June 25, 2012
-
Late Again!
TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM
The Beast was always known for his quick wit when we were kids. Although he could be cruel at times (I used to think unintentionally), he usually elicited a few laughs. His puns were real groaners. Lately, when he gets up (every two hours) to have something to drink or nibble on (second time is pain pill time), he seems to be trying to get into this same type of mind frame. It's not working well partly because I have been around him for so many years that he's kind of worn that part of my funny bone out. I know how cruel he can be and I kind of am waiting for the other shoe to drop and for it to be aimed at ME specifically. Right now, he's aiming it at some of the newscasters on the channels he watches that try hard to be politically correct and usually fall short of being able to be taken seriously as reporters.The first time he tried it, I honestly thought he was sleepwalking. He used to do a lot of that when he was younger but I thought the infection might have hit his brain or something like that because much of what he said didn't make sense to me. Then I realized that he was TRYING to be funny. It made me kind of sad at the same time it scared me a bit. But he's continues to do it nightly. He's just a bit better at it the past few days. But it did make me push him to go into the doctor's office tomorrow and insist on speaking to him. This infection is still not under control or the pain would be gone by now. He might have to try to urinate while he's there (another problem that should be gone and has been in the past). Besides, I would love to be able to sleep a whole night through and so would he, I know. He says he is definitely going in tomorrow and I am going to encourage him. I hate to think of the consequences if the bacterial infection he has is one of the resistant ones. It could kill him and that scares me.
In other news, I seem to have inadvertently caused an upset for Sheepie that wasn't intentional at all. When she was here and we were talking, I told her that she should be aware that not everyone was happy that she and Teach were living together. I tried to make her understand that it was a normal reaction that parents have because we would prefer our kids were married before they live together but that's the way things seem to go these days no matter WHAT we feel. She must have taken it that the father wasn't happy she was there at all and that part I don't know. I never wanted to give that impression to her that I knew exactly what he was thinking, just a reaction he relayed and, as a parent, I understood it. I wasn't happy when the Princess and Johnnycakes moved in together but I knew it wasn't MY life or MY decision to make so I just let the chips fall where they would. I'm sure that's what Teach's parents feel, too, so let's not kid each other. Better to be up front and just go on from there. There's no dislike or anything to go with an opinion. It's just that and life goes on. Sorry, Sheepie. I didn't know that would make you unhappy. I love you much and want you to be happy. I know you seem very happy and so does Teach. Please tell Teach's parents that I apologize if I got it wrong or misread them.
I can be a real idiot at times that way. I tend to forget that many people have more layers to them than I even think to look for. I tend to take people as they seem to be and not read things into their actions most of the time. It can make me look like a real dummy to lots of people. With as often as I have been *burned*, you would think I would have learned by my age. Then there are times I read more into a person than there is and look like a jerk when I am wrong. I just can't seem to win. I should find a cave and just stay there.
Got to go. It's raining heavy here and my internet is still on again, off again. Makes me crazy at times. Love you all. Be happy. Hope you have an uneventful work week.

Recent Comments