Month: May 2008

  • A Diagnosis and Renfaire in Tennessee

    I had to re-read my blog to know where I left off so I could pick up the information where I left off. When last I wrote, I was waiting for the results of my CT scan. Well, the CT scan just confirmed I was full of shit but we all knew that, right? So I had to go get a sonagram for a closer look or something. The end result of it all is that I have Irritable Bowel Syndrome. The good news is that it is eminently treatable and I can get over it. I have had it for so long that the prognosis is it will take some time for it to be resolved. It also meant more (and different) medications but I can tell you this...it IS getting better. The *bulge* is changing sizes I guess because I am now moving my bowels more often, which is a necessary part of getting over the problem. I still have bouts of pain and must lay down and just relax but it subsides and I can accomplish some things around the house.

    The Beast and I have fallen into a pattern of food preparation that seems to be working quite well for us. He makes breakfast (it's usually the time of day I have problems if I am going to have them). He has a lot of energy in the morning and also loves to eat. We usually eat a late breakfast so lunch becomes a kind of *do it yourself* thing. I often make up tuna salad or egg salad so we can grab a quick sandwich or else make up a salad (that's what I often do anyway). I make dinner and I try to make sure it's both nourishing and tasty, as well as balanced nutritionally.

    The Beast is down in Fort Lauderdale right now. He's doing more work for one of our old customers. He is inspecting buildings they have up for sale or have sold and helping them plan repairs and budgeting for equipment replacements. He thinks this will be the last of his consulting for them as the trip is really too hard for him plus the traffic and other problems while he's there make him grateful we don't live there any more. It's actually sad because Fort Lauderdale was once a great place to live. Then it became Manhattan South, so-to-speak. Between the huge population and the drug problems, it's almost not safe to walk alone in daylight. Sad, so very sad. The Beast told me there are now signs everywhere warning people not to leave valuables in their automobiles and for women NOT to walk alone to their cars in shopping centers!!!

    Oh well. We finally found a great place to board the dog when we need it. I put him in for the weekend because I had plans to drive up to my son's house and go to the Renfaire in Tennessee with them. They go every year and have since they moved there about 7 or 8 years ago. It was a first for me but, since the drive there is only about an hour and a half or so (depending on traffic), I thought...why the heck not? I had a ball. It is truly amazing to see the people who are so *into* the Renaissance thing that they dress up to attend Renfaire. I kid you not. Some of the costumes were amazing and most were homemade. The crafts displayed were incredible. I saw all kinds of things I would have loved to have purchased but it wasn't in the cards this time. I plan on attending next year and hope we can get to the one here in Alabama in October so the Beast can experience it too. I loved the gypsy show. The girls were very talented belly dancers and one gal did a dance with two veils that was breathtaking and took a lot of talent.

    We watched the Jousting and then the Birds of Prey show which had falcons that were incredible to watch. The hawks were so intense that you just KNEW they wouldn't miss their prey once sighted. They had one guy called Axel the Sot who had some of the funniest songs and I adored his humor. There wasn't time to see everything but we sure gave it a try.

    I had given my granddaughter Traci money for her birthday and she had it for Renfaire. She proceeded to start looking for a Renfaire outfit and was really intense in looking at prices so she knew what *she* could afford. Of course the clothes are individually made so they were not cheap but she managed to find a skirt that was *spiky* all the way around and we found a cut top that had a kind of gypsy look to it. I threw in a few more bucks so she could get her outfit (and so did her mother) then I bought her a decorative headpiece that had ribbons trailing down the back. She looked adorable and all she needed was a pair of wings and she would have looked like a fairy. My daughter-in-law said she will make her a set of wings that she can use for halloween and again for next year's Renfaire.

    I was glad to get home because the place the fair is set up on is a very hilly private estate. The owner has actually built a castle that looks like it belongs on an English hillside. He does, however, have modern conveniences (like bathrooms) since real castles didn't have such luxuries. Heck, they weren't even known in the same sense we think of them. The man built the castle over the last 20 years...stone by stone, himself. He has done an incredible job and it's hidden on this estate with trees surrounding it so that it's really not noticeable from any road. It's only during this month-long Renfaire that the public is allowed a chance to come inside and take a tour. The line was long later in the day but worth the wait. If you ever get up to Tennessee in May, check it out on the web and come spend a day or two. It's worth every minute of it.

    I picked up Beast Jr. on Monday afternoon (it was at a vets office...very country-ish) since he was also to have his heartworm update exam, have his nails cut and it gave me a little extra time to get things done without his distraction. He obviously had a good time because he got to interact with other dogs and slept in a *kennel* in the barn on hay (which he loves to eat) I don't think he actually got much in the way of sleep because he's been very subdued and doing a lot of sleeping since I brought him home. He was funny when I pulled into the driveway with him because he couldn't WAIT to take a quick run all over the property and then he beat me to the door inside. He has been what I would call a *velcro* dog because the Beast Sr. isn't here and I think he's afraid I'm going to leave without him, too. There are times..........

    The Beast won't be home until Monday so I only have a few more days of alone time....as long as I ignore the fact that I have sole ownership of Beast jr. and all his needs in the meantime. *Sigh* Oh well, c'est la vie!

    It's late (or early, depending on your point of view) so I am going to close this off for now. I have more to relate but my mind is tired. Love you all.

    Love well and often, dance like no one is watching, laugh often and tell the ones you love that you love them every time you see them. Have a wonderful week.