July 28, 2010

  • Who made you boss, anyway?

    I don't know about you but I sure hate when someone tries to tell me what I *must* do.  Or, even worse, try to tell me that something I have been doing for years should be done differently.  I usually retort with, *If you can do it better or faster, why don't YOU do it instead?* 

    It's usually the Beast that comes up with shit like that.  Most of the stuff he butts in on I have never seen him put his hand to.....ever!  I was applying a patch to Baron's bedding cover and he started to tell me how I was doing it all wrong.  Now, mind you, he has NEVER done it.  He didn't read instructions or anything like that.  He objected to my starting at one end (I was covering a long tear) and slowly applying the iron while checking to make sure the fabric underneath didn't move.  To him, I was making things difficult.  I guess I am supposed to lay it out then sneak up with the iron over the entire thing at once.  Trouble is, the fusion webbing I was using wasn't big enough to cover it all at one time anyway.  DUH!  When I asked him if HE wanted to do it, he backed off right away telling me I had already started so go ahead and finish.  In reality, he didn't even want me to patch it.  He was going to go look for a replacement cover. 

    That pissed me off because I figured if Baron did it, he should keep the damn thing until, and IF, he ever deserves another one.  He is still nibbling on stuff around here and has made a hole in another quilt.  **Sigh**  I told the Beast to just live with it until HE can get the damn dog to stop that shit.  I'm so tired of my nice things being destroyed by a damn animal.  He's worse than any of our kids ever thought of being.  Spoiled rotten?  Yes, he definitely is but, right now, that's the Beast's closest buddy.  The animal adores him.  Me?  He listens to me and often begs for my attention but it's the Beast he prefers.

    The Beast bought me my rain barrel today.  It's really cool and different from my girlfriend Shelly's at their cabin.  That one was open and the family had put some screening over it.  If you wanted the water, you had to dip it out.  This one comes with a fitted top that includes screening on it.  One screen is the right size for a downspout to lay over.  The other one is both for ventilation and to keep bugs out.  Somehow I doubt it would keep out some of the ants around here but there is a spigot at the bottom of the barrel for attaching a hose (like the trickle one I want) or to fill up a bucket.  He's going to build a platform for it to raise it up off the ground so you CAN get a bucket under it,  if necessary.  He said it was the last one they had at the farm equipment supply house.  The gal said they had a lot of people that came in and bought them this year.  Wonder why?

    It didn't get as hot here as predicted so the Beast did go out and start cutting the lawn.  He doesn't have the trim work done yet but he's gotten a start on that at least.  He still has another day's work on the other property next to us.  It takes longer because of all the young trees there.  He is anxious for it to cool down a bit so he can do more spraying of the trees.  I told him that the sun, and lack of rain, are helping get rid of the fungus so he shouldn't worry all that much.  My big concern is how the hell much hotter are we going to get in August, which is traditionally the hottest month here?  It's been in the 90's almost every single day since May.  That is truly extremely unusual for our area.  Our norm for this time of year is in the lower 80's.  And that isn't every single day, either. 

    Right now they are saying we will be getting some rain again, most likely after the sun goes down.  At least it will help cool down everything and I'm enjoying not having to water my plants.  I check them, of course.  Just in case. 

    Well, love you all and I hope you have a great day.  Just remember, there's only today (Wednesday when you read this) and two more before the weekend!