August 25, 2013

  • Whoa! Chewlee Gets Grounded By The Beast….

    TALES FROM THE BRAT FARM

    Chewlee just doesn’t seem to know how to listen at times.  Or she only hears part of what is said.  I’m not sure because I wasn’t there.  We had decided to get some KFC for dinner so the Beast went over to the neighbors house to pick up Chewlee and take her with him.  However, as he tells it, he let her stay and play but he told her in no uncertain terms that she was NOT to leave their house until he came to get her.  Did she listen?  Of course not.  When he went to get her, she was at a different house playing and NOT with the kids from the house where she had been.  The Beast was furious.  Not only did she have to come home but she couldn’t leave the yard except to go next door to Ian’s.  I have to tell you, his allowing her that much surprised me.

    Actually, I was surprised at how well she took that.  So it told me that she knew she would get in trouble but had decided it was worth it or some such thing.  She DID play with Ian and his visiting cousin for an hour or so and then she snagged a cat that she had seen a few times in our backyard that she INSISTED was Lovey.  She was a sweet cat but, even if it was, she obviously had a new home…..and she no longer liked dogs.   

    I don’t think Baron thought it was Lovey because all he wanted to do was chase her around.  We’ve seen him do it a time or two.  However, trying to tell this to Chewlee is impossible.  She had one idea in her head and that was all she had room for.  I let her think what she wanted because I knew the cat would be able to find it’s way home.  Her attempts at keeping it on the deck didn’t give thought to the openings from the stair railings.  Kids!  She thought closing the gate at the bottom of the steps would keep the cat there. 

    We actually had the worst KFC chicken we have ever had.  It was so dry and tasteless that I know that particular owner (or his employees for whatever reason), had left those pieces under the light too long.  I LOVE KFC so I was really upset.  Oh, AND…..if there was a tablespoon of gravy on the mashed potatoes, I would be surprised.  I don’t think they gave a damn that the gravy is part of the yummy taste of those …. a BIG part.  One forkful and the gravy was gone.  We won’ t be going back to that store, trust me.

    I’ve had an upset tummy most of the day.  I thought it was because I was hungry but my breakfast was good and filling.  I’ve been praying all day that it’s not another bout of IBS but it doesn’t seem to be that, thank goodness.  Then I found out that something I ate obviously didn’t agree with my gut.  I have been a walking fart bomb all afternoon and evening.  Either that or I’ve been gassed!   I can’t stand up or sit down with out Chewlee asking, *Grandma!  Did you just fart???*  I take a step (pass gas), take another (pass gas)….sheesh!  I was glad I didn’t have to go out anywhere or have any company today.  It would have been too embarrassing.

    It was hot, as expected, but we drank a lot of water besides our usual coffee or juice if we were outside for any length of time.  More heat tomorrow and no rain in sight…but we really don’t need any right now except to cool down the air but that never lasts anyway.  Love you all and I hope you enjoyed your Saturday (or Sunday for our Aussie readers).  Have a wonderful day tomorrow, whichever one it is for you. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *