September 9, 2013

  • Feeling Better Today…

    After taking the meds for my IBS last night, I finally felt good enough (and confident enough) to go to bed. I crawled in with Chewlee (to keep my promise to her that she asks of me every time she has a sleepover) and she turned towards me and draped her arm across my neck. I turned on my side so I didn’t feel choked and fell deeply asleep.

    The Beast woke us up early enough for me to help Chewlee get ready for church and get her something to eat before they left. She wanted pickles but I talked her into some toast. She didn’t want any jelly on it, just butter and cut in triangles. I gave her a small glass of milk to wash it down and then gave in to her request for a pickle (just one although she asked for two.) They are the small ones since she is a pickle hound…only dill pickles, of course. She won’t eat sweet ones at all, even the bread and butter ones.

    I got busy after they left and ran up to Walmart to pick up a couple things that we were out of. Just hot dogs, cheese slices, her favorite cereal, chocolate milk for the Beast, some popsicles and pork chops for dinner. Then the Beast decides on KFC for dinner instead but I can make the pork chops and country gravy tomorrow. No big deal. And the KFC tasted great. I just love their cole slaw, don’t you? And their gravy! Amazing.

    When I got home, I was still ambitious and nothing hurt me too badly so I threw in a load of wash, made the beds, emptied the dishwasher and totally ignored the fact that the garden needs to be torn apart. We’ll get to it one day when and if the Beast ever is finished painting my computer room. LOL! Actually he’s done now and it looks wonderful. Even the doors are done but he’s going to spray paint the closet if we can get it emptied (it includes moving the storage batteries for the solar so…). He may change his mind. He thinks it won’t matter if he leaves in the shelf since it’s one of those wire ones that are mostly open and he can spray above and underneath it with this new sprayer he has. It’s probably the best and neatest one he’s ever owned. You can almost paint with no overspray at all.

    I helped the Beast carry in the last door and hang it so he didn’t bang it up and have to retouch it like he did the closet doors. I don’t know why he was reluctant to ask my help but it may actually have been because he knew I was feeling so rotten.

    Chewlee finally changed out of her dress and got on play clothes so she could go out to play with her friends. I fed her lunch (and she got her two pickles at one time after she ate everything).

    She played outside for almost all afternoon (after watching her two episodes of Peppa Pig…her life is over if she misses those!). She came in long enough to grab two popsicles for her and her one friend that was out at the time. Then, later, the Beast went over to get her and she had time to eat a couple hot dogs (no bun) and drank some milk before her mother got here to pick her up.

    We will have her overnight on Thursday due to a special class her mother is required to attend and she gets out so late that it’s ridiculous to think of her picking up Chewlee. She just has to notify the driver that he has to stop for her in the morning on Friday. It means getting up really early for us because he comes around 6am into our area. She’s his first pickup. He does, however, have a couple others now that are on the bus (the newest neighbors down the block) so we won’t be alone in being out bright and early.

    The Beast just got up a few minutes ago because he was dreaming of the chicken and then he couldn’t find it (he never looked in the fridge where I had stored it..sheesh) so he settled for a warmed up biscuit and honey. It’s been a long time since he got up at night for a snack so it took me by surprise when he came in here to visit with me while he ate it. I informed him of where the chicken, mashed potatoe, gravy and cole slaw were but the biscuit satisfied him. He may have the chicken for breakfast….LOL.

    It was hot outside today. I took Baron outside and he was reluctant to come in but I don’t like him to be out in the sun for longer than 15 minutes. Dobies DO get sunburned and it’s as painful to them as it is to us. I didn’t have any lotion on him so I made him come in although he wasn’t happy about it. He can be just like a little kid at times. His head and tail were both down like he was saying, *Aww, Mom, do I HAVE to go in?* Too funny.

    It hit 90 here the last time I looked and that was around 2pm. That probably was as hot as we got today but it’s going down to the mid-60′s tonight. It’s already cooled down a lot and feels good. I sure hope the majority of you reading this had some decent weather today. I know there was rain in a lot of the Plains area and I hope there wasn’t a lot of flooding involved.

    Love you all and have a wonderful week. Keep your feet dry and relax a little. None of this road rage stuff if traffic is heavy. This too shall pass.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *