July 26, 2010

  • What A Great Day It’s Been For Me !


    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    My day continued as great as my earlier blog talked about.  I got a lot of stuff done that I needed to do except for making up my bed with fresh linens.  When I started getting a bit tired, I dusted instead.  Even got the curly-q cast iron decorative legs on the coffee and end tables done.  Those will get cobwebs if not kept after, especially with wood floors.  Don’t know why that is but I didn’t have much except dust on them when we had our rugs.

    Judging by how dirty my duster got, some areas were LONG overdue.  Made me blush to see how I got lazy about doing the shelves holding the Beast’s Salties.  Those are figures of fishermen and sailors at various chores.  It started out with the Beast buying ONE that happened to kind of match a lamp of ours and everyone kind of jumped on it as presents for him after that.  Until many of them were *retired* that he would have liked and then when we moved away from Ft Lauderdale.  Oh well.  What I would do with many more NOW, I have no idea. 

    I still feel great but I am watching what I am eating closely.  After feeling so shitty for a couple days, I don’t want to lose this good feeling.  Temperatures here got up to 100 degrees before I stopped looking.  At that point, who the hell cares what the heat index is??    It just meant I wasn’t going out in it, that’s for sure.  I need to do some grocery shopping but, with no shade in the parking lot at Walmart, there’s no way I want the car sitting in the hot sun for very long.  I will go early in the morning….well, kinda early…..and try to make it a quick trip..  It’s not supposed to be quite as hot but even 94 degrees F is HOT. 

    I feel bad for the poor hummingbirds.  I’m not seeing much of them out during the day except early in the morning and then after 6:30pm or so.  I put out some fresh nectar for them this morning since I worry about bacteria growing in this incredibly hot weather.  It can cause a soft beak and that’s a death sentence for those beautiful birds.

    The poor dog was so antsy.  He wanted to go out and run around until he actually stepped outside, that is.  He barely wanted to go out after the first time or two but, unfortunately, he had to a time or two.  You should have seen how quick those trips were.  It would have made you laugh!  You would have thought it was winter again.  I’ve only seen him be that quick when our winter temperature dropped down to about 50 or less.  Yeah, he’s a real wimp, he is.  After he got back into the house and cooled down a bit, he’d start his antsy dance again.  Honestly, you’d think he would figure out the weather was not going to change in a few minutes time.  Oh!  But wait!  He’s a DOG.  What do they know? 

    We thought we might get some rain there for a while.  We sure had enough thunder you could hear for almost an hour.  We got some warnings about the possibility of severe thunderstorms.  Yeah, right.  That passed and what do you know?  They canceled the warnings.  Guess they figured we weren’t smart enough to figure that out for ourselves. 

    However, now that night has fallen and it’s totally dark, we are getting lightning and thunder like crazy.  I keep losing my internet connection so this is going to be chancey.  It finally started raining about 15 minutes ago so I am hoping it passes over us before I need to get this posted.  I’m super impressed with Yahoo Instant Messenger because I haven’t lost that connection even when I was losing my Pogo connection every 5 minutes.  That’s no exaggeration. Bratfink says it’s because YIM uses Super Cyber Glue.   

    That’s about it for today.  Am showing signs of losing the internet again so I am going to cut this short and get it sent down the invisible wires for you.  Love you all and I wish you all a great Monday.   Talk to you again manana. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *