Month: June 2007

  • Were we hacked???

    I had several subjects I was going to discuss until I found this site down yesterday. I got on early and it was missing in action. A *404* not a maintenance notice. That didn't come until much, much later in the day. It still wasn't up and running until about mid-morning or so (depending on your time zone). If it WAS hacked, I hope whoever did it got a big laugh and will find out that what goes around, comes around. At some point in their pointless existence, they will find out what it's like to have some KID (and only a kid gets a kick out of hacking a site like Xanga) ruin some-thing of theirs. I hope it's expensive and makes life inconvenient for them.

    So on to other matters. As bad as I am with making entries, it's going to get worse folks. Don't look for an entry from me until around July 3rd. We are leaving earlier than planned for my family reunion and stopping to spend some time with our kids on the way. We will be in Chicago Saturday night (parents can put a damper on kids plans when they are unexpected....LOL) because we aren't staying long enough for them to get tired of us. I have to give my grandkids their afghans I made for them and my daughter hers when we get to Louisville where we will spend the night.

    We are going to Indiana to pick up one of my sisters and bring her to Chicago, too. My daughter wants to come with but she hasn't answered me if our change of plans will allow it. She expected us to come on Tuesday and leave Wednesday. I happen to know she doesn't work on Monday or Tuesday anyway so she should be able to arrange to leave with us on Saturday. If not, well life's a bitch sometimes.

    One of the things the Beast and I had really looked forward to was our time together without any kids. We wanted to be able to pick up and go wherever we wanted when we could without having to pack for a crowd or worry about anyone other than ourselves. So, when all the kids had finally moved out, it was wonderful. No mess WE didn't make.
    No pile of dirty clothes that wasn't ours. Groceries I had plans for where still there when I wanted them. We got about six months of that before we ended up having custody of our granddaughter and there went THAT dream.

    Now that we finally ARE alone, being able to look around and say "Why are we leaving next week? We could leave right now if we wanted to!" Well, that's almost true. We still have to clean out the fridge, stop the mail and a few other things that consume some time but we can still get done quickly. So, we are leaving bright and early tomorrow morning. The car is washed and cleaned, the bags are packed and I only have to run out to pick up one of my prescriptions that will run out while we are gone if I don't get it refilled now. Then it's just a matter of getting a good nights sleep.

    The Beast has the GPS already in the car and is putting the afghans and luggage in the trunk. I have our little snacks put aside and ready. The hubby will have to pack his ditty bag with his hair gunk, brush and his meds in the morning but that's pretty much it. Oh, and he'll shut off the water because having PVC waterlines makes him nervous when we are going to be gone longer than overnight ...LOL

    So, sayonara everyone. I hope we all have as much fun as we hope. I'll let you know how everything went when I return.

    Have a great week and then some.

  • The Water Meter Reader and the Japanese Beetle Saga

    We've had friends from Savannah visiting us but they used our travel trailer and stayed at a nearby State Park on Lake Guntersville. The Beast put our pontoon boat in the water and kept it docked at the piers in the park for a few days since he and his buddy went out fishing every day while they were here except the last one.

    Daytime fishing proved uneventful so they decided to try late afternoon and early evening as bass and crappie (so they were told) prefer to feed during those hours. Early morning was out of the question for both the men because, although they get up early, they don't really MOVE for hours. They like a leisurely wake-up, sipping hot coffee and then a late breakfast. After being on work motivated schedules for years, this is one of their main enjoyments that they cherish.

    That's why this past Wednesday, which is apparantly meter reading day for our water department here, my hubby was home to answer the door when our doorbell rang rather early. It was the meter reader with news for us. He explained that he had noticed our water usage was increasing these past two months and he wanted to alert us that we might just have a water leak started between our house and the meter.

    First of all, I was very surprised at his thoughtfulness at reporting this to us. It's a measure of the difference from the kind of behavior of workers in Florida. Although we never had a problem, we heard the horror stories of a couple neighbors where an early warning would have helped them out.

    My husband thanked him kindly but explained that the reason it was increasing was our lack of rain and the fact that we had started a garden PLUS he was trying to grow grass from seed and that required keeping the area moist for several weeks.

    The meter reader actually seemed relieved. I think he hated the idea that he might be the purveyor of bad news, especially since all the homes in this area are not more than a year old. I wrote a nice letter to our water board to let them know how much we appreciated his thoughtfulness and concern. I hope it helps him when he has his annual or semi-annual evaluation. I didn't want his actions to go unrecognized or think it wasn't appreciated.

    The hubby brought home the pontoon boat on Thursday evening and then had to pick up the trailer on Friday. Since our friends were owed a nights lodging at a motel chain that had a branch here locally, they decided to spend their last night using that chit and leave early on Saturday for home. *Dee* didn't have to be at work until Tuesday but it gives them two days of rest after that long drive and having to UNpack the car. I swear they brought anything they might need that I might possibly NOT have supplied in the travel trailer. They also left with more food than they came with because of the way they shopped (hungry.....LOL)

    We barbequed for dinner Friday night instead of going out to eat because they had so much food and didn't want to waste it or cart any more than they had to back home. It was also nice and relaxing since the men did the cooking <>. We said our goodbyes and really hated to see them go. They are both good company even though *Dee* and I didn't get to spend as much time together this time while she went out looking at homes twice while the boys were out fishing.

    Our Saturday was uneventful while we did our usual gardening and the Beast had to do all his watering. We don't have a sprinkler system (yet) although his buddy has the tool for digging the trench for running the pipe and is going to help the Beast do that this fall. He'll come for a few days and help him lay it out and get it installed. The Beast still hasn't decided if and when he will have a well dug or just hook it up to the city water. I think a lot will have to do with this drought they are experiencing here in the Tennessee Valley area. Lots of peoples wells are drying up and he doesn't want to throw away good money on a fruitless project.

    This morning the Beast woke up early (as usual) while I turned over and decided to sleep in for a while longer. When I got up at 8:30am and brought my coffee on the rear deck and joined him, he greeted me with the news that almost all our fruit trees were covered with Japanese beetles. Of course, right then he didn't know they were Japanese, just that they were covered in beetles. He used all the insect killer we had left from Florida that we used on our garden but was heading up to Lowe's (bless the fact that it is so close to us it's his second home) to see if he could identify the beetles and find an insecticide that would work on them and not hurt the trees.

    He got them identified from a chart of beetles and they helped him select an insecticide that is effective and is guaranteed not to hurt the trees or the fruit. He couldn't wait to get home and spray the trees, making sure he got the undersides of the leaves (which he had neglected with his first spraying in a panic). He did find out they hadn't gotten to the plum trees yet so I think he sprayed them hoping to repel them from even trying.

    There were so many beetles on his many fruit trees (peaches, cherries, apples, plums and pear) that I think there must have been a huge cloud of them that descended like some grade B movie. I kid you not. You should have seen the cloud of them that came off one peach tree. Nothing one day, a freaking crowd the next.

    The worst part of it is they really made a mess out of the tops of the trees especially (must be the tender parts up there) and the leaves are really eaten in a peculiar way. It looks like they just ate the tender green outer cover and left all the lacy infrastructure of the leaves. It's almost pretty like a spider web can be if you don't consider what it means. I'm grateful that all the trees are young enough that they should weather this onslaught. They also did not have a lot of fruit on them since the Beast didn't want them putting all their energy into maturing fruit so he had picked off most of the blossoms this past spring and a late frost kind of took even more off from some that had come out after the beast had done his *pruning*.

    So now, since I know my hubby, he will be on a mission. His mission? To wipe out each and every Japanese beetle that dares to land on any of our precious trees or, god forbid, our garden. He DOES have both watermelons and cantaloupe started and our tomato plants are full of tomatoes in various stages of maturity. I have no clue as to what all Japanese beetles will eat and neither does he, although I will bet he will be on the internet later today and will find out.

    Well, three out of our five kids (I am including our adopted granddaughter, who was the first to call) have called to wish the Beast a Happy Fathers Day. He didn't even know it was today since he doesn't pay attention. However, he is happy and curious to see whether the other two will call. I think only the one missing son will call later (he was up very late last night and this is his only day off so he will be sleeping late, I am sure). Our oldest daughter is kind of
    *lost in space* and her cell phone is probably not working (again).

    However, I hope everyone has a wonderful Fathers Day, no matter WHO you are. Be happy to be alive. I am.

  • E-coli or what?

    I wasn't able to do any blog writing due to the fact that both the Beast and I were sick for several days. We are still not 100% but we are much better today than we have been for the last four days or so. We suspect that we had a mild episode of E-coli poisoning or whatever you would call it. Here's why......

    I do my grocery shopping at our Wal-Mart just down the road from us. It's a matter of just about 4 miles versus about 15 to get to the only other grocery store in the area (Piggly-Wiggly). In this instance, it's location, location, location <>

    One evening I decided I had a taste for a nice juicy hamburger and some home-made french fries so I made a couple nice hamburger patties, peeled and cut up some potatoes, melted enough Crisco for the fries and started dinner. I made up up some nice medium rare hamburgers and some fries, cut up tomatoes and served up dinner (I also added some cottage cheese to the mix but I digress so you will know I care about our health eating).

    It was tasty and filling and we went to bed later that evening with all being well. The next day, however, I awoke feeling nauseous without a clue as to WHY I felt that way. I was sipping my coffee because IT was making the nausea worse. I mentioned it to the Beast and he admitted that he wasn't feeling all that well either. We figured we might just be trying to come down with something. Needless to say, we kind of laid around the house, not doing much more than we had to as we continued to feel not only bad but worse. Our friends got into town and the Beast went to help them set up our trailer in the campground in Guntersville. While he was there, he had a severe attack of diarrhea. Thankfully, the sewer line from the trailer was installed so he could use the bathroom there without worry of embarrassment.

    I was at home, in the meantime, feeling and doing the same thing and wondering just what the heck was happening to us and grateful that my doctor had office hours on Saturday if I needed to try to make the journey. The Beast got home, told me about HIS adventure and I agreed that we were both suffering from the same thing. I had cramps that came in waves and kept having to lay down with a pillow for comfort until the wave passed. I was grateful that we have two bathrooms here, let me tell you!!

    Later on that day, my hubby goes online to check his email and finds this article my sister emailed to him regarding E-coli being found in hamburger. It didn't phase him until later in the article it mentions that it was found in the hamburger sold ti Wal-Mart in Alabama ! That set up an alarm bell immediately. I went to check the package for the date and, sure enough, the hamburger I had used came under that date. At least our feeling sick made sense now. I tend to buy the 2-1/2 lb packs of hamburger mentioned and take half of each, put it in gallon size freezer bags and put it in the freezer. I buy at least three or four each time I buy hamburger. I had three other packs in the freezer so I just grabbed them out and threw them in the garbage. No sense taking ANY chances.

    In the meantime, the Beast and I have been grateful we are healthy and it seems to have played it's way through our systems without getting any worse than that first day we suffered the worst of the symptoms. I only vomited twice...once from the coffee and again later that day but not since. Like I said, we are not almost over it, I hope.

    Of course, it helps that we keep yogurt in the house (Dannon All Natural and Activia) so we used that when we didn't have an appetite. Yesterday, I actually made homemade chicken soup that was both tasty and seemed to be exactly what the doctor ordered <>

    So, now the Beast is out on Lake Guntersville with his buddy, fishing for Crappies (or, as he jokes, doing some crappy fishing). I'm working on getting out my emails and bringing the blog kind of up-to-date and trying to figure out what we are having for dinner. My stomach is still a bit on the *tender* side so I don't have a real taste for anything. I may just opt to have some more of my soup and let the Beast fix whatever he wants for himself. I sure hope tomorrow is a better day and one where we feel fully recovered. I would hate for this to drag on any more than it has.

    The Beast goes out fishing and I am sitting outside, enjoying a bit of fresh air after watering the plants on the deck. I decide to come into the house to do a load of clothes and see a bajillion ants crawling all over our garbage can in the kitchen. The top is up so I look and see that the Beast had finished the gallon of ice cream we had in the freezer and had just thrown it out in the garbage can without at least rinsing it out ! Three guesses what the ants were after.....and the first two don't count.

    The trusty ant spray took care of the ants (and I think a half can of the spray) so I let it sit to dry off a bit before I cleaned it up. I kept going back to make sure that I had gotten all the ants. It was finally ready so I removed the garbage bag inside (and had to spray part of the outside of that) and took that outside to our big garbage can. I dragged the garbage can from the houe (which the Beast made out of wood and is really a neat holder for the bags with a removable top with hinged lid) and took it outside to hose off and clean out. I swept up the thousands of ant bodies on the kitchen floor and removed the evidence <> . It's all now back in place and ant-free, complete with clean garbage bag. The Beast called me a bit ago and I was sure to mention how his neglect had led to the ant invasion but he didn't even seem contrite. **sigh** If the roles had been reversed, I would never have heard the end of it. MEN!!!!

    Oh well, the end of another day. Our tomato plants are doing well and are full of tomatoes. Some are really big and I can hardly wait to taste them fresh off the plant. The rest of our garden is also doing well and the Beast has two nice size (softball) watermelons on one of his plants already. He's in seventh heaven and drooling already <>
    The cantaloupes are just babies but *I* am looking forward to those. I love cantaloupe for breakfast. Bush beans, beets, cucumbers and other goodies are doing well but it's a bit early for them yet. We WILL have a nice garden variety of foods to eat and can by the end of summer, I hope.

    Have a wonderful day ya'll. Come again soon. <.

  • Busy, Busy Couple of Days

    It's been a hectic couple of days here. I'm trying to clean up some of the mess here in the house from dirt and grass clippings tracked in by the Beast plus clean the trailer up for our friends to use this weekend. It's been closed up and ignored for almost a year so I went in with the idea of REALLY cleaning it. That meant wipe down walls, ceilings, cabinets (inside and out), the appliances and the bathroom. We also had a blind we needed to repair or replace since we do intend to use it ourselves later this summer.

    So.....I got all my stuff together and figured I could do this all in one day. It's only a 25 foot trailer after all. HA! HA! HA!

    What I didn't take into account was that the weather was not going to be mild and pleasant. Instead, it was 95 degrees and the wind was coming out of the wrong direction to air out the trailer. I almost fainted twice and had to come into the air conditioned house to cool down and rehydrate myself. I also decided to go at it a little slower and take two or three days if I needed. We started on Wednesday morning. The Beast was going to concentrate on getting the pontoon boat cleaned up. He started out telling me it wasn't in bad shape. Then he started cleaning it up. I knew he changed his mind when I heard his *Oh SHIT*. I just smiled.

    He had swept up the deck and then realized the seats were slightly mildewed. So he got some hot, soapy water with some bleach in it and started by taking the seats off the couch area. Underneath it, in the storage area, some of the things we had stored under there were in dire shape and it was a mess. Needless-to-say, it was NOT an easy clean.

    To make matters worse, we have a changing room on it. It actually folds down and is cushioned on the outside. It has a canvas curtain that zips up and down. It also doubles as our bathroom for the ladies since the men just turn their backs and take care of business. Its not so simple for us gals.

    Well, when he pulled up the changing room, scads of wasps flew out. So there's the Beast, armed with his trusty hose, combating the wasps with high powered water spray and stomping on the ones not lucky enough to get away. It seems we had acquired about 10 wasp nests of varying sizes, none of them big, thank goodness, inside the changing room. He spent an hour spraying and crushing, spraying and crushing. When he finally had finished up battling the wasps and destroying the nests, he was able to clean everything up. He also had to make a couple minor repairs that he hadn't noticed until he started the cleaning.

    *I* am finished now for an hour or so but he is still outside, finishing up his cleaning on the deck. But it will be done and we will be ready to take out the boat on Sunday. He had already finished up his maintenance on the motor and the trailer before he started his cleaning so we are really and truly set.

    My girlfriend told me not to make up the bed since she will bring her own sheets, linens and pillows. I used some of that new odor eliminator stuff on everything made of fabric and some Fabreeze (the spelling looks wrong but I'll be darned if I will get up and go look at it so....you at least know what I mean). That way I know everything smells as clean as I know it is right down to the holding tank that I put deodorizer into that's specially made for that.

    I made sure the dishes, silverware, pots and pans were all unpacked and in place as well as the toaster, can opener, utensils, glasses, storage bowls and the coffee pot. I kept making notes for myself (I told you my memory sucks at times) so that they would only have to buy food for themselves. Our propane tanks are both filled, as well as the tires are at the proper inflation. They (the tires) are all brand new...well, we put them on last year but they are still under warranty. We didn't want to have to worry about a flat after we bought it used so the Beast bit the bullet and put new ones on it.

    We repaired the blind that had broken (it was just a string that came loose) and I cleaned the windows and dusted the blinds. I put all the curtains back up (I had stored them after cleaning them when we got the trailer ready to store at the back of our property. The beast had it elevated and level so that the tires were off the ground so we wouldn't get flat spots on them. It isn't easy having a lot of *toys* that require care and maintenance as my hubby said to me today. I think he is getting tired of always working on something or another.

    Right now I am just trying to finish up getting the house ready for our company. They won't be staying with us but will be just a couple miles away at the campground of one of our state parks. We stayed there last summer while we waited to close on our house here and it was very nice and peaceful. My girlfriend, a psychiatrist, is badly in need of some of that since she hasn't had a real getaway in almost two years. I really hope they enjoy it.

    Well, I am going to finish up my house and then sit and work on the afghan for my daughter and son-in-law. It has to be extra long since my son-in-law is 6'5" tall and has never had an afghan or even seen one that is long enough for him to be comfortable using. I will surprise him with this one. I only have two weeks to finish it before we make the trip up for my family reunion. We are stopping in Louisville for our daughter and I will present the afghan to them when we get there. Our daughter has a friend in the same town that I will be staying with my ex-sister-in-law so we will drop her off and her friend will drop her at the reunion a couple days later.

    I just found out that I may be making the ride home with just my daughter until I drop her off but she lives only 5-6 hours away from our Alabama house so I won't have far to ride alone. My hubby's brother has rented a cabin in Northern Minnesota and plans on spending a week or two (I'm not really sure which) up there fishing. My hubby hasn't been up there since he was a kid and was invited to come along. I was invited too but I have a garden to tend and I am not a fishing fanatic like the hubby and his brother. So....he will ride along with them and then fly home later.

    What it means is......I will FINALLY get some alone time. <>

    Ya'll have a great day now, ya hear? <>

  • A funny little event

    Since I am now feeling better (just love those pain pills that enable me to walk upright again), I am doing more stuff outside than I have been able to for a couple months. Today, while moving some tomato plants from the deck to the garden area, we saw the funniest sight.

    I suppose it wasn't funny to the hummingbird but we watched a cardinal chasing it all over our property. I mean, that cardinal was PISSED!!!

    Now what can a hummingbird, about two or three inches long, do to piss off a cardinal? Try to cart off an egg? I don't think so. But it went on for almost 20 minutes before both birds were either exhausted or satisfied. Who knows but the acrobatics were spectacular. And, thankfully for us observors, it was the male cardinal that was ticked off. That helped us track the whole event. Oh well, Mother Nature and her children. Who knows?

    Our friends from Savannah never made it in last weekend. It's tough for a doctor to get away sometimes but they have it all set for this Saturday. They made their reservations at the local campground/state park and will pick up our travel trailer on Saturday. They will get to spend Saturday all alone, no phones allowed (their rule, not the parks) and we will get together with them on Sunday for a day of boating and, hopefully, some swimming in the lake. I am a wimp so if the water is too cold, I will stick with sunbathing. Besides, my muscles all tighten up if I get cold and that is not a good thing while I am recuperating from this darn back injury. <>

    We will all get to fish anyway and we are told Lake Guntersville has some of the best bass fishing in the country. We shall see although how we will manage after salt water game fish, I am not sure. They really can fight and are a lot of fun besides being good eating. I will let you all know.

    The Beast bought a MAC last summer while he was here and his special MAC keyboard went bad on him a couple days ago. He bought the MAC because the graphics on it are spectacular. Windows can't even touch it when it comes to colors and things like that. He has the Print Shop program (don't ask about cost) for MAC also. He is really into photography and is exceptionally good at it so I bit my tongue on the cost of it. At the time, he ws doing consulting work so he made it up in a couple trips. *I* thought the problem was that the keyboard needed to be a USB connection but I was wrong. It needs it but....it must also be a MAC keyboard. It is a real pain because it seemed that Staples AND Office Depot were both out of them. I have no clue when they will be in stock again but the Beast will be a *beast* until he has replaced it. >>Sigh<<

    I am now working on my sixth afghan since we moved here a couple months ago...actually, just a little over two months now. This one is for my daughter in Louisville with her colors. She said *fall colors* so I selected what I thought they would like. So far, so good. I'm still trying to find a dark golden color to add before I need it or else she's gonna be stuck with what I picked out which is a varigated yarn called painted desert, hunters green, burgundy, cafe and coffee. It looks fine so far but I really would like the dark gold to round it off, so to speak. I'm using a pattern called *cascade* but doing five rows of each color before I make the transition. I have to make it extra long because my son-in-law is so darn tall and big. Line backer size. I want the two of them to be able to curl up together on the couch with it and watch tv or whatever.

    I'm working a little harder at it than the other afghans because we will be going to pick up our daughter for the family reunion at the end of the month and I woule like to have it completed by then. I will probably be crocheting in the car, knowing me.

    Our neighbor from Florida (even the same town as we came from) stopped by today to tell us he was looking at Lakeland, FL for a winter home. His daughter lives there and he thought it would be nice to have a place close to her and in a warmer area in case it managed to get colder than he liked it here. He said this winter wasn't bad but he wasn't convinced it was a normal winter just yet. After he left, I told my hubby, *I think he was hoping we would jump in and tell him that we would go in it with him....you know, split the cost or something* After thinking about all he had to say about this one property he had found, the hubby agreed with me but....it'll never happen. He's a nice man but BORING !!!! And he's totally clueless about boating. He almost killed my hubby and himself on the one trip the hubby took on the water with him (it was the neighbors boat so the hubby was a captive, so to speak). And the man obviously only took up fishing AFTER he retired.

    Well, it's late and time for me to hit the sack. Have a great night and a wonderful day. I plan on it. <>

  • Milestone reached...and I got lucky!

    I don't know if I told you about the doctor fiasco and I am a little too busy to stop and re-read my entries but...suffice it to say that my original chosen doctor was female and a new patient appointment took me almost two months into the future from when I called. However, I figured to find a compassionate doctor who would listen to my concerns was more likely to be a woman than a man. They think we are all whiners and usually suffer from a *god complex* that is nurtured in medical school and during their residencies. I worked at a medical center for almost six years and I remember my frustrations with many of their attitudes that usually ended up with patients in my office, hoping I could translate what (little) the doctor had told them. I digress......

    Less than a week before my scheduled appointment, I received a call from the office and was told that my chosen doctor was having emergency surgery and they would either have to reschedule me or I would have to see one of her associates. Told it would be approximately two weeks before I could be rescheduled, I figured I would wait for her to return.

    Well, it turns out she had some complications but the nurse, who was extremely patient, spent some time with me being very candid about the associates and I decided that I would give this one doctor a try. Not too old, father of three, had his parents move in with him last year so that he could care for them (they both have some worrisome health concerns that I won't bore you with) and never in a rush. He sounded like he MIGHT do but I could always change to the original female after she returned to the office if I wanted. Hearing that, I figured, "Why not?" I DID need some medications and was hoping to get some relief from this ongoing back problem.

    I was greatly surprised today when I arrived for my appointment. Although there were a LOT of people in the office, things moved at a nice clip. I found out many of the patients that were being ushered in at a rapid rate were there for lab tests (they have a fully-equpped lab on site) or for physical therapy. That calmed me down because I was thinking they were being treated on an assembly line and that didn't bode well for me to be able to go over my list of concerns. Yes, I really did go in with a list so I wouldn't forget anything. **color me embarrassed but my memory sucks lately**

    Not only was I taken care of efficiently by the nurse (weight, blood pressure, pulse rate) but she sat calmly and unrushed and asked me a preliminary set of questions. More importantly, she LISTENED and her comments told me she really WAS listening and thinking about what I was saying.

    It wasn't even 5 minutes before the doctor came into the examining room, opened and spent some time reading my chart (my doctor from Florida had faxed over copies of my records already) then said to me, "First, I am going to ask you a few questions. Then you can tell me what is going on with you and what you are concerned about." I was a bit taken aback but felt....."this is the right start anyway".

    He then asked his questions, most pretty normal for a first contact and a few more pointed ones about most prevalent causes of death of family members going back to great-grandparents. He asked me about my blood glucose readings lately since he felt I was on an awful lot of oral medication. Since this was one area I meant to discuss with him if given the opportunity, I was impressed. He also asked some pointed questions about the medication I am on for my kidneys (I discovered it is called an *ACE* inhibitor which I never knew before and it's purpose is to hopefully prevent me from ever having to have dialysis later on in my life). It is primarily used for high blood pressure and he thought it might be a bit too strong since my last few blood pressure readings have been eyebrow raising in how LOW they have been. He also felt my hands and feet to see how hot/cold they were. This was ANOTHER thing I had on my list because I thought it might just be dropping my blood pressure enough to slow down circulation. I have NEVER had high blood pressure: it has always been on the low side of normal and I found that my feet and hands were increasingly cold on me to the point they were painful. I was hoping it was the medication and not a sudden outbreak of arthritis because, as you know, I crochet and that requires a LOT of hand useage.

    So, before I get to voice any of my list of concerns, he's already asked me pointed questions about two of them. Now wouldn't YOU be impressed?

    When it came to my turn, I went over the list with him (he liked the idea of my list, by-the-way) and asked about how it might be related to my disease/medications. He took his time, explained things to me and even told me how my back problem is probably aggravated by the neuropathy in my legs that we just started treating today with a mild medication that can be adjusted upwards if necessary. He asked me about sciatica (and I am ashamed to say that I had forgotten to put that on my list of questions) because he said if I had it, it would probably flare up until we started treating the neuropathy. It was true because my sciatica on the left side had started bothering me a couple days ago and I was ready to bang my head on a wall. All I could think of was.....can't I even catch a break here?

    So I left today with three new prescriptions and have to stop one that I was taking. I was given pain medication and several refills since the nature of my injury (he believes) will take some time to heal. All I know is that I took the first of THAT medication about six hours ago and am more comfortable, without any dizziness or sleepiness, than I have been in months. He urged me not to try to *tough it out* because it's unnecessary and only creates other problems down the line with muscle atrophy and other things. So, although I could have taken more pain medication as early as two hours ago, I didn't because I wasn't the least bit uncomfortable.

    I will be on the new regimen for two months and tracking my glucose levels twice daily until then before we start adjusting the diabetes medications themselves (I take two oral ones, twice a day). I might actually only have to take one twice a day by the end of August. He wants me to be stablized on all the medication before we fool with that but also told me to watch for low blood sugar episodes. I showed him I had glucose tablets in my purse and that went with me EVERYWHERE, just in case. The beast is a complete dork about what to do for me if that happens but even he knows I carry them. Of course, if we are at home, there's always orange juice or chocolate available and he knows about THAT too. <>

    So now I am feeling good about having a doctor that I like and that actually listens to me and my concerns. I really MUST find out where he went to medical school and took his residency. They did a wonderful job on a man that was probably raised well also. If he's any example of the quality of doctors here in the South, I am in good hands.

    Have a great day everyone and cross your fingers that we might get some actual rain this weekend. We really need it here in northern Alabama.