January 19, 2011

  • Things Are Looking Up !


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    I won't say things are perfect or normal but at least I am not suffering severe pain today.  I could get up and do a few things as long as I didn't do a lot of bending or stretching.  I also couldn't stay on my feet for a long time but I managed to get quite a bit done.  The Beast could tell I was in much better shape than the last few days.  I made up my bed, folded some clothes and even cleaned up my computer room to the point where it's VERY noticeable.   I figured I had better do that since the tech for our satellite company is coming tomorrow afternoon.  If he has to check some of the things I think he will, he will have to use MY computer to access the information.  I really didn't want to shock him with some of the Christmas decorations that I had scattered around because I just hadn't gotten around to putting them away.  I know....I should be ashamed but it WAS out of sight. 

    I will vacuum in the morning because I found a couple spots on the rug in here that I want to clean up.  I bought that rug/broom thing for spot cleaning they advertise on TV.  It's much easier than pulling out my steam rug cleaner...and a heck of a lot lighter, too.  The whole room doesn't need cleaning, just a spot or two here and there.  To me, it's a great investment, TYVM.

    The Boy, Bratfink's housemate in case you've forgotten because she closed down her blog, has finally gotten some good news.  He WILL be getting some of the insurance money involved in his mother's estate released to him within a month.  He's the sole beneficiary on it so the stepdad's kids can't touch it and it's not involved in the trust.  It's only been about 8 months so it's about time he has something resolved.  I sure wish it was over and done with for him.  He was so depressed over the Christmas holiday.  I think it really hit him about his mother's death and the fact that he's the sole member of his family left.  He still has his aunt and cousins but it's not the same thing as having your mother or siblings to spend the holidays with.  I know that I am glad for Tara and her kids, the Princess, Chewlee and Johnnycakes being here for them.  And, let us not forget Sheepie.    I love knowing they will be around.  If I were living closer to my brothers and sisters, that would be perfect but.....the snow we got reminded me of why I won't live any further north than we do.

    Speaking of Sheepie....when I went to put some things away in the the dresser of the guest room and discovered that Sheepie has taken over a couple drawers with some of her things.  So I guess she figures it's partly HER room now although Chewlee might disagree.  She did decide she would SHARE with Sheepie.  So Chewlee has one drawer with her things in it and Sheepie gets two for now.  The Beast has two other drawers full of his crap and I got on him about getting it out of there.  Whenever he gives me a hard time about my kitchen junk drawer (as we've always called it), I tell him all about the two drawers in the guest room, the two drawers in one of the night stands and his BIG drawer in his dresser that is full of his *stuff*.  I told him THOSE are how many junk drawers HE has so my ONE is not a big deal. 

      We are supposed to have weather in the 50's tomorrow if you can believe that.    But we will be very cold and have a chance of snow again on Monday.  Oh, not a lot of it because the front is supposed to be a fast moving one but even a chance of it makes me shudder.  I remember telling the Beast once (when we lived in Fort Lauderdale) if it ever snowed in Fort Lauderdale, we would be moving to Jamaica, Belize or Puerto Rico.....someplace WARM.  So here I am.  Living in northern Alabama.  Where it gets cold.  Where it snows.  Who da thunk it? 

    I never EVER imagined retiring here.  I DID think maybe somewhere in Tennessee at one point, if we didn't stay in Florida.  But, it was already getting so damned expensive to live there between taxes and insurance that it became evident we couldn't retire there.  I think we were lucky to get out when we did because the real estate market was just starting to get depressed.  Although we got back what it ended up costing us to build it, we didn't make up everything we put into the house.  Oh well.  C'est la vie!

    I'm going to put this post up for you to read later.  Have a wonderful HUMP-day.  We are hoping that we finally get our garbage picked up since there is no snow to be seen anywhere now.  I think they forgot all about us, actually.  But,  luckily. we didn't make a lot of garbage while we were housebound, so-to-speak.  I think it's because we didn't get mail or any packages while our roads were closed.  It's amazing how that can accumulate with all the junk mail still being sent out.  I must get a tree a week. 

    Love you all.  Stay healthy, happy and warm. 

Comments (1)

  • Glad to hear you're feeling better. We're not supposed to get a lot of snow in the next weeek
    but we will have wind chills in the -20 range. Glad I don't have anywhere to go until my
    dentist appointment next Wednesday. Take care of yourself. Love you! B.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment