End?


    The Beast rewarded himself today by going to the shooting range.  This time just for shits and giggles, I think, more than he needed the practice.  I told him he should call over at Tara's and see if he could pick up her older boy but he wasn't in the mood for that.  I think another thing he's learning to enjoy is going some places without dragging Baron along.  He doesn't have to worry about how hot it is or how long the dog has been in the car when he goes to the range.  Sure, why would he have to worry?  I get the dog just driving me nuts with his padding all over the place, looking out the windows and heaving big sighs.  He also exaggerates when he lays down (so that I know he's depressed) by loudly plopping down on the wood floor somewhere close to me.  Then he heaves another big sigh.  I sometimes sneak a peek and I find he's got his eyes slanted over to the side to see if I paid any attention.  If I let him see me looking, he quickly looks away.  Just what I need...a melodramatic dog!

    I had hopes that the weather wasn't going to be too bad today because it hit noon and it was still only 86.  But...never fear!  It was almost scary how the temperature went quickly up from there so that it was 95 degrees by 2PM.  Hot is hardly the word for it.  It's brutal for this area.  I keep hoping against hope for some decent weather.  Everything that grows is suffering around here, too.  One of my neighbors said to me that the only things that seem to be thriving are the weeds.    I had noticed that much myself.

    I hurt Chewlee today.  It was an accident but I still feel just awful over it.  She got her fingers caught in the door jamb of the storm door from the garage to the house.  I know she put her hand there just to help her get up the stairs but I should have been more aware.  I was behind her and started to let the door close.  I thought she stopped because the dog was charging towards us but then looked and saw what it was.  She wouldn't let me touch it, kiss it or even put ice on it.  But, I gave her juice with ice in it and she DID put the fingers in it.   Later on, when I was cleaning off her hands after she had eaten some soup, I checked them.  I think they will be sore but it doesn't look like she's going to lose the nails or anything.  I was hoping they hadn't been *caught* long AND the door wasn't fully closed either.  **Phew** but it doesn't make me feel any less guilty.

    The Beast hasn't installed the new faucet in the kitchen yet.  I didn't ask him why and he never volunteered a reason.  I think he just wasn't up to it.  That usually happens after he's pushed himself to get things done and he DID get the properties mowed, trimmed and built my rain barrel stand in two days.  He did a lot of it in the heat and sun so that drains him physically for a few days.  So I put up with the dripping for another day or two.  It's not a big deal (except for the wasted water) and, if I work at it a bit, I CAN get it to stop or at least space the drops so far apart that I feel better.

    All the parts are finally in for the Princess's car so the job of restoring it to pre-tornado condition is underway.    They promised her it would be done before her birthday on the 9th so we shall see what happens.  The big hold up was all the glass, especially the windshield.  That ended up cracking on her and wasn't covered by the insurance settlements.  Remember, shortly after the tornado damage was done to it, a cop car hit her.  She thinks the car is unlucky now.  She hadn't owned it a year and that made three times it was involved in some sort of accident.  The first one was where the guy in the Jaguar backed right into her while she was waiting for some food at the drive-thru.  She had no place to go with a car in front of her, one in back of her and the building to her left while this maniac zoomed into the passenger side of her car.  He seemed to totally ignore the horns being honked.  But, you know guys in a Jag.....they can't drive normal.  It's zip in and zoom out!  Like anybody really cared or was impressed except, perhaps, other young guys.

    The 10-day weather prediction isn't showing us getting any relief at all here.  As much as I sure don't want the weather the Midwest has been having,  a LITTLE bit of rain would be welcome, not the deluge they seem to be getting.  I sure hope you all are keeping cool and safe, wherever you are.  Love you all and talk to you again tomorrow.