TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM
Chewlee was really funny today. Her little tidbits weren't gut wrenching, just short little bursts like, when I objected to her coloring in the Christmas tree I had drawn for her, she said, *But that tree is for ME, Grandma,NOT YOU. And I like it all black.* Even Buttmunch almost fell into the room as she was walking by and heard that. She had a whole bunch of little observations she kept throwing at us, here and there. She thanked Sheepie for peeling her tangerine at lunchtime because she could only peel it in tiny pieces and it took her too long. She then said, *When it takes too long, I don't even want it any more.*
I was brushing her hair (it was just messy because she had a bath just an hour or two beforehand), when she turned to me and said, *Grandma....you need to brush it HERE (as she pointed to the opposite side of her head from where I had started brushing). My hair thinks you don't care how you are brushing it and it's going to get mad and tangle if you don't do it right.*
At one point, I got annoyed at the fact that she wasn't putting on her shoes before her mother got here to pick her up after work (early night for closing). I said I was going to leave a note for Santa to tell him she wasn't being good. She turned to me and said, *I'm going to tell him that you are just saying that to get me in trouble and then YOU will be in a LOT of trouble with Santa.* When I told her that Santa only came to the houses with kids, she looked at me so sad and said, *Doesn't he like OLD people??* What a kid....**smack!**
After Chewlee left, Buttmunch got some lights up on the front porch and we got some of the inside decorations going for us. It feels much more festive now. I was ready to throw out the old ham from the fridge when Buttmunch yelled at me to save the bone. I told her I would have a bone with this new ham so she said, *Well, freeze it and I'll take it home with me.* The Beast told her to come and take the whole section left, get it wrapped up and in the freezer for herself. She was on her feet and it was taken care of in two shakes of a lamb's tail. Guess the added meat with it will help flavor a soup or two.
I did Buttmunch's hair today. It kind of surprised me how much gray she has in her hair. You can check mine out and I don't have all that much. I think it's the kids with the darker heads of hair that seem to head towards silver fastest. She wants her hair to be totally gray/silver/white before she stops dyeing it. I can understand that. It's what the Beast's Aunt Donna did. Once her hair showed up totally white at the roots, she no longer dyed it. When it grew out several inches, she had it cut in a flattering style and never again was she anything but white haired. I was born a blonde, I will die a blonde. I hope. Guess it depends on when and where I am when that happens. If I am senile and in an old folks home, well, c'est la vie! The best I can hope for is that it won't look bad.
Busy day tomorrow for us. We'll be getting up early to put things together to get ready for the oven. Boy, would I love one of those double oven stoves, even if it DID mean losing out on that storage drawer. It would just make preparation a bit easier since we have so many things that need to go into the oven....and not all at the same temperatures. *Sigh* I know, I know....we all have the same things to contend with. WE learn, we make do. We adjust.
Buttmunch and I are sharing a nice bottle of sweet red wine that the BF picked up for us. He forgot to get my Mudslide BEFORE he went to the family gathering tonight so his family could all see the ring he had given to Sheepie and congratulate the newly engaged couple. I find talking to them about marriage easy since I am so matter of fact that it can't happen until he is out of college in a year and a half or so. I think it's actually two more years with his schedule of taking the various classes he had to take. You can't always take 16-18 credit hours a semester. Some courses are HARD and you can't take more than one of those at a time. At least, you try NOT to.
I told the BF, you sure don't want to have to move in with your folks as a newlywed before graduation so it's a good thing you two don't live closeby. They both laughed but I am pretty sure they both knew how I meant that. No surprises, guys....no surprises.
Love you all. I'm exhausted and Baron's farting woke me out of a sound sleep three times last night. I reached the point that I was afraid to fall asleep again because I came so close to barfing the third time. I finally got up and read news online until it got light. I slept in my recliner then for about 3 hours and had just woken up when Chewlee was here. Sheepie was funny because she was so anxious to see Chewlee enjoy the pj's she bought her that she had wrapped them and then told Chewlee if she was good taking her nap, she could open ONE present afterward. The present was, of course, said pajamas. She was right. Chewlee did and does love them. I don't think she would have taken them off if we had begged her. ![]()
MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL.....AND TO ALL...A GOOD NIGHT!!!!!! ![]()
. Sheepie was in taking a shower because she was expecting the boyfriend to come to pick her up shortly.
But I am at least able to eat something and keep it down. I've just been cautious about what I choose to eat. Anything greasy makes my tummy revolt. I expect that I will be getting better from this point. I'm kind of grateful that I won't have Chewlee for a few days. First of all, I don't want her to get sick if this is something *catchy*. She wears me down when she's here just with how active she can be. But I will miss her because she is so cute and funny without realizing it. I love to talk with her and see how her mind works. She has her own opinions about many things and you can't shake her convictions. All you can do is say, *Well, wait and see. You might find out differently when you get older.*
Recent Comments