Month: March 2011

  • The Beast And His *Significant Images*


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Today was the day the Beast said he was going to one of the waterfalls we have here in Alabama (and trust me, we have scads of them).  He finally got his butt out the door around noon.  The only good thing was he took Baron with him so I knew he was going to go to one of the tamer ones to get to.  Some of them that we visited were downright scary.  If a roadway had the incline that you have to traverse in order to get to your destination, we would have runaway trucks all over the place.  There's one that I told the Beast I would never return to unless I had a long, strong rope.  Put your foot the wrong way and it's a long way down!

    When he came back, I found out I was right.  He went to the falls in Gadsden.  Lots of families like to go there in warm weather just because it IS easy to get to and the waterfall is fun down at the beach area.  You also don't have all that damn duckweed to contend with either.    I hate the feel of it around your legs.  Yuk!

    So he immediately downloads all the *SI's* he's taken so he can look them over and decide what he's going to do with Photo Shop to improve them or enhance them.  The rest of the afternoon he drove me nuts because every little change he made, he needed my opinion on.  Some of them had changes that were really not noticable except to an *artiste* like he can be at times.  **Insert eye roll here**

    Actually, when we lived in California and the Beast competed in photo contests against professionals (and won several *Best of Show* trophies), one professional photographer called him *a photographers photographer*.  He meant that his clear, clean, crisp and absolutely perfect pictures were ones more appreciated by a professional than the general population.  His black and white photos were actually mind-blowing because of the crispness of them.  He had lots of white on white and all the detail would be perfect.  That's difficult to do and there was no Photo Shop at the time.  In fact, there was no internet even. 

    He and a friend, Wayne, were very competitive at these events.  Wayne had a totally different style, however.  He was more *trendy*.  You could see his pictures being in Mademoiselle or Vogue....heck, even Playboy.  The Beast's pictures were more earthy and suitable for families if you get my  meaning.  Nothing offensive or suggestive in them but very nice.  His landscapes were interesting even.  We did our own developing and printing then in our home darkroom.  It was actually fun.  His *SI's* were always ones that *spoke* to him or ones that he felt conveyed a feeling when you looked at it.  My biggest complaint was the amount of pictures that he threw out as trash because they weren't *perfect*.  One of my sisters actually went through his reject pile while visiting and took home a bunch.  She thought they were wonderful and couldn't see why the Beast had rejected them.  She framed them and used them at her house.  In fact, they were the only pictures she had in her whole house.  He has always been a perfectionist that way so you can imagine how crazy he can make me now when it's so easy to change a picture now that everything is digital.

    I was going to tell you a bit about Chewlee since she's here and is spending the night with us but I think I will make her the focus of tomorrow's blog.  She will be here until early evening since her mother works lunch and will be making the turnover for dinner.  She doesn't work late on Sunday because she has an early class on Monday.  I am pretty sure I can survive that long is she has even half the energy she's displayed today.  At least, I hope so.

    Love you all and here's another tidbit involving grandparents:  Grandchildren are God's way of compensating us for growing old - Mary H. Waldrip.

    Grandma's never run out of hugs or cookies - Author Unknown     

  • Disappointment And Some Scary News


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I just found out I am not getting Chewlee tonight.  **Insert sad face here**  By the time the Princess got her home, got her fed, made her clean up her room and then take a bath, Chewlee was ready to hit the sack BIG TIME!!!  So the Princess decided to stay home tonight and I will keep Chewlee overnight tomorrow.  It made me feel a bit disappointed because I was anxious to see her face when she saw we have so many things that are *her* treats back in the house.  Oh well.  Tomorrow is another day.

    We actually had sun here today.  A bit on the cooler side of 60 and windy but not a totally bad day.  Did more wash today since the Beast seems to be using two sets of underclothes nowadays.  He finally shared why with me yesterday.  He's got blood in his urine again.  We just looked at each other because the only time he's had that was when he had the tumor in his bladder.

    I think he's knows he's had one brewing because he started doing something he's never done before.  It started a couple weeks ago.  When he got up at night to use the bathroom, he started turning on the light.  Again, I should have suspected because the only reason he was doing that was to see if/when he started showing signs of blood in his urine.  When I called the urologist's office today, I couldn't believe it when the girl gave me an appointment for the 31st.    I mean, this is the same guy that operated on the Beast and just the fact that he's got blood in his urine AGAIN would make this somewhat of a red flag, don't you think?

    I told Bratfink that I know the doctor sees *new* appointments (first time for new problems) on Thursdays so I am going to call his office next Thursday morning just before the office opens and ask to talk to the doctor.  If I do that, I can possibly get him in before then.  The Beast doesn't like having that cable shoved up his *buddy* so the doctor can take a look but.....he IS worried just because this is the second time and it's in less than two years.  I told him that was why he was supposed to be going in every three months to have that done and, although I DO sympathize with him over the pain, HE was the one that decided not to go.  I didn't have to elaborate.  I swear, that is why women live longer than men.  Even if we don't like it, we do what we must when things happen to us and we are told that something or other must be done regularly.  That goes for pap smears, colonoscopys, mammograms, blood tests, whatever! 

    The Beast was told he had to have a colonoscopy well over a year ago.  Has he gotten it done?  Hell no!  He's never even had one done but he's *heard the stories* and was around me when I had my last one.  I don't mind the procedure as much as I dislike the preparation for it but no need to go into that, tyvm!  I WAS surprised to find out that I really only have to get one done every 10 years.    This doctor I have says every 5 years and, if true, I'll be getting one some time this year then.

    Mammograms are yearly, as are pap smears.  I get blood tests every three months since I am Type 2 diabetic.  The Beast only gets one every six months due to his cholesterol problem and he hates doing it THAT often.  I have problems with him taking his meds daily.  He wil miss a couple days, here and there, and think it doesn't matter.  After two strokes (and one a MAJOR one that left him paralyzed on one side for a year), you would think he would make SURE he took them every day.  **Insert eye roll here**

    Some of the song birds are back.  I had one in the dogwood tree outside my window two days in a row.  I have no clue what kind of bird it is but it has a sweet song.  I've tried twice to check and see what it was but some noise scared it off before I could see it so I could check it out.  All I saw was a flash of wings.  I think it's a noise *I* make getting up and looking out the window.  Maybe I will be lucky one moring...I can only hope.

    Love you all.  I wish you a great Saturday.  I don't envy you if you have to go grocery shopping today but, if you do, just smile a lot and don't rush.  It's the rushing that brings on frustration. 

  • I Should Have Seen It Coming!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I told you that the Beast *discovered* the movie making program that is part of Windows 7.  You can do some really cute things with your pictures and turn them into a slide show complete with music.  BUT....it started with him coming in and checking MY monitor.  He wanted to see what my resolution was set at and a few other things.  He had me put up a picture that we both had and then made me come in and look at HIS and then mine.  He was upset that my monitor was a cheaper model but my picture's clarity was so much better than his. 

    So, when the UPS guy showed up today....SURPRISE! SURPRISE!....there was a new monitor.  I knew he had ordered a new DVR player because his was giving him fits.  BUT....why I didn't suspect the new monitor shows how much I am slipping lately.  Oh, and get this!  He also bought a special tool of some kind that helps him calibrate the monitor.  <<THUD>>  Have you ever heard of such a thing?  I mean, I imagine techs use them but what the hell was he thinking?  He just HAS to have THE BEST and THE MOST PERFECT.  That is, in what he can control anyway. 

    I don't even want to know what it all cost.  I know stuff like that calibrator does not come cheap.  It even has an expensive LOOK.  He tried to impress me with how he could increase the size of his photos to 700-800% before it started to *break up* too much.  It WILL make using his Photo Shop program a heck of a lot easier and more seamless looking when he makes corrections. 

    I'll have Chewlee tomorrow night.  Grin.  She's going to spend the night, which will make her ecstatic when she finds out.  I'm sure the Princess will use it as a way to make her do something she doesn't want to do....like clean up her room before she brings her over.   

    The Beast ran to the store when he heard we would have Chewlee here for Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  He asked me if there was anything I could think of that I wanted him to get other than the few things he told me he was getting.  I told him to get bubble gum so I had it here as a treat.  I told him...*You know, the bubble gum like you pass out for Halloween.  Individually wrapped, roung things?*  He nodded like he heard me and understood but.....he came home with packs of Extra gum.  The five STICKS in a pack kind.  Definitely NOT what I wanted at all.  He DID get the salami Chewlee loves however so I guess I can forgive him for being a total idiot.   He's seen me give them to her.  Hell, he's seen her unwrap a few.  I swear, men don't really pay attention AT ALL.

    Well, all this rain has created a small lake under my window in our yard.  It extends under the deck, too.  I told the Beast that it probably means the crawl space is soaked, too.  He agrees but he's not going to plod through the water to the door to check.  He's going to worry the hell out of that because he hasn't pressure cleaned the deck yet to get rid of the mold and mildew on it.  He's going to be worried about spreading it in moist soil where it might take root (again) and we will have to go through the whole schmear again that we did last year and even this year.  I told him not to worry about pressure cleaning yet (the water will include something to kill the mold and mildew) until the ground is good and dry.  At least the wood isn't in contact with the water to help it along.

    Love you all.  Gotta go.  I want to finish vacuuming up the corners and around the bottoms of all the furniture in here before it gets too late.  Have a great day and I have a cute little quote for you grandparents (oh, and I am sure parents can relate, too).  Here it is:

     * When grandparents enter the door, discipline goes out the window*- Ogden Nash

  • What Is Worse Than A Bored Beast??


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    If there is anything worse than the Beast when he's bored, I think it's the Beast when he's found a fascinating new *toy*.  He discovered that there is a video program that comes with Windows 7 and he's like a kid in a candy store.  He's actually making me nuts because each new thing he has discovered, he has to either run in and tell me about it or he has to have me come and see it. 

    I was trying to clean up the kitchen stove top that the Beast got all greasy yesterday when he made his potato pancakes.  I don't know why I don't just accept that fact that he will never, never, never EVER clean up after himself.  He doesn't put anything away and he doesn't clean up his own mess.  I thought I could outwait him but, alas, grease on the stove top makes me nuts.  Plus, if he uses it again, he will just ignore that it's there and use it again.  Oh, and that isn't a good thing either.  The grease will burn and make the house smoky and smelly and then it's really difficult to clean off, too.

    The problem with the Beast is that he's gotten really good about loading and unloading the dishwasher.  If I load it up, he unloads it and will even put in any dirty dishes that are in the sink.  Other times, he loads it up and I unload it.  That's more than he used to do so I guess I should be grateful for that much.  Anyway, I am trying to clean up the mess in the kitchen and he kept coming out and dragging me in to see the AMAZING stuff he could do.  That's sarcasm in case you haven't figured that out.  I'm glad he has something that is occupying him since the weather stinks but I just want him to let me be.

    He's upset that he can't get out and put up his beetle traps and because he's still not sure if his peaches will get pollinated.  He swears he will go out and do it himself.  I told him I have the brushes to do it if he decides he wants to but it will be a heck of a job.  And today the nectarines bloomed.  Those are my favorites.  I told the Beast that even the flies could be doing the job and they are certainly out.  We know because the Beast killled two that were in the house bothering him.  When he complained about them not leaving him alone, I told him to stop smelling like he was dead then.    He went in and took a shower after I said that which only made me laugh harder.  It's actually his hair junk that attracts them. 

    Did I tell you about the fly traps he bought?  They are called *little stinkys*.  They are jars that the flies can get into but are unable to fly out of so they die.  Actually, they end up drowning in the water.  The attractant is some bait or other but when that runs out, you throw in a chicken wing and the more rotten it gets, the more flies it attracts.  Thankfully, you hang them in some corner or other OR, as we have done, under the eave of the house on the deck portion.  Hopefully, that will keep the flies away from US when we are sitting out there.

    I am almost ready to put out my hummingbird feeders.  I say ALMOST because the weather isn't consistent enough for them to be back.  But, they will be shortly.  By the end of the month they will be showing up, little-by-little. 

    Now that he's discovered this new program he wants to do two things.  Take more pictures of Chewlee, which will probably happen this weekend if the weather actually gets better and, two, take more pictures of one of our local waterfalls.  At least this time, we aren't suffering from a lack of water like when he last took pictures of them two years ago.    Not with all the flash flood warnings we have had this year.  I will have Chewlee after school on Friday plus Saturday and Sunday so the Chewlee part is taken care of.  He will just have to get his stuff together and go do his thing for the second part.  It means he will be gone for a good part of one of those days...Hurrah!!!!

    Looks like Bratfink is going to have some messes to deal with in the upcoming weeks.  The Boy has decided to update the kitchen and get an installed dishwasher...full size...to replace the counter-top one he's been using.  New stove, new counter top....mostly expanding what is already there.  Men have no imagination but then, I really don't know how much could be done with the kitchen since I've never seen the *new* house.  But the Boy is excited.  Mostly about having a BIG dishwasher.

    I had better get this posted now.  It's pouring outside and I may lose my internet at any time.  Love you all.  I wish you good weather (unlike US) and some fun, a few laughs and a great day. 

  • The Beast Prepares For Battle!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I wasn't even surprised when the UPS man showed up at our door.  Baron was going nuts.  He just loves that guy.  Big difference from the first time he saw Baron.  Baron and the Beast had just gone for a run around the circle here so Baron was on the front lawn.  He started barking and ran towards the guy who froze and then slid his door shut.  The Beast came over, calmed Baron down and the guy was ready to just throw the box at the Beast and get the hell out of here.  However, when the Beast told the guy that Baron was still an immature male and was just excited and wanted to play, the guy had this look of total disbelief on his face.  Then Baron jumped up and licked the guy's face.

    Well, since then, those two have a little *thing* going.  If Baron is at home (sometimes he and the Beast travel but deliveries go on), the guy actually waits until we open the door to say hi and scratch Baron's head at least.  He calls him the *great watchdog*.    Like the Beast says, his bark is much worse than his bite.  I think he has the potential to surprise us because there have been a few times when his whole demeanor was menacing.  That low, throaty growl Doberman's have lets you know that they are seriously upset and suspicious.  I think I wrote about his waking me during the night with that meanacing growl and some serious pacing a few weeks ago.  I have no idea what he heard or smelled (it wasn't a skunk at least) but he definitely made me believe that something or someone was too close to our house for comfort. BUT...I digress.

    What was delivered was his special traps for Japanese beetles that prey on our trees.  One year it was horrendous.  They were all over the trees.  There were thousands of them.  You couldn't lift a leaf without seeing three or four underneath.  What was weird to me was the damage they cause.  They eat the leaves, deposit eggs in the fruit but.....the veins of each leaf are intact.  You can see the outline of the leaf and the internal structure that fed and supported the *green*.  I was stunned because I had no idea that was even possible. 

    So now he has five traps (and each trap could really hold a couple hundred beetles).  They look really strange but the upper part has the scent that lures them.  I guess it's the smell of a female in heat or something.  We only had one last year but it was a bad year anyway and he only collected perhaps 60 or 70 in it.  He just fears this year will be different.  He also has two special *stands* for two of the traps.  He will spray the trees after the blossoms drop off (and have been fertilized, hopefully).  He has a special biodegradable spray that's not a chemical.  I told him he could make one himself with a cayenne pepper mix but he's afraid he might actually *season* the fruit with his own mixture.  He may have a point.  I just remember reading about it but don't know if it would affect the fruit or not.

    So tomorrow (by that I mean Wednesday) he will be putting up the traps if it's not raining here.  Unfortunately, the storm that is affecting Louisiana is the storm that is also going to hit us.  We have flash flood warmings, tornado watches and severe storm warmings.  When I checked with the weather channel, I think the worst portion of the storm will hit south of us tomorrow and we will just get a lot of rain.  Who knows?  I know we live in the *tornado alley of the south* here.  The Princess still gets nervous and upset when we get tornado warnings but, after what she went through with the last tornado that did so much damage here in our town, I really can't blame her.  I know how *I* was after the tornado hit the apartment building that the Beast and I lived in long ago.  There is nothing stranger than watching the roof being lifted off over your head while you are in bed and then having the whole ceiling come down.  We watched in amazement as the section of roof that covered our end of the building was lifted higher and higher in the air.  The Beast reacted first to get out of the apartment and down to the basement. 

    I was a nervous wreck during every thunderstorm afterward.  That lasted for several years.  There's more to the story but I won't bore you with it now.  Another time perhaps.  I hope it doesn't affect the Princess as long as it did me.  I couldn't sleep until the storm passed.  I would sit at the kitchen table or our counter with the dog at my feet (we had a German shepher/collie mix at the time) and his paws wrapped around my ankles.  He had been in the same tornado and it took the Beast and a fireman to drag the dog out from under the bed after the storm has passed.  We spent that time together during every thunderstorm for a long time.  When I started relaxing, so did he.  Strange, huh?

    The Beast and I talked about what we would do if there actually was a tornado close enough that it might hit us.  They say jump in the tub but ours is a fiberglas unit.  We decided the master bedroom closet was the best place.  It's in the center of the house, has no windows and there are several support beams that are surrounding it.  We can drag our mattress in with us and we may be all right.  No matter what, it's chancy.  I told the Beast that he should have bought a house with a basement.  Heck, even a half basement like those in many raised ranches would have worked better than our crawl space.  I told the Beast that it really just another place for the wind to get underneath us and lift the damn house up and be able to carry it off before dropping us to our doom.  There IS no perfect place to live.  Every place has it's own form of dangerous nature manufactured hazards.  Be it hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, avalanches, flooding, dust storms....there are so many things that can happen depending on where you live.  Sub-zero temperatures, high winds....nature at her finest and most unforgiving.  All of these hazards happen and people get hurt or die.  No place is without it's own hazards.  So, in our own way, we all are brave because we accept the hazard possibilites and go on with our lives.

    Love you all.  Be brave.  Be happy.  Drive carefully and....don't forget to smile.  We all need that good Vitamin D. 

  • Coughing? Sneezing? Feeling Generally Rotten? Welcome To MY World!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    It has been THAT kind of day for me.  I woke up this morning feeling totally rotten.  I think my body is mad at me and ITS NOT MY FAULT!!!  It was IT'S OWN fault...oh, and Baron's.  He's the one that kept waking me up when I had just barely fallen asleep because THE BEAST fed him that awful Alpo crap.  I woke up early this morning (after going to bed about 2-3 hours earlier than normal) coughing and hacking, nose running and yet, semi-plugged.  I dragged my screaming body out of bed, grabbed some tissues and cleared up the second problem.  Then I took some Dayquil and went back to bed.  I didn't wake up again until 12:30pm.    Damn...half the day gone!  Okay...an exaggeration but half of daylight gone for sure.

    I got up, brushed my hair, took stock of my general appearance (old ) and then went out to face the day and the Beast.  He told me he knew I wasn't feeling good because my hair was wet and he assumed that meant I was running a fever.  It's why he let me stay asleep and tried to keep the noise down so he didn't disturb me.    He's not usually so nice!  I'm not kidding.

    After sitting upright for a while, I found I actually didn't feel all that bad so I slowly started doing a few things.  I folded some more clothes I had washed and dried.  I made my bed.  I cut up some onions and tomatoes for our dinner (we had hot dogs with the trimmings and some baked beans).  The Beast had gone over to Tara's since one of the boys' computers was down.  Since they use their computers to do homework (and play games, of course), that's a major disaster.  It seems that even teachers no longer expect (some don't even accept) homework done by hand.  I had no idea that handwriting had totally gone out of style, did you?

    Oh, I know I am bad and no longer write letters like I used to but I had no idea it was affecting so much of our population.  Amazing, isn't it?  As little kids, we can't wait to learn how to read and write.  But most kids actually learn how to type by the age of six or seven any more.  Unheard of in my youth.

    It was cold, windy, extremely humid here today and the Beast commented that it felt like a cold day in Florida because of how he felt.  I knew what he meant.  It never did get as warm as they all claimed it would today but I am still hopeful that we will get better and warmer weather tomorrow.  And, please lord...let me see the SUN!!!!  The Beast is all worried now that some of the peach trees have open blooms on them that they won't get pollinated due to the cold weather.  Cross your fingers for us here.  I'm really getting upset at all the different things we are fighting just to get some damn fruit. 

    Love you all and I hope you feel great, have a good day and don't get into any accidents, please. 

  • Crappy Day But Peaceful


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    It was a really crappy day for me in many ways.  First, the weather sucked and still does.  It has been playing hell with our internet because it keeps losing the signal to/from the satellite.  It's been very overcast and even rained a bit early this morning.  It was SUPPOSED to be clearing today but, as usual, the weatherman missed the  mark.  At least the wind finally seems to have died down.

    Secondly, the damn dog spent the night making sure I was miserable.  If he wasn't farting and stinking up MY side of the room (the Beast never smelled a thing...he was dead to the world!), he was waking me to let him out.  The Beast got a bit lazy and didn't go out to the garage to get any of the GOOD dog food and gave Baron some Alpo.  Anyone that knows the product knows it seems to give dogs gas.  I think it also gave him diarrhea due to the amount of times he woke me.  When he finally made me totally nuts, I went and slept (or tried to) on my recliner.  I dozed off a couple times and I think I might have managed a whole two or three hours total sleep (including what I had gotten when I went to bed initially).  I saw the sun rise and drank a gallon of coffee to try to wake up when the Beast finally got out of bed. 

    I did manage to get a couple loads of laundry done but not all of it.  I still have to strip the guest bed and do my thing there, including spraying the bed with some Febreze.   I don't smell any urine smell from the baby's *accident* yesterday morning but I don't want to take any chances.  I will spray it good, let it dry and then flip the mattress over.  I really think that's the first time it's been *anointed*.    Once upon a time it was the Princess's bed but we bought her a water bed and then a queen size bed when she became a teen.  This bed went to the guest room after maybe a year or so's use. 

    The Beast and I get very slow paced on days like today so neither of us was feeling ambitious.  He did, at one point, dress and run up to Walmart to pick up a couple items so he can make his potato pancakes tomorrow.  We were out of eggs and sour cream for them.  He picked up some of that pizza sauce Ragu makes and surprised me by making those English muffin pizzas with lots of mozzarella cheese and some hot Italian sausage.  Yum!  That was our lunch.  I was busy folding clothes so the Beast made himself some soup for dinner and so did I.  I tried the Progresso New England Clam Chowder, which we hadn't tried before.  We usually get the heat and eat Campbell's.  It was tasty but the Campbell's brand has larger and more chunks of clam in it.  I told the Beast that's what I prefer so don't bother getting anything else.  He will change brands around from time to time just *because*.  You don't have to be dissatisfied or anything.  I think that's his idea of being adventurous. 

    Since my internet kept kicking off, I did a few other things that needed doing around here.  I hemmed some pants of the Beast's, for one.  He can never seem to find the right length for himself when he buys new pants. 

    I thought I was going to have the baby today but, alas, was not to be.  That's why the day was so peaceful for me.  Actually, I was grateful because she always wants to help fold clothes and I end up having to refold them when she's not around.  I don't want to hurt her feelings.  I show her the right way but....well, you know kids.  They just don't have the patience at times.    But it makes her happy to *help* so I always let her.  She just can't do any of Papa's stuff, which seems to be okay with her.  It definitely is for me. 

    It's been extremely cold and humid today because of the rain and then a cold front that hit us.  Not REAL cold but cold enough.  It's been in the upper 30's most of the day and will go down around 32 for our low.  But tomorrow they claim it will be different.  It's going to be clear and sunny with highs in the upper 50's.  That's THEIR claim, not mine.  I told you before that I no longer trust the weatherman.  He's wrong more often than right.

    I'll work on the guest bedroom tomorrow and get that ready for Sheepie's visit in a couple weeks.  I'm not planning on having Chewlee overnight any time soon but....if I do, I can always do it all over again.    I mean, what the heck else do I have to do, right?  Yeah, that's what everyone thinks when you *retire*.   Unfortunately, we women never retire the way men can. 

    Love you all and I wish you a great week.  Try to have a few laughs, smile a lot and please drive carefully.  Life is too short to have some other guy take yours while you are not watching out. 

  • It's Not My Fault!!!!!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Chewlee woke me up early this morning.  By early, I mean at 6:30am.  Since I hadn't gone to bed until after 2am, that was a bit early for me.  I was not a happy camper but she was ...you guessed it!  Wet and incredibly unhappy.  I know what happened because, as I was cleaning her up and putting on a pair of pullups the Princess had brought with, she told me.  She kept saying she thought she was on the potty but she woke up and she wasn't.  She said this, crying, and I hugged her and told her that she was just dreaming that.  I also told her that lots of people have that happen sometimes.  I KNEW I shouldn't have let her wear the big girl pants to bed.  It's still too soon for her to have that kind of control of her bladder.

    Her mother surprised me when she came to get her around 9am.  She was going to give me a break and take Chewlee to Walmart to go grocery shopping and then home.  She thought Johnnycakes was going to watch her but ...in her words, he was being a di*k.  So Chewlee came back to spend four more hours with Grandma while mommy went to work.  The Princess was working the take out counter at the restaurant so it wasn't a long work day for her.

    Chewlee hadn't eaten anything said the Princess but I got her to eat some toaster waffles.  It was because her *tummy hurt* she said.  When the Princess told me that she had taken a 3 hour nap, I knew she really didn't feel good.  That worried me until a bit later when she went to the bathroom and she yelled for me.  She had emptied her bowels, I think and that worried her.    But I told her that her tummy would probably feel MUCH better now.  And she did.  She perked up so much and was back to the Chewlee we know and love, even though she exhausts me when she gets that way. 

    She wanted to do this and that and she was running around the house.  She even put Papa into *time out*.  He was playing hearts on Pogo and he gets very upset at times and swears like a trooper.  I tell him to keep his door shut so Chewlee doesn't hear him but he forgets.  Today she heard him and told me that he was saying a *lot of bad words* so that is why she went to his door and told him he had to be in *time out* and then shut his door.  He didn't really notice because, as I said, he was a bit upset over some player or other making a bad move...for him.

    She has been giving Baron his *candy* aka treats, too.  She makes him sit for her and he does because he knows what she is going to give him.  Sometimes he tries blocking her from walking away afterward because he wants more treats.  She just hugs his neck and tells him that he's a good dog and then heads back to *our* room.

    When she told the Beast he got out of time out before she said he could, he just cracked up.  She put both hands on her hips and told him that if he didn't stop, she would put him in time out again.  He said, *stop what?* and she told him he was saying bad words.  He, at least, was a bit abashed over realizing she had heard him.  He told her he was just mad and he forgot.  She told him, very seriously, that he can't say those things.  Mommy told her those are BAD words so he had to remember he couldn't say them any more.

    When the Princess came to pick her up, she was still in her playful mood.  At one point, she was laying on the floor watching the second Madagascar movie that was on and her mother threatened to leave her.  She just looked over at her mother and said she could go and leave her at Gramma's but I turned off the DVD and told her I would save the movie until she came back tomorrow and it would start right where we turned it off.  That was when she got her shoes and socks on and told her mother she was ready to go home.  She gave me a really nice big hug and then was off but she ran back to hug me again before she left and yelled out *Goodbye, Grandma* as she poked her head back in the door before actually leaving. 

    Me?  I was exhausted.  I fought my computer most of the day because of the weather.  The blog I had started earlier today just evaporated at one point because it wasn't holding a connection to the internet.  I gave up that idea but....shortly after Chewlee left, I just HAD to take a nap.  I was falling asleep at the computer as I was talking to Bratfink.  She told me not to fight it but go nap.  And THAT is why this was late being posted.

    Have a good Sunday.  Love you all and our weather should improve tomorrow.  Hope yours is good. 

  • Chewlee Spends The Night.....Oh My!


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The Beast spent the day trimming the evergreen shrubs out in front of the house.  These are *up close and personal*, meaning they are up against the house more or less.  When I got back from picking up Chewlee from preschool I saw that they were really looking great now.  They get a bit wild during the winter.  It looked especially nice because he had cleaned everything up and, with the lawn freshly cut, the house looked really nice.

    When I got to the school to pick Chewlee up, I was informed that I might not want to take her home.  It seems she had a fit about something and was screaming.  Now, if you ever heard her scream, you would understand why they could hear her clear up at the front of the school.  It's supersonic, I swear. 

    I asked what she had been screaming about and the gal in front told me she didn't know.  But, she guessed it was because she had been told *no* about something or other that she wanted to do or have.  I asked the teacher when I got to the room while Chewlee rushed to get her tee and other stuff out of her bin.  The teacher said that one of the boys was teasing her and had taken her spare pants and wouldn't give them back to her.  She said she hated that scream of hers but the boy sure rushed to give her back her pants.    I suppose if she keeps it as she grows, she will shatter the eardrums of anyone that tries attacking her so it might be a good thing.  She has been told (often) that there is NO screaming at Grandma's house.  She sometimes forgets but she always says she's sorry in that oh so sincere voice of hers.

    I told her as we went home that she has been told that you do NOT scream at school, at home or at Gramdma's house.  I told her she could scream all she wanted at the playground and I didn't want to hear she had done it at school any more.  She was a bit miffed at me because she said she only screamed because he was taking her clothes.  I told her to just tell the teacher next time but, knowing her, I'll bet she just attacks!    She really believes in standing up for herself...at least amongst peers.

    She ate real food today when we got home.  Papa made us some pork steaks on the barbecue and, let me tell you, they were awesome!  He didn't put any sauce on it but I think he probably will give that a try next time.  Chewlee shared one with me and she can be a little piggy when she likes something.  She only ate a couple bites of her cheese and shells, which she usually likes.  She complained a little bit about her tummy and she wasn't as active as normal.  She curled up in my lap again while we watched TV........but this time in my lap with my arms around her.  I just rocked back and forth for the whole time she stayed there. 

    Later, when she lay down on the floor using her Dora chair for a pillow, I really thought she was going to go to sleep.  However, she remembered she wanted one more glass of chocolate milk before it was bedtime.  When I went to the kitchen to make it for her, she dragged her stool along so she could watch me making it.  She always has to see it once it's stirred up and then sticks her finger in it to taste it to make sure I put enough chocolate in it for her.  It's too funny.  She has actually told me a time or two that *it needs more* and had to see how much more Quik I put into it.

    After dinner, she got her popsicles.  She gets half at a time.  I'm thankful that's how they are packed.  The only problem is the wrapping is not translucent and there's no flavor marked on it.  I have to try to guess by how light or dark it looks underneath.  The orange are the only ones I can find every tiime.  But, as Chewlee always reminds me, *those are Papa's* because he likes orange but Chewlee doesn't.  She likes real oranges but nothing that's orange flavored for some reason.  Not even suckers.

    When I finally put her to bed, she insisted that she *didn't need pullups* and I decided that I would go along with her *this time*, as I told her.  But...if she had an accident, I was going to be very upset with her and she would have to wear pullups to bed the next time she stayed overnight.  She actually grabbed the waistband of her *big girl panties*, yanked them up and held on tight when I was going to put her pullups on her.  She raised her voice and said, *NO!  Leave them on.  I don't need those!* (meaning the pullups).  She has learned to like *big girl pants* and is determined not to go back to needing pullups. I am sooooooooooo grateful for that and I encourage it as much as possible.  She was long past the time to be potty-trained.

    Chewlee is so anxious to get our garden planted.  She told Papa that she would go with him when he went to buy the stuff we need so she could help him.  He laughed and said he already had his list but he thanked her for offering.  She looked at him intensely and said, *Are you sure?* with that inquiring look kids can get.  She was a little disappointed when he told her that, if it was raining in the morning, he wouldn't be able to go get anything.  She had already heard that we are getting rain, starting after midnight.  They are predicting as much as 3 inches of it.    Poor Baron will be miserable.  So will poor Chewlee. 

    Time to get this posted and relax a bit.  Chewlee went willingly to bed but insisted I leave the door open a little bit.  Later on, after she is asleep, I wll shut the door so any strange noises won't wake her nor will the dog go into the room and do the same thing.  She always looks so darned adorable asleep but don't they all?

    Love you all and I hope you are having a great weekend.  Tomorrow (Saturday) will look dismal outside but Sunday will be better because the rain will have moved past us by then.  Chewlee and I will be watching monster movies since her mother works and so does Johnnycakes.  They try to do something together on Sundays and I think that's a great idea when you can.  Hope you do something with family and/or friends, too. 

  • It WAS A Quiet Day And Then Came Chewlee


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    The one thing that grandkids or great-grands teach you is to appreciate when they are NOT around.  As much as you love them, they can be exhausting at times.  They just have so much ENERGY!!!  Lord, if only I had half of that.   

    The Beast spent most of the afternoon mowing the front and most of the other lot.  That one is dicey to do because of all the trees.  They are young still and you need to take care not to get too close so you don't injure them.  Like the Beast doesn't baby them as it is.     He also finished up spraying the fungicide down on the ground (he had already sprayed the trees, remember).  What was weird was the smell of onions was less pungent while he mowed the front than when he mowed the back yard.  But, I am glad of that much.  Maybe the stuff he's putting down is killing them off.  One can only hope.

    I picked up Chewlee from school today.  The teacher told me she had an accident while they were outside playing.  I know why she did.  Like most kids, she didn't want to leave to go pee so she tried to hold it longer than she could.  She was upset over that but made sure to tell me that it was *only pee, Gramma.  I sorry.*  She has the most expressive face when she's delivering information like this.  It's almost mesmerizing to watch her sometimes.  I swear, the kid needs to be in the movies. 

    When we got here, she was a bit listless.  When I asked her why, she told me her tummy hurt her.  It really must have because she even refused some things to eat that I know she loves.  She didn't even snack like she normally does. 

    While we were watching TV, she came over and leaned on me with her head on my lap.  She told me to hold her and I grabbed my little blanket and wrapped it around her while I had my arm across her back.  She stayed that way a long time even when I asked her if she wanted to sit in my lap.  I knew her legs would get tired.  She did drink chocolate milk, however.  At one point, she heard Papa in the kitchen and went out to see what he was doing.  When she came back to me, she told me he wasn't having chocolate milk.  The Beast told me later that she had come out there and just watched him.  When he poured himself a glass of milk, she pointed at the big container of Quik we have on the cunter and told him, *That's MY chocolate, Papa.  You don't touch it!*  She was standing in front of him with a very serious look on her face and waving her hand with the index finger up while she was telling him that.  He said it was so cute but he managed not to laugh at her.  He just told her that he didn't want chocolate milk and that was when she turned and came back into my room.

    When she told me he didn't want chocolate milk, I told her that he might be making some hot chocolate (I didn't know he had poured himself a GLASS of milk) so she turned and ran out to tell him he couldn't use it for hot chocolate either. 

    Later on, Papa made some popcorn for us and that made her happy although she didn't have much of it.  She did, finally, decide she wanted a hot dog so I made her one.  I warmed it up for her and, wouldn't you know it, she put it aside until it was cold.   She told me (when I told her to eat it before it got cold) that she LIKED it cold.  Go figure.  She took our bowl out to the kitchen and when she got up to go bring it out, she walked kind of weird.  Before I could ask her why she was walking like she was, she turned to me and said, *I am old.*  Her look was so pathetic that I had to hide my smile.  Like I have said many times, she is a drama queen.

    She ended the evening sitting in my lap until her mother called.  Then she sat in her Dora chair next to me and told me she was going to stay at my house and I was going to put her to bed.  I just told her that those plans were for tomorrow (which is bubble gum day at the preschool) and she just gave me a look that said she wasn't happy about waiting.

    Part of what is so exhausting with her is her getting up and down off my lap for various reasons.  She wanted to play but really couldn't do it for long.  She even put her laptop toy in the toy box after just a few minutes.  Normally, she can drive me crazy with the noise that makes.  It talks to her and there is no volume control on it.  But today she played a little music on it and then put it away. 

    When her mother got here, she was excited and ran to get something she made at school.  It was a hand print in water color with her name across it.  She told me that it wasn't for me, it was for her mommy.  I told her that was a nice thing to give to mommy and I was happy that the Princess made a big deal over it.  The smile on Chewlee's face was a sight to see!

    Oh, and Chewlee had told her mother all about the fact that Papa was going to make us a garden area where we could plant our flowers that she would bring home to Mommy.  Papa told her today that he was waiting for the *garden store* to get some of the things he needed and then he would build our garden for us.  She looked dejected at first but then brightened up and said, *They will get it when it gets warmer out, right?  Then you will make me a garden for my flowers.  Right, Papa?  All for me!*  He laughed and told her that he would do it as soon as he could so that she and grandma could plant the flowers.  She then went into a litany of the colors of the flowers that we were going to plant (I have some of the seeds already).  Every once in a while she will ask to see the seed packets and then she tells me which ones she will plant and which ones I can plant. 

    Well, time to get this posted.  Love you all and have a fantastic Friday.  Only have to get through today and then you have a weekend to do something you might actually WANT to do.  Love you all.