Month: September 2009

  • Is It Snowing Yet?

    When I woke up this morning, I was shocked to discover my house wide open (which is normal for the Beast to do) but the air blowing through the house was COLD.    I kid you not!  Where was I when the announcement was made that summer was over and we were skipping ahead to winter? 

    Actually, it wasn't that bad but it WAS cold.  I wasn't prepared for that.  The Beast kept the doors open thinking that it would warm up like normal but that never happened.  He finally closed the doors (thank goodness) and the house was at least bearable.  It only got up to 70 as a high today and they are talking about it going down into the 40's tonight.  Brrrrr!  I hate the cold, especially since I don't really have any winter clothes down yet.  Guess that is my next big chore.  It means getting up into the attic and trying to get those darn bins down without dropping them and probably breaking them.  *sigh*  I shouldn't have packed them so full but I was trying not to have to buy more.  Live and learn, sometimes the hard way.

    Today I got the nightgown pinned together and studied the instructions that came with the pattern to see how they recommended putting it together.  I guess tomorrow is the day I need to get over to Walmart and get the bias tape I forgot originally AND buy the ruffled lace I want for the bottom.  I really need to feel it to make sure it will be nice and soft for Chewlee but, just in case, I cut out the material for the self-ruffle.  More work but it is a different way of sewing it that intrigues me.  If I don't like the pre-made, I may just try it out for the experience.

    There are a lot of differences that I notice in this pattern than other ones that I used years ago.  In some ways, I can see why the changes were made but it is going to take some getting used to for me.  Especially the fact that they seem to have added extra pieces because of there being three different styles.  The collar has enough collar patterns for each of the three styles.  I had to really look at the pattern placements before I figured it out.  I think it has to be because the smaller pieces, if used several times, can tear easily from the constant pinning.  Tomorrow will be the big day of sewing it all together.  I decided to go ahead and do that because I can make adjustments on the length on Saturday and only have to add the ruffle then.   I like that idea because then she should be able to wear the nightgown that night.  I'm going to be curious to see what Chewlee makes of the whole thing.  Especially since she will be able to watch me sew that on the nightgown and then get to wear it.  Well, I MAY just wash it first but that's not a big deal.  IF she will let me once she realizes it's HERS. 

    I think it surprised the Beast that I didn't just start sewing away once I got everything pinned together.  I told him that I wasn't going to start working with a new sewing machine on an unfamiliar pattern until I got it all straight in my head how I was going to tackle it.  He thinks that is weird but I told him he's not one to talk with all HIS little *quirks* especially on his wood projects.  Been there, seen those.

    Talked to Buttmunch for a bit today.  She wasn't really sure how to go about getting a copy of Sheepie's birth certificate so I told her.  It seems that Brutus has lost the one he was given all those years ago when he was given *temporary* custody of Sheepie (and before he disappeared with her in violation of the agreement).  Hopefully, since Sheepie IS a bit older now, once she gets this one, she can keep it and not lose it.  No sense in letting Brutus have it since he is not an organized personality anyway.  His whole life is a mess.  Especially with his constant moving to avoid bill collectors and god only knows what else he has run from.  There is a man destined to die alone because he will never own anything except an old used vehicle (probably a truck) and MAYBE, just maybe...an old trailer somewhere.  He will NOT have anyone that cares about him (except, perhaps Sheepie may for some reason) because there isn't anything loveable about him.  Ack!  I shouldn't say that except that I never liked him to begin with and could read him like a book even then, all those years ago.  I grew up with guys like him.

    The Beast decided to treat us tonight and went to the great Mexican restaurant in Guntersville to buy us dinner.  He has learned to love chili rellanos so that was our dinner.  They make the best refried beans, too, and the rice is incredibly tasty.  I am still so full, I can't believe it.

    Time to call it a night and get this posted for lift-off later.  Love you all.  I hope you have nice weather (ours will be cool again tomorrow....brrrr).  Here's a thought to ponder:  The original point and click interface was a Smith & Wesson.  Are we better off now that it isn't?

  • How Sweet It Is!

    The weatherman lied.   It was supposed to be sunny and clear today but what did I wake up to?  Overcast skies.   I had a suspicion that they might not be all that was expected when I was talking to people on Pogo chat last night.  First Indy had rain and high winds, then the storm moved into Kentucky and it was heading at an angle that looked like it might just make it into Alabama.  Our only hope (and probably what was expected) was if the storm played itself out before it got here.  I guess it didn't entirely.  Oh well.  C'est la vie!

    (Later) Good news!  The storm clouds passed us by with nary a drop shed.  The skies turned clear blue with wispy clouds.  I think that is a fairly good indicator that we really ARE going to get cooler weather tonight.  The temperature has been dropping since the sun went down and it never got warmer than 72 here. 

    The Beast spent his day putting up the missing trim up at the ceiling in the guest room.  I spent my day just doing housewifey things.  I didn't even cut out the pattern that I pinned yesterday.  I don't feel really comfortable in here without my door.  Don't ask me why.  I guess it's partly because I know the Beast will stay out if I have that closed.  Shoot, I can even lock it so I am not interrupted.  I HATE HATE HATE being interrupted when I am in the middle of something and it's a bad habit of the Beast to do that.  I swear, I really believe he does it just to annoy me sometimes.  Since I haven't sewn in a long time, I really do NOT want to be interrupted until I get back into the swing of things.  I once thought nothing of whipping up a new outfit for my girls.  Or sewing curtains or a throw pillow.  Heck, I even made my kids stuffed animals at one time.  It helped us find a son that got lost at the Museum of Science and Industry because how many blue-eyed blonde boys are found carrying a bright red stuffed cat???    It was his favorite thing and he carried it everywhere.

    I DID find my new scissors for cutting out the pattern.  I set up my sewing machine on the craft table and the two boxes of accessories.  I've been debating whether or not I might want to get bold and try using the embroidery accessory on the bodice of the nightgown.  I'm going to have to fill a bunch of bobbins for that since it tells you when to change colors of thread and that includes the bobbin.  It's a wonderful tool, I think, once you get used to it.  It's much more complex than the embroidery features that were on sewing machines back when I learned to use one.  But it's a moot point since I can't make the nightgown until I have Chewlee so I get the right measurement for the length.

    It's my impression that Bratfink is not having a good time the last few days.  Not that I expect her to be partying (certainly not with the Boy around), but she's had a lot of pain in her hip, legs and even her hands.  I know she doesn't have insurance at all so she can't get in to see a doctor.  Even the Free Clinic is not free these days.  So she doesn't even have access to pain medications to help her through her worst days. 
    She tries to make light of a lot of it but I've been with her and I know better.  It really hurts me that SHE is hurting.  Say a little prayer for her, will you?

    Poor Buttmunch is not having an easy time of it with trying what to decide to do with Brutus.  He's such a true asshole.  He can't stay married because of the fact that he really and truly hates women.  Of course, if you met his mother, you would understand why.  He really comes from a *winner of a family*.    She would love to put the fear of God into him but he doesn't believe in God, so what can you do?  He's also not really afraid of the law, either.  Maybe a couple big, tough bikers???  Hmmmmm.  Oh well, just a dream.  He's truly one of those scumbags you hear about but hope never to meet in your lifetime.  He CAN be charming and is just good-looking enough to put one over on women who think he's just a teensy bit dangerous but can be handled.  What a surprise for them once he feels he's got them hooked or gets them into a vulnerable position.  I applaud all of them that got away with very few injuries or scars.  Yes.  He's THAT type of scumbag.

    I think the Beast is dragging his feet on getting my doors painted because he likes having easy access to this room.  I'm going to start nagging him about it.  I fed him his favorite meal tonight (which I don't eat for several reasons).  What was it?  Liver, onions and bacon.  I have always managed to make it so that people who love it thinks it's wonderful.  But it will never pass my lips again.  Ever.  I had calves liver so it cooks up quickly but I am so glad he likes it with onions and bacon.  Otherwise, the smell would make me nauseous.  He ate two large pieces with six slices of bacon and a whole sauteed onion.  That does not include the noodles Alfredo and cucumbers with Italian dressing.  But I know that eating something he loves softens him up for my nagging. 

    The Beast bought one of those laser pens at Staples for the sole purpose of teasing the dog with it.  You should see the poor dog running after it and jumping on it.  His face always looks surprised when he lifts his paws and no red dot!  The Beast has gotten good at running the light towards the door and turning it off just when it looks like it went under the door.  The dog goes nuts running around to the other side and then scouring the whole room trying to find out where it's hiding.  The only good thing is that the dog is getting a lot of exercise from all this.  He ran the light under the TV stand in the living room and the dog lay in front of the TV watching and waiting for it to come out from under the TV.

    Okay...did the first of my nagging as the Beast and I were unloading and reloading the dishwasher after dinner.  He told me somehow he KNEW I was going to bring it up since he finished the trim work in the guest room.  (He hasn't made the food connection...tee hee hee).  He sighed and said, *I'll try to get at least the one door done tomorrow*.  I reminded him that the nice weather isn't going to hold and he wants to get that done before the weather turns cold.  He snorted but he knew I was telling the truth.

    I have to get this posted now.  I will let you know if he actually gets it done or not.  I am crossing my fingers that it is so I can close my door and block out the TV that he has turned up so high I can't think at times. 

    Love you all and I hope you have a great day.  Here's a thought for today:  Ever stop to think, and forget to start again?

  • A Thank You And An Apology....

    I had a comment yesterday on my blog from one of my readers.  She was urging me to please continue because she thought they were upbeat and refreshing (her words).  I thought that was sweet of her to take the time to encourage me.  I do sometimes wonder who in the world would consider my blog interesting enough to keep coming back to read it.  Oh well.  Consider me encouraged Janeyfaye43 and thank you!

    I guess I should also apologize to my reader from the Republic of Moldova for referring to them as coming from somewhere else.  Chalk it up to old-timers   It won't happen again.

    I slept in today...because I could.  I didn't go to sleep until around 2am and I slept almost until noon.  It felt wonderful and I really slept well.  That's so unusual these days that I cherish those times.  It helps that Baron is no longer sleeping on our bed unless he sneaks on when we are deeply asleep.  And he also now sleep at the foot of the bed and doesn't try to take up a major part of it any more.

    I felt very energetic so I got out my pattern, pressed it nicely and got the pattern for a pair of pajamas for the baby ready for cutting AND also the pattern for the nightgown I want to make for her.  I forgot to measure her when she was here so that one will have to wait until she's here next weekend.  I forgot to pick up the ruffle for the bottom, too, darnit.  I had seen it at Walmart the other day but was in a bit of a rush and the woman working the department was occupied with someone else.  I made a note to myself to remember to pick it up next time but, wouldn't you know it?  I forgot the note. 

    I have no clue what the heck I did with the scissors for cutting the material.  The ones I found won't work well and I got them especially to use just for sewing.  I'll find them.  I haven't gone through all my sewing notions (three different containers with stuff in it) but I'll do that tomorrow.  I'm anxious to get going on this now that the room is finished (except for the doors, but that's the Beast's job).

    I started looking through a lot of catalogs at draperies and curtains hoping I could find something for the window in here.  You would think it would be easy, wouldn't you?  I have this vague idea in the back of my mind for what I want on it but I just can't find anything that even comes close.  It's been too many years since I made any for me to even consider doing that but looking made me remember why I started doing it back then. 

    I had to buy a new pair of jeans since I have put on just a little too much weight to fit in them to be comfortable.  I'm all about comfort these days.   Heck, I never used to leave the house without makeup but I seldom wear it these days.  I like that part of how things have changed.  I wasn't really sure just how much weight I have put on since the Beast threw out the bathroom scale for some darn reason.  But I found out it wasn't really all that much because I am in a size 6 now and they are comfortable.  I would have bought more but I wanted to wear them for a while to make sure they did more than *fit*.  Funny, but I only had one job in my whole life where I could wear jeans.  I only worked there for about six months and then we moved from Chicago to Florida.  After that, all my jobs required that I dress up and wear makeup.  At least, it was the *standard* of the day at that time.

      I worked, took care of kids and a home for so many years.  Now my *kids* are the Beast and his dog (I say *his* dog because he can't draw a breath without the dog being right by him) and I am still taking care of a home.  Men can retire and just do the things they want to do.  I am luckier than most that my beast is constantly working around here, even though it drives me nuts at times.  Some women have men with no hobbies or interests and no talents so they follow them around constantly.  Thank you Lord for sparing me from THAT!  We are NOT joined at the hip, so-to-speak.

    On days when he can't work on his grass, his trees or anything affected by humidity, he HAS learned to be helpful around here.  He will empty the dishwasher or fill it, depending on what needs doing; he will clean up the bathroom (mostly HIS mess, of course) and has even mopped the floor at least once that I recall.  He will make a meal on occasion.  His meals pretty much consist of french toast, pancakes, potato pancakes and the occasional hamburger.  Oh, and the good ole' grilled cheese sandwich.    But, even that much is appreciated.  He's made spaghetti two or three times and it isn't bad.  But, two or three times in 45 years of marriage isn't much to write home about.  He never even attempted it until after we moved here. 

    When he was staying here during the summer the first year we bought this house, he learned what it was like for him to be alone.  I was at our home in Port Charlotte with our teenager (the Princess) since she was really too young to be left alone for long.  She didn't like being home alone and got scared at every strange noise.  I would come up to spend a couple days, here and there and it was obvious that he had gone on a cleanup campaign for my arrival. 

    It was really funny (to me) because he was so clueless in many ways and had so much to learn about what a slob he was.  He did once day to me, *My roommate is a real slob.*  When I said, questioningly, *What roommate?*  He just laughed and I *got it*.  I told him, *Now you know why I complained.*    I guess more men should spend some time, alone, with themselves.  They might just appreciate us women more but that's just a theory.

    Well, time to wrap this up for today and get it posted.  At least the weather was good here today.  The Beast bought a tree to replace one of the ones that died.  This time he bought a pink crepe myrtle.  I have never heard of them but saw the picture on the use and care ticket and it's a pretty tree.  We shall see how this one does since he planted it differently than the ones that died.  I won't go into the differences but one of them is using the actual soil that he dug out of the hole minus the rocks.

    Love you all.  Have a wonderful day and stay healthy.  Smile a lot; it's good for your teeth.  Here's your thought for the day: Appreciate every single thing you have, especially your friends.  Life is too short and friends are too few!

  • A Sunday Bonus Thought

    This won't be long since I already wrote a post for today.  It's just because something occurred to me for the second time in as many days.  I just had to bring it up.  I was walking from my kitchen into my computer room and I realized that this is a house that makes me happy.  We have put our stamp on it and made it our own.  Even the decorations we have here and there make me smile.  They mean something to us, each and every one of them.  Nothing that is here is to impress anyone.  They are little touches that make me smile and remember again just why we bought or made them. 

    It's been a long time since we had a *happy house*.  In fact, I would say that this is probably only the second one we have owned that made me feel this way.  The first was the first home we bought in California many years ago.  Our house in Port Charlotte would have become a *happy house* eventually but would have taken a lot longer to put the personal touches on because it was so much bigger than this one. 

    The most memorable home we owned was still our house in Margate, Florida.  That was a house filled with many happy memories and was a joyful house.  It had everything you could possibly want in a home but it was too big for me to maintain once the Beast had his strokes.  I hated to sell that house but it DID sell quickly.  How could it not?  I don't think anyone ever walked into it that didn't love it.  But 3000 sq. ft. is way more of a house than I could manage without help.  So we moved and had our home in Port Charlotte built.  I only fault it in two ways.  It did NOT have a pool and the lot was not the easiest to maintain due to the slope on two sides.

    But, I had to share this with you.  Everyone should have a home that makes them happy when they walk around it.  No thinking that *this needs fixing* or *that needs painting* or any of those kind of thoughts.  Just a happy feeling that makes you smile because it's your home and you are pleased with it.

    I wish everyone a happy home.

  • A Spongebob Day

    It was definitely a Sponge Bob Square Pants day today.  Chewlee was in a mood to watch TV and she didn't want to watch anything else.  She did some other things, like drawing in her composition book that she now knows is just hers; playing with her alphabet and numbers and her baby doll. 

    It's funny about Sponge Bob.  I kind of like watching it because it's both entertaining and it does have a lesson you learn.  Of course, she's probably a little too young to learn a lot from it but she watches it and likes it.  I like the fact that he is always so cheerful no matter what happens.  He finds something good in everything and everyone.  He fails at things but always keeps trying.  Somehow I think those are good things for a child to learn about...and without being *preachy* about it.  It's just *matter of fact*.  These days she likes Sponge Bob better than Dora the Explorer.  When Dora starts her little speeches at the end of her shows, Chewlee starts wanting me to put something else on.  She either doesn't like it or has had enough of it.  It's a shame, really, because I like her to watch it because of learning Spanish words.  She has picked them up little-by-little and she likes it when we BOTH say the words.  If she ever says them outside of my house, I have no clue.  I don't think the Princess uses any of the common, every day words that she is familiar with or tries to teach her new ones.  I'm really not sure if the Princess really knows any Spanish words. 

    I have to tell you about Chewlee's reaction to the color of the room this morning.  She and the Princess got here about 8am or so.  I came out of my computer room and stood at the door as she headed towards me.  She stopped at the doorway and stared for a few seconds and then said, *Oh....wow!*  The Princess and I burst out laughing and the Princess said, *I have never heard her say that before.*  The Beast, when told of her reaction, also laughed.  After that initial shock, she was just her normal self and didn't even act like it was anything special.  She did stop once, put her hand on the wall and she looked at me and said, *Pretty.*  I guess that showed her approval.  The Princess told me that this color is the same one that Chewlee's room was painted at the house in Port Charlotte.  I had no idea.

    I finally got a replacement fixture in my kitchen.  The Beast broke the cover for my old one (with no hope of getting a replacement since it wasn't a *stock* item).  It worked but looked kind of tacky with the bulbs showing on it.  When it started blowing bulbs, the Beast decided he needed to find something that would work.  Part of the problem has been that the fixtures seem to all concentrate their heat within the covers.  It gets very hot, I'm sure since seeing one of the wire nuts that should be an orange color had actually turned almost totally brown.  That was just from heat build-up.

    This one is very different...the design, I mean.  Tough to describe but it reminds me of those metal holders that are used for holding a plate that then has a votive candle on it.  The metal is curved and scrolled and holds the cover for the lights.  The *holder* is attached to a ceiling plate but hangs down.  There is enough room between it and the lights so that you can reach in to replace a bulb easily.  It's attractive and throws off enough light for the first time (my opinion).  I like a nice bright kitchen and it's one of the things I didn't like about the old fixture.  It's not like I have a big kitchen but it still needs light when you are trying to prepare a meal.  If I can ever locate the card reader that the Beast seems to have misplaced (a habit of his), I will take a picture and post it on here.

    Johnnycakes came early to pick up Chewlee.  It was a surprise to me since I expected the Princess to come get her after work.  That's what she told me when she called me this afternoon (Saturday).  I wasn't surprised later when she called me to see if I still had Chewlee.  I guess she wasn't sure if Johnnycakes would pick her up or not for some reason.  Chewlee ran up to give me a big hug and a goodbye kiss then held her hands up so Johnnycakes would pick her up.  She was so excited he came for her that she almost forgot her blankey and sippy cup. 

    After she left, I got busy doing a few things like cooking up some chicken for the dog, remaking the bed she took her nap in and straightening up my bed.  I then got my room back in order and tried to play a game or two on Pogo.  It's been raining off and on all day today so my internet connection has sucked.  Bratfink noticed that I kept popping on and off of my Yahoo messenger so she knew what was going on.  I hate days like that.  I figure I had better get this posted for delivery for all of those that read this while I still can.  Who knows what this weather holds?

    Love you all.  Take care and have a great day.  Smile.  It's good for your health, attitude and makes the people around you wonder what you are thinking about. 

  • Ever Have That Urge To Kill???

    The Beast has no idea that he came --><-- that close to dying today.  I've mentioned before that when things don't go the way he wants, he has this tendency to throw things.  Usually it is the inanimate thing he's working on.  He cusses and swears enough to make a sailor blush and I really, really get tired of that.  It just shows he never learned any self-control.  I think you can call it an *adult tantrum*.  I knew his sister and youngest brother threw tantrums as kids because I used to babysit for them. 

    About the third time he screwed up a cut on the trim and started throwing the pieces around like *they* did it and not him, I had about HAD IT!!!  I told him, *Finish that and get the hell OUT of this room if you value your life.*  He stood there, looked around the room and said to me, *Why do I have this sudden urge to weave your hair??*    I think that was when I pointed towards the door and just said, *OUT! OUT!*.  He DID laugh as he left but he stopped his tantrums while he finished up the caulking that needed doing.  If he had gotten pissed and thrown down that caulking gun, I WOULD have killed him.

    To top off my day, the Princess stopped by after work to pick up the Beast so he could get his truck and bring it home.  Her car is all better now.  It looks as good as it did before that idiot in the Jaguar backed right into her.  (She was stopped and waiting for her order at Sonic).  She was really ticked off though when she went to get into the car and her floor mat on the drivers side has all kinds of grease stains on it and there are greyish sliding strips on the drivers seat.  Aren't those jerks supposed to use those special paper pads to protect the mats and the seats?  Sheesh.  Knowing her, she will drop by and complain to them about it.  The inside of that car was perfect and looked like a brand new car.

    Anyway, what I started to say was, she walked into my room and said, *Oh.  This is the color I painted Chewlee's room at the house in Florida.  You have a baby's room!*  I just gave her *the look*.  She and the Beast laughed about it but I told them I really didn't care what they might think.  I LIKE this room.  I love the colors.  The Beast said he actually liked them too but how could he resist teasing me after all the times the Princess and I battled teasingly over the Red Hat Ladies?  They wear purple and ornate red hats.  They were always at the mall where the Princess worked and she thought they were just weird.  I kept telling her that I was going to join them and she was horrified.  Since then the color purple or any shade thereof has been a kind of standing joke between us.  In reality, I have always liked lilac and lavender colors.  I've always had plenty of it in my wardrobe through the years.

    I worked all day at getting the room back in order.  It looks nice.  All that needs to be done now is to move the recliner back into the room and it's finished.  HURRAH!!!  We have to find a place for the spare printer (the one I was using before I got this new printer/scanner) and the guest room is back in business.  Right now it's sitting in the middle of the bed.

    I am going to set this for liftoff later because I am going to bed early tonight come hell or high water.  I am exhausted and my left hip is hurting me from all the climbing and walking I've done.  I went to Walmart to pick up a few necessities and exchange a pair of jeans.  I needed the next size UP from the one I had grabbed.  Usually I take a 5 in jeans but I hadn't taken into consideration that these were *skinny* jeans.  That's what they called them.  I forgot how small they make the hips and that extra inch or two makes a difference when you have had four kids and like to be comfortable.   

    The Beast had me looking all over in different departments to find a laser pointer if I could.  He wanted it to play with the dog.  The flashlight he's been using only works well if you can keep the light in the room fairly dim.  With a laser pointer, the light wouldn't matter.  Anyway, it was a fruitless search.  I may have to buy one over the internet for his amusement.

    Love you all and I wish you the best day possible.  Remember the *human touch* when dealing with people.  A simple hug, a pat on the back or an arm around someone shoulders means more than words sometimes. 

  • #2...Some Forgotten Stuff

    When I woke up yesterday (Thursday), I was in a strange position and had a weird reaction to it.  I was laying on my back with my left hand thrown out from my body and it was pointing downward.  I had to have been in a really sound sleep because when I lifted my arm, my hand was incredibly swollen.    My fingers looked like sausages and the whole hand area looked like an overextended balloon hand or a latex glove you blew up to amuse some kid.

    It scared me because I had a ring on my finger and it looked like it was dug in tightly but, when I twisted it, I found I could do it easily and even move it a bit up and down.  *Phew!*  It took HOURS for that fluid to move out of the hand area.  It took almost a half hour before I could actually bend my fingers in toward my palm easily. 

    I spent about two hours constantly moving the hand and arm, flexing the muscles and generally trying to increase bloodflow to it.  Scared the crap out of me, let me tell you.  It's all back to normal now but I am going to be very nervous about the possibility of it happening again.  That means I will be waking myself up all night, I just know it.  *Sigh*

    The new fan light has a fatal flaw in it we discovered today.  The Beast went up to Lowe's (of course) and bought some 60 watt bulbs with the teeny bases on them (expensive, of course) and installed them.  I had told him and even he admitted that it didn't give enough light.  Of course not....4x40=160 which is just a tad more than a 3-way bulb gives off....and that's not much light in a room this size no matter how high up you put it.

    Imagine his surprise when he flicked it on and watched the bulbs dim.  It seems they had a notation on the instructions that stated ONLY 40 watt bulbs maximum.  And it seems they have installed some kind of failsafe that doesn't blow out the bulbs, like some would, but just dims them to an acceptable level.

    What's weird is that there doesn't seem to be a viable reason for this.  The *shades* are glass, there is no plastic (and the Beast had to assemble the darn thing, section by section so he knows) so why is a mystery.  I'm just glad that I have the gooseneck lamps here for those times I will actually need more lighting.  In the meantime, I'm just going to have to get used to it because I will NOT spend more money to get another fan light and go through the agony we went through the other night (pinched wires....disassemble....broken wire in another area....disassemble..nightmare time).  I didn't mention that because the Beast kept coming in here and interrupting my train of thought.  I finally gave it up.  Same thing tonight.  I really need my door back soon.  He seems to know not to come in when I have it closed. 

    The Princess still has our truck because she hasn't gotten her repaired car back yet.  If she told the Beast when they said she could pick it up, I wasn't told.  She always thinks HE tells me all and he just forgets if he did or not.  He will say to me ..*I'm sure I told you.*  He doesn't believe it when I tell him he didn't.  I always say to him, *I* am not the one with memory problems.  Aggravates the hell out of him when I do but it's true.  He will make plans (in his mind or with other people) to do something or go somewhere and he *forgets* to tell me.  Now I don't mind that if it only involves HIM but I really resent it when he includes me in the plans without consulting me.  I can't tell you the number of  times he's done it and I had to tell him I couldn't go because of other things that I was committed to doing....like taking care of Chewlee.  I just love having her for an excuse.  But he knows I have to take care of her on Saturdays and, without having enough time for the Princess to make other arrangements, I can't take off on a whim.

    I'm finding, however, that I like being home unless I am going to be with family.  MY family.  I really have little in common with his but I do enjoy his one brother's wife.  We get along well and we understand the weirdos we married really ARE weirdos.  But we both have our own way of dealing with them and just roll our eyes when they do some things that are typically wrong or strange.  You know, like swearing and throwing things and acting like inanimate objects are responsible instead of user error. 

    Worse.  Throwing things around without regard for where they are throwing them or if they are breakable.  I never got into that bad habit or even got that frustrated or thoughtless.  I can't ever remember throwing something, not even a drink.  It's a bad habit the Beast has had for years and, to me, it just has always shown me a total lack of control or regard.

    Oh well.  Time for bed.  I really thought I would be there long before this.  Thanks for letting me vent a bit.  Oh, and I want to thank my readers from France and the Republic of Monrovia.    I appreciate your taking the time to stop by. 

  • Surrounded By Purple...Well, Lilac And I Love It!

    The Beast calls it purple but if you saw it, you would know it's shades of lilac.  Especially if you grew up with a mother that loved lilacs.  At the first house we actually lived in and owned, at the end of the driveway there was a lilac bush.  When they bloomed every spring, Mom would put the blooms into a vase and just walk around humming tunes and being happy.  We didn't often see that so I remember it vividly.  She loved the smell.  I assume that is why lavender is considered a therapeutic aroma.  It's so close to the smell of fresh cut lilac branches....*sigh*.

    It makes me feel very calm and I find myself smiling when I glance over at it.  I held up my basket with the greenery in it and it looks spectacular against the darker of the two colors.  I'm already planning on where I am going to put my pictures and the type of curtains I want.  I have some I can use temporarily but I definitely want something just a little less frilly and old-fashioned.  These are the sheers with the ruffled edges that you see almost EVERYWHERE.  They have ruffled tiebacks that match.  The Beast bought them and thought I would approve.  I was just shocked that it was so.....well, modern.  If you could see his taste in most things, you would know why we argue as much as we do about that kind of thing.  He was showing me some area rugs he liked and all I could think was....OMG!  This looks like stuff from 1900!  We had a really bad argument that time and he dropped the idea of an area rug.  At least for now.  I am sure it will come up in the future again.  It will probably be once the weather gets very cold.  *sigh*

    UPDATE ON TONTO: He came home today after 16 plasma exchanges.  His kidney functions have returned 100% but.....the TTP-HUS is still active.  His body is not producing it's own white blood cells yet.  He will be getting another exchange on Saturday and, most likely, a weekly one from then on until the TTP goes dormant.  There is no cure.  He will always be susceptible to it becoming active again without warning.  He will have to go for blood tests weekly until his body starts producing it's own cells and reaches a limit that makes them feel the TTP has gone dormant.  Continued prayers for his speedy recovery is still appreciated.  He still has the shunt attached to his jugular so has to be careful until they reach a point where it can be removed.

    The room is not back in order yet because the three darker lilac walls need another coat of paint.  As soon as he gets the one wall done, I can start getting the blinds up, etc.  I just hope the Beast gets the second coat done early tomorrow because I can have the room in order in no time once that is done.  I have to have it done because of having Chewlee on Saturday.  I can't wait to see her reaction to the new colors.  I'm actually looking forward to it. 

    I am going to get this posted now so you have something to read even though my life seems kind of on the dull side.  I am, however, going to leave you with this thought :  In some way, everyday you should reach out and touch someone.  Someone might never remember your name but they will always remember how you made them feel.

    Love you all.  Have a great day.  And here's the thought for the day:  *When God closes a door, He always opens a window.* 

  • Remember The Purple People Eater,Anyone?

    My room is well underway now, finally.  I did all the trim and the window plus one wall and the Beast is doing the rest.  Unfortunately, due to the crappy nature of the original paint, it's taking two coats....maybe more in some areas.  We have to wait until morning to be sure.  It should be ready tomorrow to start putting back together.  I will be sooooooo grateful for that.  Right now, this room is a nightmare to look at.  Nothing is where it should be. 

    I can listen to the TV if I am at the computer but have to turn to look at the screen.   The bookcase is sitting in the middle of the floor next to the craft table.  We kept having to move everything to get good access to the areas we were painting.

    I spent an hour trying to untangle and make sense out of all the damn wiring behind my computer desk.  The Beast gave me some small wire ties to use to try to separate them out and keep them from getting all tangled up again.  I managed to find only four wires that it would work with and gave up on that.  But it IS in much better shape now and you can easily find anything you might want to disconnect or unplug now.  I also discovered that I had the original router plugged in but no wiring going to it.  What a waste of a plug because we changed our router a couple months ago.  The Beast connected it up but never unplugged the old one.  Because the lights on it were showing (as I expected), it never occurred to me that it was unnecessary.

    I actually have a lot more room on the small shelf on my desk now that it's gone.  It almost looks naked because the new router is so much smaller.    I'm sure I'll have it crapped up in no time.  That's one thing I notice about painting any room.  You are forced into cleaning the room being painted and everything in it.  It feels nice and clean afterward.....for a while.  But life has a way of interfering with plans you make to keep it that way.  Pretty soon, it's darn near as cluttered as it was before you painted. 

    The Beast has his work cut out for him the next few days.  He's got the three doors from this room (2 closet doors and the entry door) to get painted and then put back up.  I told him the closet doors must be done before Saturday or Chewlee will be rooting in there for sure.  I have a lot of containers with yarn, paints for my crafts, brushes, all the sewing stuff....a real treat for a two-year-old.  She could actually open the doors but she's good about not doing that .  If *I* open them, however, she is quick to run in to see what she can grab.....LOL.

    I guess from all the painting I've been doing and the unfamiliar movements of my arms and shoulders, I have fluid building up on my left elbow again.  Once I was able to hook up my computer stuff again, the TV, DVD player and printer and get that plugged in, I wrapped it up like the doctor showed me.  Now I understand why he didn't feel that draining the fluid off with a needle that first time was a smart thing to do.  It wouldn't have stopped it from happening again.  This is the third time now.  At least I know that it only takes a couple days of using pressure on it to make it disburse. 

    The Beast also finished up cutting the grass today.  Poor Baron wanted to go outside while he was mowing but Baron has a bad habit of running at the tractor and the Beast is afraid of accidentally hurting him.  He is always more busy watching what he's doing than keeping aware of where Baron might be.  He really got a lot accomplished today.  I think he said his calendar is now filled up for about 10 months ahead.  He likes to get one thing accomplished per day...that's his goal.  He's gotten so many things done the last two weeks that he feels he is THAT far ahead of himself now.  He can be so weird at times.  He was tired out, poor thing, so he went to bed early.  Painting for him is way more physical than riding on the lawn mower.  At least he had the easy part.  Nothing but flat walls. 

    I really like how the room looks with my two tones of lilac.  Or shades of purple if you prefer.  But the Beast walked in and said I should be playing *Purple People Eater* whenever someone comes in the room.  I just stuck my tongue out at him.  I love it and, since I spend so much time in here, that is all that matters. 

    I noticed that my hummingbird feeders are low and I need to make up some more syrup for them.  They will be feeding there more often now that most of their flowers are gone.  They need to get ready to migrate soon to warm climes.  I will miss seeing them when we sit out on the deck.  They are so cute when they are playing.  They will actually fly close to our faces and you feel like they are saying, *Hello!* or *Good morning*.   Sometimes they cock their heads over to the side like they are puzzled by what they are seeing.  I just feel so blessed that they have no fear of us.  They will even get close to Baron and then they both cock their heads while looking at each other.  I'm sure Baron has no clue what to make of the hummingbirds doing that to him.  But it IS cute to watch.

    Gonna get this posted so I can get the kitchen straightened up and finish loading the dishwasher.  I have clothes to be folded but won't do that until I get this room back in order.  I can use the craft table for my stacks as I fold.  It will be a lot easier, especially on my back since I use to use the floor for that. 

    Love you all and have a wonderful day.  Here's the thought for today:  *Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain! *

  • I Guess I Should Count My Blessings....

    I was really annoyed with the Beast today because I want my room back and everything in place again.  But, because it was a fairly nice morning, he looked at the grass and said *I have to cut that before I have to hire someone with a reaper*.   Granted, it was long but I thought it could go ONE MORE DAY without it being too much worse.  It's not like it grows a foot a day like bamboo.  I wanted the ceiling painted in here. 

    So off he goes on his John Deere.  He cut the back, the front and the one side of the house but not our lot next door.  That was his idea of a compromise.  After eating a bit of lunch, he did finally start on the ceiling.  I was really stunned.   The damn ceiling just DRANK the paint up.  We figured it would take two coats of paint since it really had crappy *construction grade* paint on it to begin with.  For maybe $30. more, they could have used a better grade of paint but, nooooooo.  Sheesh.  After a couple hours of drying time, the Beast got the second coat of paint on it and we crossed our fingers that it wouldn't require a third.  So far, so good but we really won't be able to tell until tomorrow.

    After a nap, he then ran up to Lowe's (remind me to buy stock in that store with all the money he spends there) to buy me a new fan light and an air purifier.  I thought he had already bought the paint for my walls but it turned out he had just bought more paint for the ceilings the other day.  Today he did pick it up.  We had a small disagreement about which wall would be the *feature* wall but finally agreed on the one I wanted originally.

    I did end up taking the blinds out on the deck and I got them scrubbed well.  I got the strings all cleaned and they really looked good when they dried.  I got them back in the house after they had sat in the sun for a while and they are ready to be put back up after the window wall is painted.

    I yelled at the Beast for using the guest bathroom and leaving it up (like all men do).  I told him I wanted it down, lid and all, because when Baron drinks out of it (turning green here), he dribbles water all over the place like he was some kind of bloodhound or something.  I slid and almost killed myself where he had gotten water all over the tile floor in there and followed a trail across the living room and into the kitchen area.  It will NOT be good for the wood floors if he is constantly dripping water all over it every single day of the year.  He'd better learn to drink from his water bowl or go use the toilet in OUR bathroom.  At least we have more rugs in that area and the Beast pays more attention in there.  After I yelled at him, he just said, *Oh.  I forgot*.  Small voice.  It made me smile as I was walking into my room where he couldn't see it. 

    So we got the fan light assembled and put up, although it wasn't easy since it was night.  I have two gooseneck lamps and had to turn them up towards the ceiling plus hold a flashlight up there while the Beast struggled to get all the damn parts together.  He assembled it all himself.  I was just *fetch, carry and hold the light* for the most part.  But it is finally up and working.  Looks much better than that damn white crappy one that WAS there.  I had tried to clean it up but, looking at the new one now, I guess I am much happier with this one.  It also has four lights on it instead of three.  More light but, wouldn't you know it?  The lights for it have tiny bases so they will cost way more than standard ones.  *sigh*  How could he know though if they didn't have a sample one up on display.  Hell, wouldn't have mattered.  He wouldn't have even noticed.  Who am I kidding? 

    So tomorrow is the big painting day.  If everything goes well, it should be done by evening.  I sure hope so.  Then I can spend Thursday getting everything back together again.  The poor guest room is just loaded with all the stuff from in here.  The Beast thinks he's going to keep the recliner out in the living room again but I am not going to let that happen.  I love having mine in HERE.  Where HE wants to put it, you can't even see the TV.  And there's really no good place to put it without changing everything around again.

    So I am really tired from all the going up and down my little step ladder (again).  My legs are letting me know they don't approve of all this so I took some ibuprofen so they won't keep me awake.  Love you all.  Have a great day.  Treat yourself to something good today even if it's just a bowl of ice cream.  You deserve it.