October 30, 2007

  • The Cataract Surgery, Coming of Winter and Holidays ahead

    I’ve been bad about this entry. Mostly because I have rediscovered the wonder of clear vision. Well, almost clear since I still have one eye to go. But to say the operation to remove the cataract from my left eye was a success is almost not a strong enough phrase.

    The wait on the day of surgery was frustrating because I hadn’t eaten and it was 11 am when I was told to show up at the Eye Surgery Center in Huntsville. It was over an hour before I was brought *inside* and *prepped*, which means I got my blood sugar taken (because I am diabetic and they didn’t want it to be too low) and then talked to the anesthesiologist. He ordered the IV, which was then administered and that was the last I saw of him. It turns out I was one of 15 patients being done that day. The chair I was in is, apparantly, a surgical chair because I never left it until I was done. After the IV was flowing, the nurse made me nice and comfortable, gave me a couple warm blankets (it was cold in the pre-op room) and told me to try to rest. There were 8 patients in *my* room. I assume the others were in a different room. One-by-one, each was removed and never seen again. Wouldn’t you know *I* was number 15?

    About a half hour before I was finally going to be taken care of, my eye was filled with some kind of gel. It was checked about 15 minutes later and more gook given. When I finally was wheeled into the operative room, I was so very grateful, I wouldn’t have cared if I wasn’t ready (only joking!). More drops and the doctor just told me to look towards the light. I felt nothing and don’t think I even blinked unless I was told to do so. At one point, he told me to look to my left and I did so. Then the nurse was putting a plastic shield over my eye and I knew it was done. It was totally painless and couldn’t have taken more than 15 minutes or so. I was given post-operative instructions, including the fact that I was to wear the plastic shield until I got home and then reapply it each night at bedtime for a week. I have three different types of eyedrops, two of which I use for the first week as instructed and the third I will use for a total of four weeks.

    On the drive home, my vision was a bit on the fuzzy side and I told the Beast that when he kept asking me if I could *see better*. I guess he thought it happened in an instant. Well, actually, I wasn’t sure exactly when I would be able to tell. I did as instructed though and went to bed happier because it was so effortless and I had been worried about that fact.

    But….the next morning….as I sat at the kitchen table, looking out the back door, I was suddenly struck by the fact that I could SEE! I mean, really and truly see clearly and it was amazing to me. The colors looked more vivid and the edges of things were crisp and clear. I almost cried when I realized it and how long it had been since I had seen well. Vision is an incredible thing and, when you start to lose it, you suddenly become afraid of losing it entirely because it’s a scary idea. I’m grateful that my eye problems are now so easy to fix with the advances in the medical field. If anyone you know has cataracts, tell them to GO FOR THE SURGERY! There is nothing to fear, no pain, no discomfort even. Maybe a little frustration when you are forced to wait for hours and, oh yes, bring a snack along or head directly to McDonald’s or someplace because you will be HUNGRY afterwards.

    Tomorrow, actually later this morning, I go to the orthopedic doctor and find out if I can give up this darn brace on my wrist and start to do some normal things. It’s difficult to do most things when you can’t use your left hand I have discovered to my chagrin. It was the end of August when I broke the wrist so I know it’s weak by this time. I will have to build up the strength in it slowly, I am sure. But, I do most things a lot slower these days.

    The Beast and I have been taking rides to some of the different sites around here that have scenic overlooks and hiking paths (but we aren’t hiking). We are watching the leaves turning colors which we haven’t enjoyed in years due to living in Florida for so long. Its also an amazing thing to be able to see it and enjoy it the way I can now.

    I’ve also been discussing with my youngest son what we will do for the Christmas Holiday. We will be spending two days of Thanksgiving up in North Carolina with the Beast’s aunt and getting to spend time with some of the family we haven’t seen for a while. It should be fun. We were going to take Baron with us but couldn’t find a pet friendly motel closer than 35 miles and that was down a very wind-y and up and down mountain road so my niece, Tara, is going to keep him for the two days we will be gone. Bless her heart. She had originally planned on driving down to Tallahassee to spend Thanksgiving with her brother and his family (and her dad and his) but decided that it would be too darn stressful with all the stress she’s been under for the past few months. So she’s staying home and making dinner for her own family and a few friends. Otherwise, we would have to MAKE that darn ride to the pet friendly motel and the Beast HATES it with a passion.

    My son and I discussed several options for the Christmas Holidays and I still have to talk with my daughter-in-law about a few things but I feel like I will at least be able to plan on what gifts to get and meals to plan. I know it will be here sooner than I think even with planning ahead. At least I should have both hands I can use. And both eyes. The right eye will be done on November 8th. Thank you if you said a prayer for me. I truly do appreciate it and it helped.

    Well, time to go back to bed and try to get a couple more hours of sleep before I have to get up, shower and go to the doctors office. It’s 40 degrees out here and it’s not even the coldest part of the night. Frost warnings were issued earlier and I forgot to bring in my potted flowers on the deck, darn it. Oh well. C’est la vie!

    Have a great day and give your loved ones an extra hug. Be sure to tell them you love them as often as you can.

    Love you all.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *